We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Whitsunday on the Beach
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
“lovely stay”
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We arrived in Airlie Beach without a reservation. We checked a few hostels first but they did not have private double rooms available anymore on the day itself. Whitsunday on the Beach still did though, and I'm sure we were much better of here! Although it was a little pricier than a hostel (we paid $90 where a double in a hostel would have cost around $70) we felt we got a lot more value. The apartment was not big, but it was well equipped with air-con, fridge, microwave, cups, bowls and cutlery. You even get free milk for your coffee or tea, which is really adorable. Location is great too, right in the center of town.
However, most credit goes to the people who run the place. Compared to the cranky 20-something receptionist we encountered in some hostels, these people were a breath of fresh air. They were very helpful and genuinely friendly. I would recommend this place to anyone!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sadie l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    64
    14
    4
    12
See reviews for
25
64
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Terrible. Just terrible. Very low standard of rooms. Equivalent if not lower than the backpackers across the road. Kitchenette is a sink and a portable benchtop stove. Cannot have visitors of any kind for any length of time at and time. Got scolded several times for friends stopping by for a few minutes to organise the day. In the middle of the day. Wow. Just wow. Would give 2 stars for accommodation but less than 1 for service. Won't ever stay here again and would never recommend it to anyone. If you're after budget accommodation just stay at the backpackers, higher standard and better service. Seriously.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank zedzilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airliebeachgirl, General Manager at Whitsunday on the Beach, responded to this review, 18 February 2013
Thank you for your review.
These are the people we dont like staying with us as they disturb the other guests in the complex.
I am not sure what part of no visitors on the property in the registration form they filled in and signed when they arrived that they did not understand???? And it seems that the "hangers on" spoil it for others.

The online pictures are all current and speak for themselves
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013

My boyfriend & I stayed here in early January and were greeted by Sandy on the front desk who was extremely friendly & helpful. The check in was quick, we were offered milk for our tea (at a small supplement) & had our request of a room on the first floor.
The room was fabulous, with 3 beds & more than enough space for 2 of us! The room was lovely & cool despite it being 30 degrees outside. We had the best night's sleep of our trip here!
Access to the lagoon was great and we had fab views from our balcony which was plenty private enough for us!
Sandy was flexible & helpful when we thought we may need an additional night's accommodation.
Would absolutely recommend a stay here as the service is great, excellent value for money, superb location and the cheapest bottled water in the area!
Thank you to everyone who made our stay so comfortable :)

Room Tip: Ask for a first floor room above where the cars for hire are parked :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2013 via mobile

We travel a lot for work, have stayed here before, thought I'd give it another go. It was worse this time got put in an extra expensive room no corporate rates. The room was bombed with horrible industrial air freshner. Mattress are totally stuffed. The car parking is crap. I would class it as a back packers & way over priced.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 11114444
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airliebeachgirl, Manager at Whitsunday on the Beach, responded to this review, 15 March 2013
Thank you for your review.
Not shaw were your going with your corprate thing as we have both goverment and corprate people stay with us every week on a corprate rate, most of them book through HRG and other corprate agents. Our cleaners use eucaliptus oil and water to clean with and our units all have a frangipani thing in the corner as like you I dont like industrial air freshiners. All our mattresses are sealy executive series with the oldest 2 years old and the one in your unit is 8 months old.
Yes the car park is tight epecially with those big maxi vans like you have.
We do have a large car park next door where we park trucks, buses and larger vans etc.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2013

Surprisingly Spacious, clean rooms with a kitchenette, nice balcone but with view only to parking lot. Good Location, very helpful and friendly staff -- everything you expect from a B&B. Can recommend

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaBreit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
annesam
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 January 2013

This was the last place we stayed after a week in Cairns. I expected to go home rested and relaxed after a lovely holiday. After staying here I have got home exhausted and will take quite a few days to make up all the lost sleep. I am very disappointed that a place which was promoted quite highly ended up being a nightmare.
Our room was very small and unpleasant to be in other than to sleep. There was nowhere to sit other than on the bed. The Bathroom facilities were up a narrow passage and the hand basin was not big enough to wash your hands. There was nowhere to put toilet bags other than the floor so they got wet and putting on makeup was problematic.
The room was right by reception and was not at all sound proof so there was a stream of people entering reception talking and phones ringing. There was very little privacy as we had to keep the curtains closed otherwise people in reception would have been able to see in our room. The room was so not sound proof and we were kept awake most of our last night by partying young men staying in the room above us who did not appear to go to bed and were rowdy until morning. All sounds and movements from the room above and side appeared to be amplified and if they dropped a pin we would have been able to hear it. There appeared to be no restrictions on rowdy guests partying all night and morning keeping other patrons awake. We did get an apology in the morning but this was too late after a sleepless night.
All in all the worst room I have stayed in ever and I have travelled quite extensively. A backpacking hostel we stayed in Vietnam did not have the greatest facilities but at least it was quiet enough to get some sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airliebeachgirl, Manager at Whitsunday on the Beach, responded to this review, 1 February 2013
Thank you for your review
The guest in the room above you left the same day.
Unfortunatly we cannot pick our guests and we can get some that are noisy and some that are as quiet as a mouse.
I have checked your booking, you had booked our backpacker room which is our cheapest room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2012

Apartments are spacious with all the facilities you'd need. Decor is slightly tired in places, but not so much that it affected our enjoyment. Complimentary wi-fi was a good bonus. The real show stealer for us was the view. I would definitely recommend paying the extra for a first floor rather than ground floor room. We were lucky enough to be put in the room on the very end which gave us an unspoilt view over the Lagoon and the sea beyond that. Suggest it's worth asking for this particular room if possible.

Room Tip: Request the end room on the first floor (overlooking the Lagoon) if possible. Definitely worth payin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Culky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.1 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
400 reviews
0.6 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
at Waterfront Whitsunday Retreat
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
447 reviews
10.0 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday on the Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday on the Beach

Property: Whitsunday on the Beach
Address: 269 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitsunday on the Beach 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie Beaches only Motel accommodation that backs onto the Airlie Beach Lagoon. All units are self contained with patios and balconies. Secure parking in the centre of the complex. No taxis to catch or hill to climb as we are in the centre of Airlie Beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Whitsunday on the Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday On The Beach Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing