We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Mudslides”
Review of Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar - CLOSED

Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Agnes Water, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Mudslides”
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Great Resturant bar good location walking distance to most accommadation friendly staff clean and inviting food was good but not the best I have ever had as far as seafood goes was disappointed there wasnt more reef fish only a small bowl mied with calamari and grilled prawns the rest was good however you must must head there if looking for the Best mudslide cocktails we have ever had.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SunnyJ64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    81
    58
    54
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bateau Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great sea food well worth it.”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

My wife and I went to Airlie Beach to celebrate our wedding anniversary and went to Shipwrecked Seafood Bar for our last night there. We went upstairs and had a drink at the bar overlooking the beach area before dinner, it was relaxing and enjoyable. We sat down right in the corner on a warm Friday night to a cool breeze coming off the ocean. There was no rush to order but we had pre ordered the seafood platter. When it came out it looked delicious. Most platters when they come out have a lot of fried food with it, this does not. It was all fresh with only a small bowl of really crispy chips. The Prawns, Balmain Bugs and Oysters were good to taste and fresh fruit on the side. It also had a bowl warmed fish, calamari with traces of garlic and chilli which melted in your mouth. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone for a very good meal and atmosphere.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vicndebh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very inconsistent”
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We liked the look of the menu here and fancied some seafood. I had the calamari for an entree and my fiancé had the galliano prawns (special). Both were lovely. The calamari was a lot of food for an entree. For main I had reef & beef and it was quite frankly dreadful. The seafood was bland and the steak was awful. It was supposed to be rib fillet and medium rare. What I got was not rib fillet. It was also only about 10mm thick, very dry and overdone. My fiancé had fish which was also dry and not very nice. It was a big disappointment especially as the entrees were so nice and perfectly cooked. I would not return. I gave 3 just because the entree was nice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Cullpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
smuts22, Owner at Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
We're disappointed about the main courses. I can assure you we only serve premium yearling rib fillet from the Kilcoy Pastoral Company which is minimum 100 day grain fed and MSA certified. If the cut was thin it's simply because the size of the fillet was large and to get the required portion weight it has to be cut thinner. We specify the maximum size to our butchers so that we don't have to cut it too thin but sometimes it's unavoidable. If it was overcooked that is our fault and we apologise. The writer does not say whether they said anything to our staff but it seems not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Recommended but try elsewhere”
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Looking for fresh seafood one evening, we ate here, as suggested by our hosts. Staff were welcoming, offering taste of wine before purchasing, which is always welcome. Menu looked interesting but food was bland. Calamari was thickly cut, battered and reasonable with good accompanying salad. 2 mains of grilled Barramundi and Red Emperor were disappointing. Both served on bed of sad couscous, in some indefinable sauce. Fish lacked flavour, seemed dry and slightly overlooked ? Pre cooked. Could not recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 455kate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
87 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Do NOT order seafood platter ”
Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

This was a scam at $135 per seafood platter for 2 people. Variable quality of the seafood with some of it not fresh, mostly cold and hugely overpriced. The tuna we ordered was clearly not fresh and overcooked, we sent it back. The sides of veggies were not cooked enough and basically raw. The cocktails tasted like watered down mocktails. Service was shotty having to ask for missing cutlery and waiving them down for drink orders etc. For the amount of money we paid this was a scandal. Would definitely NOT recommend.

Helpful?
Thank claui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing