We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, great service Satisfied !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar - CLOSED

Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar
Cuisines: Seafood, Australian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, View, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Townsville
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food, great service Satisfied !!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

A group of friends and I booked a table for 8 ppl. We decided to come in early for the sunset cocktails for $8. Which where delicious !!! The menu was amazing great selection of food most of us had starters and mains. We ended having a few cocktails which where always brought out to our table on time, which we rally appreciated because we had noticed there was only 1 girl working running off her feet. I have worked in hoslitality in the last and understand but how busy it can get. We all got out entrees within 15min. Very tasty !!! Mains came out shortly after a few had reef & beefs which looked delicious! I had the Paella and it was amazing. We where all very happy and enjoyed our night at shipwrecked leaving very satisfied:) will recommend to friends! Thank u for a lovely time :)

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Beccybee83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

386 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    81
    58
    54
    75
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Airley Beach
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Certainly a ship "wreck"”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

After a friend had pre booked several weeks ago for a large group of tight knit friends out for a rare birthday dinner.. We were all extremely excited at the concept of enjoying fresh tasty seafood, enticing beverage and friendly attentive service. Failed on all levels. As we walked in on a Monday night and barely a quarter full, the kitchen is noticeably open for viewing by guests as you walk upstairs and into the venue. This would be a nice touch if the chefs actually were cooking up a storm and seemed entrenched in there art but not at all and the kitchen looked average and out dated with chefs dis interested and bored!! Oysters were the highlight for mine as our starter however things quickly went down hill from there.. Meals were all mixed up (entrees out as mains and vise versa), service was erratic and frustrating to get the message across, food was tasteless at best and at times cold when meant to be hot (steak; and definitely not cooked to perfection). The biggest issue after all this is that there was not a manager to inform, perhaps was the reason this poor service happened in the first place as no guidance was given to the few staff that were left running around and having to do it all... When you approach the front of the restaurant (at the bottom of the stairs) there is a noticeably large publication promoting the fact that famous actors Brad Pitt and Angelina Jolie had dined there and hired out the venue. Surely your expectations then are to have a great product delivered.. Not even close!! To finish it off we were charged for every meal we ordered despite not eating half of it and informing the staff of our disappointment. So we leave over charged, still hungry and ultimately extremely dissatisfied .. :(

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank EZLIKSNDAIMRN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

Loved it, the food was amazing and the atmosphere lovely - they had cute little lantern lights on the tables which was a great touch. Great dessert as well - highly recommend.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank kaydee2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Seafood bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

go to shipwrecked as the meals are first class. Magnificent flavours in all the four dishes we selected and a good wine selection. Saw someone else order the platter - awesome!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Mick W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Anniversary lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

My partner & I just had lunch here for our anniversary & after reading some of the negative reviews (one complaint was that someone couldn't bring their young kids into the cocktail bar (hello, it's a cocktail bar - if you want kid friendly, take your kids to the MacD up the road) & can honestly say don't believe everything negative that you read. The service was great - friendly and attentive & the food & ambience was lovely. I had the Saigon oysters for entree followed by the seafood combo for main. Really lovely

Helpful?
1 Thank Moreymints
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing