We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What an Adventure!!”

Air Whitsunday Day Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$225.11*
and up
Whitsundays Seaplane Tour Including Whitehaven Beach and Hardy Lagoon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Air Whitsunday is renowned for their seaplane services that rendezvous with their privately operated glass bottom boat, moored at an exclusive snorkelling location inside the coral suspended lagoon of Hardy Reef. Along with snorkelling tours to this exclusive reef location; they provide private picnics at Whitehaven Beach and the most comprehensive scenic flights on offer in the region - encompassing all the famous Whitsunday sights.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
112 reviews
46 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“What an Adventure!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

We had one day to do one thing in Airlie Beach as we were in on a cruise and this was what we picked. We were not disappointed. We were lucky enough to have it be just the four of us so we had a private flight to Whitehaven beach. The waves were rough so we landed in a secluded cove called Chance Bay - two bottles of champagne and a bunch of snacks were included in the package - it wasn't cheap but it was worth every penny! The view from the air is not to be missed.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank KidsTravelNews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    332
    34
    8
    9
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Flight to Whitehaven beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

This was one of our most amazing experiences on our trip trough Australia. We had to pick up some passengers on another island before heading to Whitehaven Beach, so we got some extra flying time. The pilot was just a awesome guy and made sure everyone was enjoying their time. The views were stunning as we landed on Whitehaven Beach. The pilot brought snacks and champaign and allowed us to jump in the water from the plane (not flying ofcourse:) I would highly recommend this to anyone. All the people that had been there by boat were shocked by our beautifull pictures.

Helpful?
1 Thank Robhamerlinck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Watch out - Not guaranteed view of the reefs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

The sea plane carries three passengers per row so one has to go in the middle without a window. By the time the plane gets to Hayman it has filled up in Hamilton Island therefore all the couples in the plane had chosen the two window seats and our family had to go completely separated one by row in the middle seats, completely unfair. You should get the right to know where you would be seated at the time of booking. I was the only one with a window seat and my husband was left seating in between a couple of two serious photographers at each side carrying huge cameras glued to the windows - he could barely see anything. For over $300/person it's a shame!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank MCCarvalho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shipley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A romantic treat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2012

Having arrived at Airlie beach and naively not pre-booked any excursions, all boat trips out to Whitehaven beach and hill inlet were fully booked for the duration of our 3 day stay. Our only option left was to book with Air Whitsunday, which was almost double the price of the boat tours, for less time. However, it was this or nothing. We took the Whitehaven experience tour which has a duration of 2 hours on Whitehaven beach and half an hour flying. There are several other excursion choices to choose from.
I have to say that this was the best experience of our entire trip to Australia, possibly that we have ever experienced. It was a completely surreal experience for us to be in the sea plane, sitting so close to the pilot and controls, and getting those views that you couldn't possibly get from a boat and you really think that you will only ever see in professional photographs. The beach was the most beautiful beach that I have ever seen. Topped off with a glass of champagne on arrival at the beach and snacks were also available for us to help ourselves to. My only reluctance to give a 5/5 is the advertisement of beach umbrellas (which I probably could have done with), but I saw no sign of. The pilot may have even had them in the plane (though I didn't notice), but it wasn't offered, unlike everything else, hence my regrettable 4/5. Other than that, I would recommend this tour in a flash.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle_Davey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
107 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We did the panoramic tour, well worth the money, great experience.
Our pilot was very friendly and helpful (can't remember his name) and the views are amazing, the only way to see the Whitsundays & the great barrier reef.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishMonkey2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Air Whitsunday Day Tours also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Air Whitsunday Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing