We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Let's be honest it's not a luxury cruise ship, but it deliver's the atmosphere”

Sundowner Sunset Cruises
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Sundowner Cruises operates from Airlie Beach, where the Whitsunday islands provide the perfect back drop for our sunset cruises and variety of other cruises Sundowner has to offer. Sundowner departs from the new Port of Airlie which is only a short 200m walk from the main street of Airlie Beach. The Port of Airlie is a vibrant new development which includes the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, Restaurants, Bars, and a variety of shopping experiences. Our philosophy at Sundowner is about providing a great product, fantastic service in a friendly social atmosphere that gets your holiday of to a great start and that allows you to truly unwind and bask in a fantastic Whitsunday sunset whilst enjoying your favorite tipple from our fully licensed bar.
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Let's be honest it's not a luxury cruise ship, but it deliver's the atmosphere”
Reviewed 5 February 2010

I've been on two of these cruises on two separate occations, one with a group of work/girlfriends for a birthday and the other i wanted to bring my partner along since i believed it also had a romantic eliment to the cruise...It is only a flat boat with rails on the side but the ceiling can have fairy lights and draping, and a center table with stools to it and a small bar area that is nice and open, and i enjoyed sitting rugged up (because of the wind, in one of the blankets provided *thankyou*) with my glass of sparkling and floating around the harbour.. i did not however like the start of the cruise as we did stay in the marina between other boats (as we had a few older passengers interested in the large ships docked) a bit longer the second trip than the first, however after making a quick comment to the captain about loosing the sunset and the pictures we could be taking out in the open water, we were on our way.. also, i was unaware that the first trip we would be "dropped off"at the front of the jetty to coral sea resort, which is certainly NOT a 20min walk, however its a little tricky jumping from the boat to the jetty but the staff are there to help you out (just make sure you are able bodied with good sealegs, tipsy ladies in heals beware haha) the walk to the open pool side restaurant is about 2 mins at a reg walk. The first cruise our dinner at coral sea resort was the set menu and dessert which noone was impressed with, however the second cruise i did i was only focused on the cruise itself not the meal (and the romance it has over you snuggled up to your loved one at the front of the boat, feet dangling over the edge and listening to the water as the lights over airlie beach shine) however we were pleasently surprised when we found that our meal for the evening was a seafood buffet all inclusive with desert!! we will be returning to Airlie Beach soon, and im tracking down that buffet dinner again at the end of our cruise.. i think it was a saturday?? not sure, it may be a once a month thing, im looking into it.
HERE ARE MY TIPS FOR THIS CRUISE:
Be sure to take your camera the back drop of the sunset it just amazing!
Take your own nibblies, eg a small disposable container of mixed fresh sliced fruit, strawberries, mangos and pinnapple on ice to keep cool.
Book a sundowner cruise with dinner, on a night where coral sea resort are hosting a buffet dinner, you will not be dissapointed!
Wear long pants and long sleave shirt as the winds do pick up, however blankets are provided.
Bring an extra $20 cash incase you would like a few drinks on board i think the house sparkling goes for a few dollars..
Also if your looking for accom Pinnacles resort and spa are an exceptional 5star resort and amazing 1 bedroom spa seaviews and great package deals (or single rooms can be found on www.wotif.com)

Helpful?
5 Thank koalakiss86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    10
    4
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Don't waste your money on this - what a ripoff!”
Reviewed 20 October 2009

Sundowner Sunset Cruise charged us AUD75 each (2 people) for a sunset cruise and then dinner at a resort hotel called Coral Seas Resort at Airlie beach. We had one more night in Airlie so why not. Well I wish we had stayed away from this dreadful ripoff. . The open deck boat was incredibly uncomfortable and unprotected from the wind. The drinks were an overpriced(ripoff). As part of this cruise it came with a glass of sparkiling wine and nibbles. The nibbles consisted of a box of crackers and some cheap spring onion dip. You are then stuck on this pontoon for 2 hours paying $ 10 for can of beer and $ 12 per mixed drink and you are simply taken around the harbour wasting your money away!! We were looking forward to the dinner a 2 course meal at the Coral Sea Resort(big rip off people stay away!!!) We got off the boat and were told to walk 20 minutes up the road to get to the retauraunt!!. The meal was a set menu a main and dessert. We order and waited 55 minutes for it to arrive!!!(there was maybe 12 other people in there). The meal was ok but it was not a main it was and entree!!! A bloody entree!! Desert was ok but we had to ask 3 time for them to bring it us (45 minutes after we had finished our meagre entree size mains. Do not waste money at the Coral Seas Resort or this absolute rippoff Sundowner Sunset Cruise.

Helpful?
11 Thank portant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NMG71, Owner at Sundowner Sunset Cruises, responded to this review, 21 March 2016
I am really sorry you didn't enjoy your cruise and dine experience and everyone is entitled to their view and sometimes, peoples expectations are much greater.

With regards to the 'Ripoff' drinks. You must have purchased two drinks each time. Our beers at the time of your cruising were $5.00 per beer. Therefore $10.00 for two drinks. Then you must have purchased two spirits as at the time they were $6.00 per basic spirit.

So you are simply incorrect our beverage prices are NOT $10 per beer and $12 per spirit.

Walking 20 minutes is also incorrect. From Abel Point marina along the oceanfront boardwalk is 200 metres to Coral Sea Resort. This does not take 20 minutes, unless you stopped to enjoy the beautiful view.

Kind regards
Nicole
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sundowner Sunset Cruises also viewed

 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Sundowner Sunset Cruises? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing