We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, beautiful room, poor housekeeping and maintenance”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Whitsunday Reflections
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, beautiful room, poor housekeeping and maintenance”
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at the Whitsunday Reflections for a week in May 2014 and it was an absolutely beautiful unit. The view was fantastic and great facilities. The only down-side was that the unit was not cleaned properly before we arrived. The towels and linen had stains on them, some sinks were blocked, lights weren't working.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Wills B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    45
    10
    4
    3
See reviews for
50
79
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just back from a week at the Relfections. The hill is a difficult climb, we did it once and got taxis ($6/$7) up the rest of the time. Our unit was up high and we had an amazing view! It was modern and the rooms were lovely. My only gripe would be reception, not very welcoming and only open 9-11 on a public holiday so it was up to us what to do with our bags when we arrived early, not very helpful!

Room Tip: Make sure your apartment has a sea view or it's not worth the hike up the hill!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank irishtravel84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finland
Level Contributor
256 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This is a place often accredited well by the TA audience. If you get an apartment in upper floors, you have a beautiful view over the Airlie Beach area. In some lower floor apartments the view is obstructed by buildings and trees. The larger (2 bedroom) apartments have a large terrace and are well furnished with necessary facilities for making food. Woolworths & BWS are just 5 minutes drive away. The pool is also nice and large.

However, there are a few concerns.

Safety issues. In the evenings and nights, and in the weekends from the afternoon onwards, there is no personnel near-by and no security guards, causing a potential safety risk. If there is a problem, you call to an answering machine and wait if something is done, but it takes anyway at least half-an-hour. In case of big emergency, you call obviously an ambulance, policy or fire brigade. During our stay once there was a fire alarm to evict the rooms, but fortunately it was a false alarm and it happened in the day, so the management could calm down the people running away from their apartments.

Noise issues. It is said that a no party policy is implemented. However, at least in out-of-peak season, the management allows partying people. When we visited the place, for two consecutive nights the partying people made a really loud noise making sleeping impossible. Furthermore, the people throw regularly cigarettes (burning or not, don’t know) down to our terrace and feed the noisy kakadu birds. We complaint about this after the first night but the management could stop the party to happen in the second night as well. Finally, we were moved to another unit and we got some financial compensation, but two nights were thrown away – not nice for our children, especially.

Smell issues. The A/C units have not been cleaned for a while, so they leave a smelly air. Some A/C units leak. If a carpet gets wet, then the bad smell stays in the apartment for days. We complaint about leaking and smelling A/C units on Friday afternoon when we arrived but they were fixed only on Monday. The A/C units were really dirty as I saw when they were repaired…

Access issues. The apartments are high on the hill, so in practice you need a car, otherwise you have to use taxi. Well, one may go down to the village once, but to come back is heavy stuff with the heat and traffic.

So, ask for beautiful views but be prepared and take necessary precautions.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jusaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Excellent apartment, had everything we needed, and more! We had a lovely view from the balcony and could see the town of Airlie Beach below, and the sea in the distance. The pool and hot tub were both clean and peaceful. Airlie Beach town is about a 10-15 minute walk away; this was perfect when walking into town, but not so great on the way back due to the walk up the VERY steep hill! However, one of the plus sides of staying at the top of a very steep hill was the beautiful view which we had from the apartment! The apartment was great value for money and everything you could wish for in a holiday apartment. Would definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We stayed at this accommodation and it was pouring rain when we arrived late. Reception was closed but had left great instructions and we had no problems finding our key and our apartment which was located conveniently behind reception. The undercover parking right in front of our accommodation was appreciated in the pouring rain. The downside was the ocean of water we found on our balcony the next morning. My husband found the squeegie and struggled to push all the water off the balcony through a tiny hole that did not adequately drain the water. The sun dried the remainder and as we had no more rain, we enjoyed our balcony with incredible seaviews. You could see the ocean from both the living room and bedroom. As others have mentioned the shower has a very small lip and water tends to go everywhere, so I put a washcloth at the edge to keep the water contained. There was a dirty bowl in the cupboard and the decorative pillows on the sofa were stained and needed replacing which was mentioned to reception. For a 4-5 star luxury apartment, I would have expected better attention to detail. We were up on about the 3rd level, but I could see how those at the pool level may not have as good a view. The apartments are on a steep hill, however my husband and I are late 40's early 50's, not in the best shape, and we walked up it a couple of times, so it is doable. I just don't recommend it in the heat.

All in all, the furniture and fittings were luxurious and comfortable and to a high standard. The apartments were private and very spacious with amazing vistas, and for $150/night over the Christmas season, it was excellent value. We enjoyed our relaxing stay and would definitely choose to stay here again were we to return to the Airlie Beach area.

Room Tip: Try to get a higher room just behind reception
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spygurl007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We were extremely happy with Reflections. Huge one bedroom apartments and amazing view. I would definately recommend asking for one of the higher apartments, we had number 11 and it was fantastic.
Is located up a huge hill which is ok to walk down into the town (about 10 minutes) but most times we caught a taxi back which costs about $5 during the day.
The staff were great, on our last day we weren't getting picked up until 2pm, the reception staff extended our check-out time from 10am to 12pm so we didn't have to fill in so much time.
Would definately recommend for your stay :)

Room Tip: Higher apartments have an amazing view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank millicent_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I chose "very good" as I don't think it was average, but I wouldn't say "very good" either.

We were allocated room 13 which is the one right above the pool with the obstructed (by trees) view of the sea. It seemed ok until we went into another higher up unit and then we realised what we had been missing out on!

The apartment was still pretty good though, could do with some more cleaning products as the kitchen was hard to keep clean without that.

The reception staff do leave a lot to be desired, pretty much every time we had to contact them they were not as helpful as they could have been.

You definitely need a car if you're going to stay here!!

Other than the above, it was good and I would go back.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sashca R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
391 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#10 of 54 in Airlie Beach
1,044 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#1 of 54 in Airlie Beach
454 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday Reflections? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Reflections

Property: Whitsunday Reflections
Address: 25 Horizon Way, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Whitsunday Reflections 4.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitsunday Reflections Airlie Beach provides 1,2 & 3 bedroom apartments. Spacious living area, full kitchen, washing machine and dryer. Bedroom sliding glass doors open onto the ocean facing balcony. 8 free Foxtel channels, 20 meter outdoor pool and spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whitsunday Reflections reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Reflections Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing