We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If you want a good meal with great people while tasting Italian cuisine this is your destination.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sorrento Restaurant and Bar

Sorrento Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #14 of 102 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Bar Scene, Local cuisine, View
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“If you want a good meal with great people while tasting Italian cuisine this is your destination.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013 via mobile

I eat here every week, the coffees, pasta, pizza, lamb shanks, desserts and did I mention the steak the best in town....

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank QLF79Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    283
    279
    95
    51
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Sorrento at sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Perfect location for a quiet drink with the locals. Loved that it overlooked the beautiful boats and looked stunning at sunset! Great scenic walk from main street!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank simmy019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Best food in Airlie Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2013

Airlie is not known for its fine dining experiences so I went into Sorrento without high expectations, for a meal prior to our boat charter. Turns out it serves absolutely top notch and quite fabulous food in a gorgeous setting and I cannot recommend it highly enough! My pasta was to die for and my partner had some really wonderful salmon. All the produce was fresh and fabulous. The kids both decided on a pizza, which they declared was one of the best they've ever eaten! I have eaten at most of Airlie's eateries on trips over the past couple years and this was definitely the best meal I have had, and prices were more than fair. They also had a nice wine list. Highly recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jennidab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Poor service and terrible lamb shank”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 October 2013

We only went to this place as we were tired after an all day boat trip. It was close by to the marina and we couldn't be bothered to walk into town.
I ordered lamb shank. The potato and veg were tasty but the lamb itself was terrible! It was so tough and fatty. A real disappointment.
The place was really understaffed and as a result service just wasn't good enough. Our dinner took a long time to come! The restaurant was messy with tabled that had been lift with dirty plates etc on them even thighs customers had been gone quite some time!
When we finished our meals we sat for a while. We baca me impatient so had to go pay directly at the till. I reckon if we wanted a dessert we would have been left unattended.
Worst meal I had in Australia during a month long trip up the east coast!!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Kitty8704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Bad pizza”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Really bad pizza, don't bother , walk into town and have real food. We were looking for a quick and easy meal on our first night before we set sail for a week around the Whitsunday's. really sorry looking pizzas with commercial crust and virtually no filling. Don't bother.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorrento Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Sorrento Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing