We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was a little hungry”

Sorrento Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #14 of 102 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Seafood, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, View, Bar Scene, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, After-hours, Drinks, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Was a little hungry”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Popped by Sorrento restuarant, feeling a little peckish. Choose a garlic cheese pizza entree for $9... Wow!!! All I can say is yummy........!!!!!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank QLF79Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

772 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    289
    282
    96
    51
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toukley, Australia
Level Contributor
108 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Time for Sorrento to make something out of this perfect venue!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We grabbed a couple of beers and sat watching out over the Whitsunday's. Perfect! Probably the best viewing spot in town. However Sorrento needs a makeover; presentation, food and staff. So... ignore their needs and just grab some drinks and soak up the view!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank HumpbackBrewing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“AVOID THIS LIKE THE PLAGUE IT WILL GIVE YOU”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

horrible. truly truly horrible. rude staff who hilariously threw a feedback form at us before we left on which we wrote a fairly similar review to this one here. the coffee was ok but no soy milk but the food was disgusting. garlic bread was neither made from garlic nor really bread. warmish rancid butter on cardboard would be a better description. no garlic of note. the designer of the 'mediterranean salad' had clearly never left the building and the salad had the overpowering flavour of gone off cheese mixed with tinned peppers and laden with oil. thankfully we only made these two mistakes before a swift exit. AVOID

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RuthBatman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Truly terrible - leaving a bad taste to our whitsundays trip”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

If you've had a good time at the whitsundays , don't go here to have your experience destroyed.

Staff - incredibly rude. Served coffee with only "8 dollars " shouted at us, no please / thank you/ here's your coffee. Had to get our own cutlery, water and had to go to bar to get anything ordered as the staff could not be bothered to come to our table. Most conversation from the staff was in form of incomprehensible grunts, or simple requests of payment.

Food - awful. The garlic pizza bread tasted like old recycling paper, without any trace of actual garlic but some added paste of badly tasting ?something. I only ate a quarter because I was starving but felt sick straightaway. They completely ignored the request to serve the dressing on the side. The salad had the exquisite taste of gone off cheese and tasted like it came straight out of a jar.The coffee at least was drinkable, though they had no soy milk.

Did not stay for main or dessert.


Never never again!

It's only a 20 min walk to airlie so go there for food(that's shorter than the average wait to be served at this godawful place anyway!!!)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank backpackgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Dropped in after watching the sunset at the point, glad we did choice pizza and magnificent views. Fast service, cold drinks, choice music in the background. What a sweet hideaway this is. Little bit of airlie that most won't find. Get there before sunset, get settled and watch the sunset from one of the best locations in airlie.

Helpful?
Thank superrugbynev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sorrento Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Sorrento Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing