We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Echuca, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Would recommend”
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Stayed here one night either side of my Whitsunday islands boat trip. Room was nice. Spacious, two showers and toilet with large communal area which was handy as nothing worse In the morning which everyone cramping in to brush their teeth! Didn't go in the swimming pool as it didn't look too appealing but theres a beautiful lagoon 2 mins away so we weren't bothered by it. Beds were comfy, great location and no hassle in storing belongings for 3 days and checking In and out. Could maybe do with another reception member of staff as waited nearly 20 mins to check in due to queues because only one lady was working.. although checking out was ok. I may of been slightly inpatient as I had just spent 8 hours on a bus.. All in all, it was nice. Not a party hostel, but close to places that do party.. So you can still get a good few hours sleep!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chambers21592
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, 18 April 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    171
    109
    63
    58
See reviews for
15
116
135
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dungloe, Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I stayed here over a few nights back in Feb 2012, the room I was first booked into was way up the back and was awful at first glance and with no electricity so I naturally went to tell reception and they were very helpful and moved me to another room not far from the pool, this room was an 8 bed and was just beautiful with 2 showers and a toilet which was great and very clean. I do think these rooms are more expensive to stay in but it's worth it, if you can spare the extra cash. The kitchen facilities at the time wasn't great as there was only a limited number of kitchen utensils and pot/ pans and you had to wait around to use them when other people were cooking, it was annoying and shouldn't have been! I didn't use the pool but overall I liked this hostel and would stay there again, it's in the town center and just across the road from the lagoon which was beautiful to relax in!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CannonL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, 18 April 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, France
Level Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I went there for 2 nights in September 2012. I booked a 4 bedrooms girls only, nothing to complain about except maybe for the luggage storage (bring your locker when you check out and leave the bag there).
Great place to stay, the staff was friendly, the location very convenient. The place was clean and it was not noisy. I loved my stay there, good stopover!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MimiFrenchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, 18 April 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed for one night here whilst travelling down the East Coast, room was a lovely size, plenty of space in a 6 bed dorm! Probably the cleanest hostel I've stayed in in Australia and we had considerate room guests which always helps! The on site bar was quiet but there are lots of options for a drink in the evenings and the hostel is right on the strip!
This would have been a 5 star review if for two things, 1. The WIFI Internet doesn't work at the back of the hostel which was a pain and 2. For some reason the bunks in our room didn't have any ladders on them!? Obviously making it difficult to get onto the top bunks!

Room Tip: Closer to the front of the hostel if you want wifi signal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadsAirlieBeachH, Front Office Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Hi! Thank you so much for taking the time out of your travels to let us know about your stay! We are happy to see you were impressed with our cleanliness as this is something we strive for daily. As for the WiFi situation, this is something we would also like to rectify and have spoken to Global Gossip about so hopefully this will be solved in the very near future. The ladder-less bunks is something we are definitely looking into sorting as I know (being quite small!) that it can be quite the challenge to get up to the top bunk without waking the person below you. Thanks again for the review and enjoy the rest of your travels. We hope to see you back with us one day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2013 via mobile

What a great place to stay. We had a private room with bathroom and the value for money was great. Central location but back off the road it was peaceful yet close to all the action. The rooms were clean and serviced every second day. Beds were a bit squeaky and could use some oiling but overall we loved our stay and would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerryn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NomadsAirlieBeachH, Front Office Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, 25 August 2013
Thank you so much for reviewing your experience of our hostel! We are are so glad that you were happy with your accommodation and our property! We try to make sure everyone who stays with us have a great experience! As suggested we will get onto 'De-squaking' the beds! Thanks for the tip!
We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels and maybe we will see you again! Cherie
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

This hostel is by far the nicest Nomads hostel we've stayed in in Australia (it's our third Nomads!)...it's set in spacious green grounds, with a pool in the middle and all facilities near reception. The hostel rooms are clean (and actually get cleaned!). We are staying in a 6 bed dorm with an ensuite bathroom which is fabulous. Couple of complaints: 1) luggage storage doesn't seem to be very secure, the room is simply left open without supervision much of the time 2) the wifi connection in the rooms is awful - I paid for use of the wifi but when I'm in bed trying to use it it keeps going in and out of signal. Plus, it is nowhere near "high speed" as advertised. Really I think every hostel should be offering free wifi...it's what travellers need the most when planning their next accommodation/tours etc., and when you're far from home it's always nice to know you can easily keep in touch with friends and family via Skype or what have you. 3) We were given a room that's as far from reception as you can get and up a flight of stairs which isn't great when you have a suitcase to lug after you. 4) a bin in the room AND the bathroom would be nice.

Room Tip: Rooms further from the Shed Bar are quieter but further from reception and facilities such as laundr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charvzalot123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, 18 April 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Campbeltown, Scotland
Level Contributor
146 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2013

We stayed in a lot of hostels in our short time in Australia and this was one of our favourites. Reception check-in was non negotiable at 1pm so there was a big queue but we could use the facilties beforehand such as the pool (very small), kitchen, laundry and internet cafe. The hostel rooms were based in spacious grounds in small huts and once checked in we were very happy with our twin room. It was big, had a separate kitchenette area, lcd tv and good sized bathroom. I wouldn't pay for the wifi code though as it barely worked when you were in your room. Location was good to access all that Airlie Beach had to offer - just across the road from the lagoon, beach and a short walk to the marina for boat trips. The bar was good and did decent food at cheap prices. Lots of bars, cafes, chemists, supermarket and restaurants were nearby. Negative point - the luggage room didn't seem to have any security but our bags were fine.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank elainemcgeachy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, 18 April 2017
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#42 of 54 in Airlie Beach
522 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
466 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#35 of 54 in Airlie Beach
184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#23 of 54 in Airlie Beach
421 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
187 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#24 of 54 in Airlie Beach
40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

Property: Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Address: 354 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill out in our tropical paradise in the centre of Airlie Beach Nomads Airlie Beach has 7 acres of tropical flora and fauna right in the centre of town, a relaxing atmosphere with a swimming pool, volleyball court and a poolside bar. Our Airlie Beach Hostel re-opened after a complete re-fit and renovation, now featuring brand new comfy beds and a fully kitted out communal kitchen. Our Nomads Airlie Beach accommodation also has proper camping facilities right in the centre in the town. (Tents, powered and non-powered sites). Trips to the must-see Whitsunday Islands depart from Airlie Beach and we can help you to choose the right boat for you, just pop in to see the travel staff! Accommodation options: choose from a variety of room types, from doubles and twins to shared dorm accommodation and powered or non-powered campsites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing