We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good base for Whitsudays” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“good base for Whitsudays”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2014

Excellent position, in the centre of Airlie and close too the beach and the lagoon.
Room very spacious and clean. There si a bar but the noise si OK.
The staff si very kindly and helpful. It's possible too book all kind of excursion for the withsundays islands.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arianna Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    160
    104
    59
    53
See reviews for
14
113
119
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Brilliant location, spacious rooms with 2showers and 1 toilet, air con so was really nice and cool. Bar was fairly okay priced. Stayed 3 nights in between doing the Whitsunday's trip. Nice hostel, definitely would recommend. Rooms 20+ apparently wasn't as nice which I was told by others but rooms I stayed in was nice and clean.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Zoe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

We booked three nights at Nomads in a six bed dorm, the room was very spacious and it was great to have a separate toilet and shower. The room was cleaned daily, maybe because we had at least one person check out each morning we were there as the only emptied the bin once during our time.
Our beds were comfy and did not creak (we both had top bunk). The pillows were a little bumpy and I found it uncomfortable, so used my travel pillow as well. Overall, we had three good night sleeps.
The location was great, next to Beaches which have good meal deal offers and a very short stroll from the lagoon. The Abel Marina (for Whitsunday boats) was a 10-15 minute walk away along the bicentennial path.
As it was not BYO, they stored any alcohol for you until your departure which was ideal before a boat trip. Luggage storage was also very reasonable and safe, $5 for three days and you can access it every half an hour until 7:30pm.
We didn't use the tour desk, but heard from others that they had some problems with one member of staff who kept booking wrong dates or taking incorrect money, so I would advise you double check everything.
We didn't use the pool as the lagoon is so close and very large. Kitchen was average, have to pay $20 for cutlery set but you get it back on return of cutlery.
We would stay again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank shjnmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cannock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

Stayed in the double lodge rooms for Xmas and New Year. After 4 days our bin had not been emptied,the room cleaned or the towels changed but the cleaner had been in to do nothing except go in to our fridge and remove a bottle of wine telling us to collect it from reception on departure!!! Perhaps cleaning may have been a better use of her time!! We also informed reception that several of the bulbs in the room were not working but were told they had none in stock, after we left after our 9 day stay they had still not been replaced. We kept being told that we were in a backpacker not a hotel but the cost of a double room is comparable to motel rates so surely to ask for a room to be cleaned is not too much to ask.

Room Tip: Beware of the alcohol police!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shawn T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

This is a good hostel, dorms are spacious. Rooms are ensuite, toilet and shower are separate which is a godsend when you have a ensuite. Beds were comfortable. Only major issue I had was that the air con was broken, reception were informed several times and didn't do anything, therefore it was ridiculously hot, this has affected the review, especially the sleep quality.
Location excellent, only about 2mins walk to the lagoon. They also have a really nice outdoor area, perfect for sunbathing and an on site bar.
Luggage storage is a bit of a pain as they only unlock is every half an hour and you have to actually be there at the desk pestering them when the half hour comes around.
Overall good hostel and met some awesome people.
Also note you have to rent cutlery as they do not have any in the kitchen, as it was so hot my food also went a bit dodgy which I was storing in the kitchen.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller11144
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

First impressions of Nomads Airlie Beach was that it was very large and a great place to meet people. We stayed one night because we were due to get on a boat for 3 days the next morning. We drove to the hostel so were eager to park the car somewhere safe, the guy on reception said that we could park in the car park for free for that night but would have to pay $10 for the others while we were on the boat. We were more than happy to do this because there were very limited place to park in the town. The room was clean and the beds were comfortable. Each bed had a plug point and a lamp. We stayed in a 8 bed dorm which had an en suit bathroom. The bathroom was very clean. The only problem was that the bathroom was open plan into the bedroom, so when someone got up to go to the toilet or shower the bathroom light shone into the room. The beds didn't squeak and the mattress was not lumpy. Out side there was a large open air bar, so at night there was loud music and shouting, but this never kept me awake. After travelling for over a year I have learnt to Carry a pair of ear plugs. Overall the hostel was great, and I would definitely go back."

Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ipodjs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013 via mobile

Beautiful outside area with pool.
They organize some special nights (for exemple: thrusday with movie and free popcorn and free barbecue - if u buy the drink in the backpacker's bar) - which is really nice!
I was in a 8 bed dorm... It was ok, ensuite and air conditioner. The pillow is really bad.. If u have your own is better ( it's the reality in almost all backpacker that i have been through) .
They have a transfer to pick u up at bus station ( pretty old van.. Hahahah)
No free wifi
Storage : $2 per person (or something like that)
Camping area
Well located

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Gabi_Vendito
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Base Airlie Beach Resort
Base Airlie Beach Resort
#39 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#28 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 445 reviews
0.0 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#36 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#22 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

Property: Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Address: 354 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing