We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautifull, resort style hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Beautifull, resort style hostel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2014

Lovely hostel, looks really new. every dorm has its ensuite. I stayed in an eight beddorm which was really clean. Furthermore the bathroom is really clean and the staff is friendly. The only downside is the fact that there is no pick-up from the premier busstop. It is not a big problem because it is just a 15 minute walk, but it is nice to have a pick-up when you luggage is really heavy. The hostel is in the middle of the city center and you can get to the marina in 15 to 20 min

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goot1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

481 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    165
    104
    61
    54
See reviews for
15
113
123
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

I stayed longer than expected in nomads due to car difficulties and not only was the stay awesome in the hostel the reception staff even helped me get my car back on the road because I had no idea about all the Queensland laws. Can't thank them enough! Also dorm rooms were clean and well equipped, good base for whitsunday exploring! :-)

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2014

Stayed here twice, once for a week and then for a couple days. The 8 bed dorms are great, air con and two showers in the room! clean rooms and friendly staff, parking available. Pool and bar is really nice too. Not at all what you would expect from a backpackers.

Room Tip: Choose the 8 bed dorms theyre far superior
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

I stayed in an 8 bed dorm for 5 nights in late Jan 2014. Unfortunately it was when Cyclone Dylan came and so i spent more time in this hostel than planned due to a cancelled boat trip. Staff were friendly, and the room was the best I've stayed in. The 8 bed female dorm was spotless, bright and every bed had a power point and small reading light. With 2 showers and one toilet for the room it was great, and the room was really spacious. The kitchens were also clean and well stocked with clean fridges. The only downside is that you have to pay for wifi. I would def stay here again. Well done Nomads!

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Joanna443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

Me and partner stayed here for 2 nights in a little Bungalow! Very nice rooms and spread out which gives you a bit of piece and quite.

The pool was always clean and they had a volleyball net as well which created a bit of a competition with people that we had meet in their bar! BTW the Bar is awesome, cheap, good music and good staff!

The hostel is on Shute harbour which is the main street in Airlie so perfect location to the shops/ cafe and swimming lagoon!

They have luggage storage for when you go to the Whitsundays and their travel shop offers some cheap deals :)

I recommend staying here to anyone at any age!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pomi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed in a private double and were pleasantly surprised at how great our room was, we had our own en suite and kitchenette, walk in wardrobe, flat screen tv and a huge bed! We couldn't believe it felt like we were staying in a motel. The hostel itself is in a great central location close to shops and restaurants- a good stop if your going on the Whitsunday's.
Staff were helpful enough too. Only downside was when we stored our bags in storage rooms the girl on reception just told me to put it in there (it was unlocked) and didn't take any details from me or label our bags. The doors eventually got locked but we were a bit worried at the fact that anyone could just go in and pick up any bag. Also when we arrived off the greyhound bus there was no-one to meet us at the drop off point when I phoned the hostel they said we can either get a taxi ($10) or walk 15/20min, so that was a bit disheartening as all our previous hostels have always met guests off the bus. All round the hostel is a good place to stay they might just want to work on a few things.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chrystal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Solihull, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

The room at the hostel was spacious, as was the bathroom, it was in a good location and staff were friendly. Didn't use the pool and not sure many did as it's quite small and there is a really nice big lagoon over the road.

Couple of things we found annoying was the kitchen being closed at 9pm, reception closing quite early, and most of all, every single one of the eight beds in our dorm were incredibly squeaky! To the point where we were all waking each other up by turning over in our sleep!

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Adam G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BASEBackpackerscrew, Guest Relations Manager at Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Hi there,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We really appreciate it.

Reviews give us the opportunity to pass on praise were your experience has been good and give us an opportunity to work on the bits that weren't up to standard.

We have taken on all your feedback and will hard to make sure we can offer the best customer experience in the future.

Hope the rest of your travels are spectacular.

Cheers,

Tom Cooney
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#41 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#31 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#22 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#7 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers

Property: Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Address: 354 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chill out in our tropical paradise in the centre of Airlie Beach Nomads Airlie Beach has 7 acres of tropical flora and fauna right in the centre of town, a relaxing atmosphere with a swimming pool, volleyball court and a poolside bar. Our Airlie Beach Hostel re-opened after a complete re-fit and renovation, now featuring brand new comfy beds and a fully kitted out communal kitchen. Our Nomads Airlie Beach accommodation also has proper camping facilities right in the centre in the town. (Tents, powered and non-powered sites). Trips to the must-see Whitsunday Islands depart from Airlie Beach and we can help you to choose the right boat for you, just pop in to see the travel staff! Accommodation options: choose from a variety of room types, from doubles and twins to shared dorm accommodation and powered or non-powered campsites. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing