We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good food, great friendly service”

Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #11 of 102 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Diner, Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar is located just off the main street of Airlie Beach which provides you with a quiet, comfortable and at dinner romantic venue, Located in front of the main walkway to Airlie Central, home to the new Woolworths store. Open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, (Kitchen operates 7:30am to 9:30pm daily). Fully licensed .... A wonderful place to sit, relax and enjoy wonderful food, great service and good music. Known for the best Coffee in the Whitsundays and home to the unique "Hot Rock" dinning experience, the highest quality steaks and the best ever seafood. Come for breakfast, back for lunch and again for dinner...... It's the best! & We also offer Icy Rocks, frozen Volcanic Rock serving Boutique Ice Cream ... This is as good as it gets! Come and enjoy our new modern Al fresco deck.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“good food, great friendly service”
Reviewed 9 May 2012

went to Airlie Beach for our friends wedding over Easter weekend, had lunch at this cute restaurant, it was extremely busy but the staff seems coping well and cheerful, I had the Smoke salmon sandwich and the rye bread was a nice touch, my wife had the pumpkin salad, it was tasty. had the smoothie with strawberry, mango & passion fruit and it was yum....
great place to chill and it was a bonus to use their free wifi to check out the wedding pics. definitely will recommend to the others.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Josh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    421
    132
    62
    41
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Delicious dinner in a relaxing environment”
Reviewed 8 May 2012

My friend and I had the recommended hot rock dish, which was an "interactive" dish where we got to cook our own beef and lamb on a piece of volcanic rock. This works great for me since the meat is always hot (I'm a slow eater), and I can eat different pieces at different cooked level. The meat was very good too, esp given the reasonable price.

The staff was very warm and friendly. Don't forget dessert!

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village_Cafe_Rest, Owner at Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Josh, Great to hear you loved the Hot Rock - glad we could add to your experience in Airlie Beach. By the way the Salmon Sandwich is my Fav as well. Thanks for the recommendation. Lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Eggs Benedict'o!”
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Our family enjoyed breakfast at this cafe. The eggs benedict with ham/salmon was yummo, eggs cooked perfectly. Smoothies very fresh & tasty although the price was a little high we thought. The big breaky is around $18 but could easily feed two!!! Busy place so I assume word of mouth has spread & they have repeat business.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank The_McDonald_Family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village_Cafe_Rest, General Manager at Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 5 May 2012
Thanks, glad you enjoyed your Breakfast, we are not the cheapest but we are the best and you wont ever leave hungry!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brissy
2 reviews
“Great Breakfast best location”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

Big thanks to the morning crew at the Cafe'!, i had a really big night but a bigger day planned. i made it through the day after a great coffee and a superb breakfast.
Loved it and it was great value :)

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tyrone G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village_Cafe_Rest, Owner at Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Tyrone,

Glad you started your day well, thank you for taking the time to write your review.

Hope to see you soon, next time you are in grap your VIP card, 10% of all your next purchases, keep in touch via facebook and our site.

Cheers
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Gourmet Sandwich BEWARE”
Reviewed 26 April 2012

We purchased 2 Gourmet Ham Sandwiches.........came out on supermarket bread, just standard ham & salad............$15 each, outrageous!

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tracka16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village_Cafe_Rest, Owner at Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 28 April 2012
Thank you for your comments, so information for you to consider. Our Bread is baked daily by Brumby's Bakery 2 min's away in Airlie Beach, we recieve a delivery at 6:30am for the moring and another freshly baked to perfection at 11:30 for lunch. We do not use "Super Market" bread, if fact we do not purchase any of our products from supermarkets.

The "ham", the ham we use in our "Love Affair" Sandwich is premium quaility let ham carved by our chefs daily, a very high quaility expensive premium product. The Cheese, is "Bega" Tasy Cheddar, again a premum product.

The Love Affair sanwich is then finish with our house made onion jam (cooked by chef, to our own special receipe. Finished with local tomotoes (Bowen) and local Hydroponic lettuce.

It also sell at $14.50 not 15. and is available at 10% discount to our VIP members, representng great value.

Understadning individual needs you will see on out menu a section "Classic Toasties" amoungst others this offer "budget travellers" a Cheese and ham traditional taosted sandwich for $9.95. This may be a better option for your next visit. There a remarkable differences between ham's, breads and cheese.. Better you stick to the more generic less taste sensitive version.

Thank you again for your feedback, it will help us direct customers to one or the other offering depending on there taste needs and budget.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
 

Been to Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing