We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great fresh food, great service”

Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #11 of 102 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$25
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Diner, Cafe, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: The Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar is located just off the main street of Airlie Beach which provides you with a quiet, comfortable and at dinner romantic venue, Located in front of the main walkway to Airlie Central, home to the new Woolworths store. Open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, (Kitchen operates 7:30am to 9:30pm daily). Fully licensed .... A wonderful place to sit, relax and enjoy wonderful food, great service and good music. Known for the best Coffee in the Whitsundays and home to the unique "Hot Rock" dinning experience, the highest quality steaks and the best ever seafood. Come for breakfast, back for lunch and again for dinner...... It's the best! & We also offer Icy Rocks, frozen Volcanic Rock serving Boutique Ice Cream ... This is as good as it gets! Come and enjoy our new modern Al fresco deck.
Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Great fresh food, great service”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The food was fresh and tasty, with a great menu. Staff are friendly and welcoming. The 'Hot Rock' meals were fun offered something different.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village_Cafe_Rest, Owner at Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Brian F from our home town ... in Airlie Beach ...

Great fresh food, that's us, great staff, thats us, ONLY restaurant in the Whitsunday's to offer Hot Rock dinning ...

See you soon Brian.

Lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    428
    134
    64
    41
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns Region, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Pleasant breakfast”
Reviewed 18 August 2014 via mobile

My wife and I had breakfast here during our honeymoon vacation in Airlie beach. The service was quite warm, welcoming and friendly. The food was pleasant and considering the price, good value for money. We would dine here again.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village_Cafe_Rest, Owner at Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 30 August 2014
Richard G

Congratulations on the wedding.... hope the honeymoon was wonderful... glad you enjoyed the time with us... looking forward to seeing you again soon... Lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Excellent coffee”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Excellent coffee and great service. Place is tucked in behind a few other places but it's worth the search.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doug0071960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village_Cafe_Rest, Owner at Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Doug,

Thank you for the review.

Good things are worth finding ...

Glad you enjoyed the best Coffee in the Whitsunday's

Lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Semi-hidden gem”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We found this cafe off the main street area and it offered a little more ambience than the standard main street. The cafe offered great service. Denise, who served us, couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. She made our evening so enjoyable. We were lured in by a live musician playing some very funky beats. We sat in the al fresco area; the evening temperature was a little cool but Denise stepped in and put some very powerful heaters on. Food was beautifully presented. Steak and kebabs were served on individual hot stones, partially cooked, so you could cook the meat to your own taste which was fun and interactive. We mentioned it was my birthday and Denise brought my dessert out decorated with sparklers which made my evening. I highly recommend this cafe.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village_Cafe_Rest, Owner at Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Jess Hi there.

Thank you for you for your review, glad you loved the ambience, service, live music.... heaters are great as well ... We are so happy you enjoyed your birthday desert and the special treatment.... I will let Denise know ...

Cheers

Lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Disappointing ”
Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

In short:Find another place to eat your breakfast. Banana bread was not fresh, tasted like a toasted 5 day old bread - there goes 4$. The grilled tomato was too lightly grilled, and tasted like the meat that was on the grill from before... Cappuccinos cost a soaring 4.80 for the small... And service us slow.

Helpful?
1 Thank Mik_Mik_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Village_Cafe_Rest, Owner at Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 18 August 2014
Mik

Sorry to hear you did not enjoy the experience. Our Banana bread is always fresh. our Coffee is infamous in the Whitsundays.

Can I offer you the chance to come again?

Kind regards

Lawrence 4946 5745
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
 

Been to Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing