We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay in airlie”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good place to stay in airlie”
Reviewed 16 May 2014

The Base hostel is located at the top of the main street. Once you get off the bus joe will pick you up from the bus terminal which is a bit out of town. The hostel is clean and got nice rooms. The staff is really nice and helpful (special thanks to Joe and Andy!)

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annika1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

The boys are going to love this one. Thank you for making a special mention of Andy and Joe. They will be so very pleased as are we for their outstanding service. I'm happy to hear that you found our hostel clean and friendly. Should your travels ever bring you back to us in Airlie Beach. Drop by and say hello. You might find yourself living here one day. It's just one of those places.

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

519 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    140
    122
    72
    63
See reviews for
8
99
140
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
234 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014 via mobile

Got to base at 7am, due to night bus, the girl said for $2 I could have a room straight away.
They accommodated me very well. The rooms were clean enough and beds were comfy! Shower was powerful and warm.
Pool area was clean, hammocks outside were nice.
Washing facilities good.
Reception was ok it was pretty slow. One girl was fairly rude on my first day and then 3 days later I returned to stay another night and she was friendly - maybe just got her on a bad day previously.
Would recommend in airlie beach. Luggage storage for whitsundays trip is $6.
Much better than other bases!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank holiday602
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I appreciate your feedback and the time it would have taken to review our property. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. The comfort of our beds, the powerful shower, hammocks and pool area.

I do however apologise that your first impression of service was not a good one.

Here's to wishing you all the best on your travels. Hopefully they'll find you back with us at Base in Airlie Beach.

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Monaco-Ville, Monaco
1 review
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Base is certainly the best hostel in Airlie, Staff are very friendly, especially the reception staff. When you arrive, they offer a Shuttle from the bus station to pick you up and drive you to the hostel. I know that it's one of the only hostels to do this in Airlie Beach ! So I was very happy to not have to walk 10min with my Heavy backpack haha :P

A lot of facilities: Kitchen, Swimming pool, .... The Down Under Bar where you can enjoy good live music every night, I love this place, perfect to have breakfast/lunch/dinner or just have a drink !

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TomyBMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Outstanding!! Thank you so much for your praise of our hostel and bar. I'm glad to hear that you received 'awesome' service from our staff and that you enjoyed your stay with us.

Please come back again soon. We'd love to have you!

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed 4 May 2014

When I first walked in at base I met a smiling girl with a flower in her head her name was Aotea I later discovered.. she was very friendly and helped me with all my questions.. I had a lot and she did seems to be bothered.. the answered all of them and was understanding that i haven't been traveling for long
For a second I though I had arrived in Hawaii.. after a fast and professional check in she showed me to my room, a beautiful Bungalow with an amazing view and a clean and big room.. and the bathroom with a jacuzzi. it aslo spaced a small kitchen.
the Base property itself was amazing felt like you're in the middle of a rainforrest and u could expect to c anything from snakes till drunk ppl on the lawn..
I loved Base and it's friendly staff.. thank you see you soon again..

Room Tip: Rooms close to the reception has better internet cover
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr E R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelsastar79, General Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Hi & thanks you for such an amazing review!

Aotea is our rooms manager and is always at work with a smile on her dial, she was really greatful for your review.

I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and please if you get the chance come back and visit again :)

Cheers
Kellie Brookes |GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Loved my stay here, was put up in a beautiful private room, ensuited (with a spa bath) little kitchenette could have spen the whole time here, but the reception/travel gurus helped get me on a boat around the whitsundays - then got stuck into a few drinks with me at Down Under Bar when I got back...
Can't wait to get back - paradise..

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tommy_9c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm so grateful that you enjoyed yourself on your stay with us at Base Airlie Beach Resort. And that our staff were able to help you find an amazing tour around the whitsundays. We are living in paradise here and we hope that you'll come join us again someday.

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We booked a King Ensuite on the Base website because the website states these are newly renovated rooms. However, the rooms are far from renovated. They look like they haven't been renovated since the 1970s!!! We paid AUD 115 for one night which really wasn't worth it. We moved out the next day even though we were offered the room for AUD 80 for the rest of our stay.

The organisation of the reception area is terrible. We were queuing for one hour to check in because the girl at the desk went on a break. It also seems to take 15 mins to check each person in!!! After a long journey, this is the last thing we wanted to do.

We booked a cruise from the tour desk. Again, this took about an hour to book and there was a long queue behind us. One person in the queue wanted to ask a quick question, but the man behind the desk, Jamie, snapped at him and told him to wait his turn!!

This is the worst Base I've ever been to. If you are staying in Airlie Beach as a couple, you can find lovely studio apartments for less money than a horrible double room in Base.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Charles W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It's very disheartening to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us here in Airlie Beach.

We've tried really hard to keep our rooms as updated as possible due to demand and can assure you that the King Rooms (which we've recently configured) have just been re-painted, bathrooms re-sealed and tiled with a room revamp. I'm sorry that during your stay you were not happy with the standard of your room.

Further, I do apologise that the service you received was not ideal. We are still currently training new staff which is a process and can quite often mean longer then normal wait times. I do hope you understand and accept our sincerest apologies for having made you wait.

However, because of feedback such as yours we would not have otherwise known the areas we need to improve. So for this Thank You from all the base staff and we hope you enjoy the remainder of your travels.

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Cannot thank staff member Andy enough he helped me organise my IDC course when I thought all hope was lost and thanks to him I am staying on in airlie and doing my course with one of Australia's most reputed course directors :) cheers bro also a huge thanks to Jamie who also made me feel much better when I can in dripping with rain, sick and feeling rather down, these two both rock!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zoshyk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. Jame-I and Andy are awesome blokes aren't they. They're what the travel industry and Base is all about. I'm pleased to hear that they have you sorted and that you'll be staying on in Airlie Beach. Enjoy and good luck!!

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.6 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#32 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#28 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#7 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Airlie Beach

Property: Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Address: 336 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Airlie Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach has gained a reputation for their stylish rooms, friendly local crew and a fun social atmosphere all in one great central location in Airlie Beach. The hostel accommodation is set amongst 6 acres of tropical gardens with an outdoor swimming pool right in the heart of Airlie Beach. Only 50m to the lagoon, the cafes, bars and shops are on the doorstep and the Abel Point Marina is just a stroll away. We have beds for all budgets - meet other travellers in our clean, comfortable multi-share rooms, all with ensuite and air-conditioning, or treat yourself to a private room with your own corner bath, fridge, air-conditioning, kitchenette & complimentary tea and coffee in the room. We also have loads of camping sites & campervan parks. Base Backpackers Airlie Beach is set up to be your ideal gateway to the Whitsunday Islands National Park with 74 islands and Whitehaven Beach rated as one of the top 10 beaches in the world only a short boat trip away. Off street car park and car/campervan parking while you sail, air-conditioning in ALL the rooms, fully equipped communal kitchen, internet lounge & wireless internet in every room (Global Gossip), fully air-conditioned TV lounge, secure overnight/day luggage storage, BBQ facilities, 24 hour coin operated laundry, fully licensed travel desk to help organise your time in Airlie Beach, EVERYTHING you need in one location! Our onsite Bar serves up the best the best food, and incredible drinks at backpacker prices! Open daily for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner at the best prices intown. Nightly entertainment 7 days a week!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Backpackers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing