We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location, pity about the room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good location, pity about the room”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2014

Stayed in a private room for 1 night in august, The reviews of this place were good so hoped for a decent place.

In fairness the staff are friendly and the location is great.
However the room itself was a big let down. We arrived in around 8pm after a 10 hour bus trip hoping to relax and settle in.What we found was a dirty bathroom and no covers on the bed. At 8 in the evening there is no excuse not to have a room clean no matter how budget the accommodation is.In fairness i could have complained about the cleanliness but after a long journey i didn't feel like waiting around while they cleaned it.

In summary pretty disappointing given the reviews.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stephen-g b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your review. I am sorry to hear that you found the room unclean.
As you mentioned. There is no excuse for this at such a late hour and I'm grateful that you have advised us of this. However, it is unfortunate that we were not given the opportunity to rectify the issue ourselves?

Further, I'm so pleased to hear that the staff were friendly and you enjoyed the location of our hostel. It is an amazing place we live.

We hope you enjoy the remainder of your travels and that you will visit Airlie Beach again some day.

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    139
    120
    70
    63
See reviews for
8
99
138
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 August 2014 via mobile

My friend and I went to the base travel desk to book tours for the week. We had only an idea of what to do and were helped out by Nick. He was great and helped us for over an hour picking the best tours and working with our schedule. Highly reccomend base travel and ask for Nick!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meganblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kelsastar79, General Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 27 August 2014
Hi,

Thanks for taking the time to leave Base Airlie Beach & Travel a fab review.

Its good to see that Nick is living up to his great reputation on which we hired him for. Im sure he will be very happy to see this review & I'm glad you had an amazing time while in the Whitsundays..please come back and visit again soon :)

Cheers
Kellie | GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Como
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

I stayed with my boyfriend in a private room for 70 AUD per night.
The room was really big (1 double bed + 1 bunk bed), but the space not well used: there isn't the wardrobe in the bedroom and the bathroom is devoid of hooks for the towels and shelfs for toiletries.
Clean sheets, comfortable bed, but dirty shower.
The shared kitchen is not well-provided: there aren't pants and knives enough for everybody and also we had to buy sugar, oil and salt and rent cutlery at the reception.
It's not the best place in Airlie Beach where we spent our time.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MokyMoka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time it has taken you to leave us a review. And we do take all our feedback very seriously.

I'm sorry to hear that you found the space in your room not very well used. This is the first complaint we've had about this. Usually our guests love that there is room to move. Especially for the rooms guests share with others. However, which room were you in? All our rooms either have hooks for towels or racks. So if your room did not we will need to fix this. Please email me if you have the time with the room number. My email is aotea.gordon-cooke@stayatbase.com.

Further, we're very aware of the issue regarding our communal kitchen. This area has become a constant struggle to keep stocked. This is mainly due to the theft of our property. We cannot imagine why our guests would want to remove pots, pans, knifes and plates from this area as it obviously affects other guests in the hostel. But they do. So I hope you can understand that due to fellow travellers removing these items from the communal kitchen, is the main reason for lack of stock. Although we constantly try to re-stock these items (re-stocked cutting knifes, can openers, pots and pans just last week) and hence the $5 bond (refunded when returned) for a mug and cutlery from reception.

Lastly, we are a hostel not a hotel. Therefore we do not supply the communal kitchen with sugar, salt and oil. Frankly I've never heard of a hostel that does this?

I hope the above answers all your concerns and if you have any further questions please do not hesitate to email me on the above.

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. The room was great we stayed in a 6 bed dorm, beds were comfortable.

The down under bar next door offered a meal deal for $10 while staying at Base which was a good meal and drink. We were also given buy one get one free vouchers on drinks!

Good location close to bars and restaurants.

The downfall was the kitchen, a few hobs weren't working and you had to put down a $5 deposit for plates and cutlery.

We enjoyed relaxing on the hammocks.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gordonquinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. It's greatly appreciated.

So glad that you enjoyed the menu at the Down Under Bar. They do have awesome food for great prices and amazing deals.

We're also pleased that you enjoyed the comforts of your 6 bed dorm.

However, we've been forced to charge the $5 bond for a mug and cutlery. Because when the items were kept in the communal kitchen they were being removed and never returned. Please be assured that this is only a BOND and is refunded once items returned on check out.
I am however very sorry that some of the hobs were not working on your stay. We try very hard to get these issues recitified as soon as possible. But given that most electricians in the area do not work after 5pm at times we do have to wait until the following day. And then if parts required, this is a whole other issue.

Overall it's great that enjoyed yourself whilst you were here and we do hope you return.

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here two nights either side of a boat trip. Great room, we were upgraded to a family room both nights which was brilliant instead of the budget private room we had originally booked. Tea at the front desk was really helpful, filling us in on info and stuff todo whilst we were there. Cheap wifi at $4 for 24 hours and $ 6 each to leave our cases whilst we were on the boat trip. Great hostel to stay in and good prices too!

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank summergirl451
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Base Airlie Bea... R, General Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Ladies,

Thank you so much for your review. I will be sure to let tea know you enjoyed the service you received from her. And that she tried where she could to ensure you had a brilliant stay. It's always a great feeling when you're offered an upgrade. It was our pleasure.

Also, thank you so much for your feedback regarding our WIFI and luggage storage. We've received a lot of critism regarding our prices for this so we appreciate hearing that it's actually a great service and price.

Have an amazing trip ladies and come back as soon as you can :)

Kind Regards,

Kellie GM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Stayed 7 nights August 2014 in a 4 bed Dorm room
I looked at previous reviews and they were all positive The website advertised Clean Comfatable Air conditioning
The room had an air conditioning unit but the power had been cut off so as to not use the unit and a note from management saying if you don't run the air con you will save energy
The only furniture in the open plan room was a set of bunk beds and a small bed side table there was no table or even A chair. The curtains in this room had the most disgusting huge stain on them that obviously had been there a long time
The kitchenette had a sink and a bar fridge but all cupboards were nailed shut? There was no curtain so every person whom walk past (the room is on the path to pool/BBQ area) could see straight Into the room this made me very security concerned.
In the bathroom again the under sink cupboard was nailed shut and every tap and toilet dripped/constantly running (so much for saving energy)
The room was cleaned during the stay and garbage was emptied
The Downunder Bar & Grill at the front of the complex was very good nice meals and not expensive
The position is very good right in the heart of Airlie Beach
Staff friendly enough
I would hesitae to stay here again Should have asked to see the room before paying full amont

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback regarding your stay with us here in Airlie Beach.

I've tried looking for your reservation to see what room you stayed in but cannot seem to find you? Could you please email me directly on aotea.gordon-cooke@stayatbase.com so that I can address the issues you have raised regarding the room.

However, please be aware that the cupboards in the 'kitchenettes' have purposely been nailed shut to deter guests from leaving perishables in enclosed areas that will surely collect mould and attract bugs on lengthy stays. This is why the kitchenettes in the rooms are not stocked and why we provide our guests with a communal kitchen. If the kitchenettes were stocked with cooking facilities this would surely be a fire hazard. Hence the reason they are not. I'm sorry that the facilities provided in the room did not meet your expectations.

Also, during the winter / colder months we have disabled the airconditioners to 'save power' and the environment, because they have not been needed. It has most certainly been cold enough without them. Although in saying this if you had of advised reception that you may have preferred the airconditioner active we could have assisted in providing you with this comfort during your stay.

Further, you have most certainly raised an issue regarding the leaking taps. This does affect our water usage but does not affect saving energy. And we are constantly addressing this issue where advised given that we operate 24-7. So thank you.

I really hope that I have addressed all of your concerns and please know that you can email me at any time should you require anything further.

Enjoy the remainder of your travels.

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

We booked to stay here for its location and also friends that stayed said it was the best hostel they stayed at on the whole east coast (and they were right!!!). It does feel like a hotel resort more than a hostel, with hamicks around the pool, big clean rooms and set in a rainforest background. Best of both worlds, a retreat and quite at the back of the resort and the clubs games and fun at the front. Only a quick walk to the Lagoon and the supermarkets. We booked tours, great staff, the travel desk had so many options and so many discounts (we saved more than $100 on out Whitesundays sailing, thanks Jmai)

Room Tip: Great for all types of Travelers
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HansLakeberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Backpackers Airlie Beach, responded to this review, 29 August 2014
Dear Guest,

You're simply amazing. That is the only way to respond to your review. Thank you so much for making our day. Jame-I will be so pleased about your feedback.

We really hope that you enjoy the remainder of your travels. And don't become a stranger. There's always a place for you here in Airlie Beach.

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.6 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#22 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.1 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#31 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#7 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Backpackers Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Backpackers Airlie Beach

Property: Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Address: 336 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Base Backpackers Airlie Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach has gained a reputation for their stylish rooms, friendly local crew and a fun social atmosphere all in one great central location in Airlie Beach. The hostel accommodation is set amongst 6 acres of tropical gardens with an outdoor swimming pool right in the heart of Airlie Beach. Only 50m to the lagoon, the cafes, bars and shops are on the doorstep and the Abel Point Marina is just a stroll away. We have beds for all budgets - meet other travellers in our clean, comfortable multi-share rooms, all with ensuite and air-conditioning, or treat yourself to a private room with your own corner bath, fridge, air-conditioning, kitchenette & complimentary tea and coffee in the room. We also have loads of camping sites & campervan parks. Base Backpackers Airlie Beach is set up to be your ideal gateway to the Whitsunday Islands National Park with 74 islands and Whitehaven Beach rated as one of the top 10 beaches in the world only a short boat trip away. Off street car park and car/campervan parking while you sail, air-conditioning in ALL the rooms, fully equipped communal kitchen, internet lounge & wireless internet in every room (Global Gossip), fully air-conditioned TV lounge, secure overnight/day luggage storage, BBQ facilities, 24 hour coin operated laundry, fully licensed travel desk to help organise your time in Airlie Beach, EVERYTHING you need in one location! Our onsite Bar serves up the best the best food, and incredible drinks at backpacker prices! Open daily for Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner at the best prices intown. Nightly entertainment 7 days a week!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Base Backpackers Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing