We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing cocktails”

Whitsunday Sailing Club
Ranked #24 of 104 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: With arguably the best water view in the Whitsundays, the Whitsunday Sailing Club is a 'must see' venue in Airlie Beach.Open 7 days a week for lunch and dinner with sailing club has a magnificent menu selection with a regular mixed buffet and specials board.The tropical cocktails are the talk of the town and the new weekend breakfast menu is a great way to treat yourself.There are regular sailing races to watch from the balcony and live entertainment to enjoy every Sunday afternoon with our famous "Sunday Jam Session".
cairns
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Relaxing cocktails”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Lovely deck for relaxing drinks and great views watching the yachties potter about, however, the food is pretty awful.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank paulandvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WSC4802, Head Chef at Whitsunday Sailing Club, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Hello Sir/Maam

My name is Jason Clark, Head Chef at the Whitsunday Sailing Club.
I am very sorry to read your comment on the food here at the Club. I would very much like the chance to do something about this.
If it is ok for you to do so, would you please provide me with more specifics as to what it is that made your experience less than ordinary with the food.
Please email me direct on: chef@whitsundaysailingclub.com.au
I appreciate your comment even though it is a negative one, as it is very hard to better something without knowledge of the wrongs.
I eagerly look forward to your informing reply

Jason Clark
Head Chef
WSC
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

268 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    115
    44
    17
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nha tran
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very basic”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Went here over the Easter weekend and was very disappointed. Waited until after 9pm for our meals, no apology for waiting over an hour for a very basic meal

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dgaussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great View”
Reviewed 19 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely spot for sunset on the veranda, however large groups also congregate there for meals and can get quite loud.
Meals are at restaurant prices and decent enough.
Reservations required.

Helpful?
Thank roadtrippernineteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
airlie beach
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“new menu”
Reviewed 6 March 2014

My partner LOVED the kangaroo skewers! - He even ate alll the salad which is not normal! I loved the calamari salad!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank pollyAirlieBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
215 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 212 helpful votes
“Revisiting my last review”
Reviewed 12 February 2014

I thought it fair to share with TA members the positive response I received from the Whitsunday Sailing Club to my recent review. My earlier review was based on two visits late last year and was very negative about several aspects of the club. I can advise that I was contacted by the club General Manager who sought further details about my experiences then undertook her own enquiries into the matters I raised. After doing so, she got back to me and essentially confirmed the incidents complained of. She apologised for what had gone wrong and detailed the steps the club had taken, at least in general terms, to avoid a repeat.

I was pretty impressed with her actions and thought I'd share the experience. It does the club credit. And while my original view was accurate, this should be considered in light if the response by management.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank markjackson100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitsunday Sailing Club also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Whitsunday Sailing Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing