We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding experience, highly recommended !!”

Big Fury Island Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fun, fast cruise around the Whitsunday Islands. All in one day visit world famous Whithaven Beach, then it's off to a pristine snorkelling reef off of another island, a delicious picnic lunch served right on the beach, afternoon snacks, entertaining and educational crew commentary throughout the day. Fun from start to finish!
Airlie
1 review
“Outstanding experience, highly recommended !!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014

Very smooth booking and pick up service, very friendly staff. We hired the wet suits on the advice of staff and very grateful we did! The boat ride was a lot of fun. The on board deck hand (though this doesn't describe his work, of safety demonstrator, snorkel tutor, life saver, comedian, chef, public relations, tour guide, environmentalist and the guy who takes pictures for the guests) was brilliant (Braden). Total credit to the big fury company. Matt the taxi driver and skipper was great, and created a lot of boat excitement as well as stopping the boat and moving it around to get the best views of the whales (they really don't have to do this). Would recommend to friends and family or anyone else who would listen. Value for money, yes we believe we got that and much more.

The only add on to those who are not sensible enough to take water proof jackets as recommended, (like us) would be for big fury to offer for sale ponchos on board, I think they could have sold 30 of them at any price! It does get wet, but a lot of fun getting that wet, sadly though with the wet comes the cold at 20 knots ;-). Believe them, take a jacket!!!

Thanks heaps, memorable and fantastic day had!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Fadaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    444
    82
    26
    6
    11
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Full fun day out & great crew! ”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I went on this day trip with a group and every single one of us had a fantastic time. We had fantastic sunshine but was a little windy and it didn't matter one bit. Brayden was fun and light hearted clearly showing the passion for his job sharing details for all the islands. Matt was fabulous as a driver & was very cool allowing us to stop and view the whales for photos/videos when ever we they popped up. Sensational day out & highly recommended!! Thxs guys!!!

Helpful?
1 Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Awesome day out. Don't hesitate, book in NOW!!”
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

I absolutely loved this day. I have been on the reef and done Island tours before but this was my first with Big Fury and my favourite.

We snorkelled, saw loads of whales, spent a lovely few hours on Whitehaven Beach and had a great lunch included. Our tour guides and Captain were both great. Made our day with loads of fun facts, laughs and friendly banter. Thanks Brayden and Matt.

This is a must do tour, although make sure you take a warm jacket in the cooler months as it is a fast boat so it gets cool on the return trip.

Also if you like bush walks, take the time to do the short walk on Whitehaven. Great views.

Helpful?
Thank Kirstie976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaassen, The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great trip!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Lovely day at the reef, great staff, lovely food! Kids enjoyed the trip as much as we and we came back with fantastic photos and great memories. The staff was a lot of fun and very helpful with little boards with viewing window for the kids who weren't very experienced in snorkeling. Would recommend big fury to everyone!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Juultjeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Super day out”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

This was an amazing trip to see the Whitsunday Islands. The snorkelling spot was excellent saw many different sea creatures. The time of Whitehaven beach was beautiful also and Lockey was a great your guide great fun and really helpful taking pictures etc.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ashling09212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Fury Island Tour also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Big Fury Island Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing