We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing day on Big Fury”

Big Fury Island Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fun, fast cruise around the Whitsunday Islands. All in one day visit world famous Whithaven Beach, then it's off to a pristine snorkelling reef off of another island, a delicious picnic lunch served right on the beach, afternoon snacks, entertaining and educational crew commentary throughout the day. Fun from start to finish!
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We had excellent weather, a fast & fun ride out to Whitehaven Beach, Brayden & Chris prepared a great lunch for us then we had a swim and went on a bush walk. The snorkelling at Border Island was amazing, I felt like I was swimming in an aquarium. Brayden was an excellent & extremely informative guide as well as a great photographer for everyone. Great value money as well.

1  Thank rosemike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"whitehaven beach"
in 269 reviews
"day trip"
in 59 reviews
"lace monitors"
in 8 reviews
"swirling sands"
in 23 reviews
"cold meats"
in 25 reviews
"monitor lizards"
in 8 reviews
"fish"
in 47 reviews
"great lunch"
in 23 reviews
"potato salad"
in 11 reviews
"prawns"
in 17 reviews
"snorkelling spot"
in 19 reviews
"great trip"
in 29 reviews
"deck hand"
in 12 reviews
"courtesy bus"
in 6 reviews
"dropped off"
in 9 reviews
"these guys"
in 26 reviews
"sense of humour"
in 14 reviews
Filter

434 - 438 of 620 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2014

Booked this trip because of all the positive reviews. Super glad I did. I was at the wrong spot for the pick-up (entirely my fault) but Matt was so kind as to wait/come look for me. Didn't think that would happen what with there being so many others that booked the trip. Good reception at the marina and a great boat ride (I tend to get seasick sometimes, but on the Fury it was all good). Prepare to laugh at all the silly jokes that are being made by the crew :)

Unfortunately there wasn't very good visibility when snorkeling, but I actually didn't even mind. Lunch was great, the atmosphere even better and Whitehaven Beach was amazing (despite some clouds). Book this trip, guys!

1  Thank Aat P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

We had a fantastic day out on Big Fury. Part of the service was being picked up and dropped off at our caravan park. The staff were excellent (especially our main guide, Lachie) and we spent the day snorkelling and enjoying Whitehaven Beach. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff, and Lachie looked after our 6 year old whilst we went snorkelling, by taking him out in the tender and showing him coral through the glass bottom viewer.

The buffet lunch was excellent in terms of both quantity and quality of food. Definitely recommend to anyone visiting the area.

Big Fury visits the southern end of Whitehaven Beach, and doesn't do the lookout / shifting sands end - but this is made fairly clear and in no way detracts from what is an excellent day out.

1  Thank Brendan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked this tour for the last day of our holiday in Airlie Beach only to be disappointed. After waiting for 20 minutes for the courtesy pick up we decided to call only to be told that our trip had been cancelled. The excuse was that it was cancelled the day before due to maintenance and that we should have been notified, which of course we were not and blamed it on "the new girl". By this time it was too late to find another tour so we missed out on seeing the islands, the main attraction of the Whitsundays. Give this one a miss and find something more reliable.

2  Thank vaitecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DianneF383, Public Relations Manager at Big Fury Island Tour, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2014

I am sorry to hear that you were not advised of Big Fury's cancellation in advance, as the trip was cancelled early morning the day before and according to the notes from our manifesting agent, all 6 guests booked on your day of departure were either advised over the phone, or had contacted the agent they booked through and the accommodation where you were staying. So I am very sorry that you never received the message.

It is very rare for us to have to cancel without scheduled maintenance in advance, but occasionally emergencies do arise.

As a gesture of our deepest apologies we would like to offer you a complimentary cruise on the Big Fury the next time you visit the Whitsunday's and I'm quite certain than your option of our company will change.

Please contact management directly on fury@whitsunday.net.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We didn't have the postcard weather, but what do you expect in Aug. The choppy waters actually made it more fun... Our 2 boys laughed all the way to Whitehaven. Crew were v welcoming and accommodating, especially Brayden who my son should be a comedian. Great fun and great value

1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Fury Island Tour also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Big Fury Island Tour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing