We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A nice 3 star resort.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“A nice 3 star resort.”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

First, let me point out I give my ratings compared to the typical star rating used for hotels. This was a good 3 star hotel, with great staff, good sized rooms, a nice free form pool area and a good breakfast considering it was included in the price. The rooms are recently renovated and have new bathrooms fitted.
The pool area is a little shaded most of the day but in the summer I guess this is a blessing! The rooms were clean but could have been better, the insect screen in the bathroom was a bit grim.
Otherwise the staff were super helpful, even looked after our bags for a few days whilst we went sailing and it is a max 10 minute walk to the town, or a cheap taxi ride if you have bags.
I would stay again if I was in Airlie.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank greenrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    170
    140
    25
    8
    5
See reviews for
64
193
16
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent 4 nights at the inn in May. The power plant is shut down in Moro rock, so the town is becoming more touristy, and the hotel prices are going up, obviously. We had a nice stay. Having a small kitchen is a plus. The walls are rather thin, so pray you do not have loud neighbors.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatyana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for the weekend and found a Fantastic room, comfortable bed and the most wonderful service.
The restaurant was the best do yourself a favour and try the duck or the steak.
Thanks we will be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I cannot say a negative word about the Palms. Great staff always made us feel like family. They went out of there way to accommodate us in every way. They recommended and provided bookings for us, shuttle services, and opened breakfast early for us on our checkout day.

Perfect place to stay with bay side views and two small pools. Has a cafe/bar with great free breakfast. We were able to leave the loud weekend party of Airlie beach drag at midnight and walk a few minutes to our quiet hotel. Great for travelers who need sleep for early starts! Also has a coin op laundry room on site for backpackers!

Room Tip: Second floor has the balcony views, First floor has the walkout patio to pools.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brian c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We only spent one night but were really impressed with this Family run motel. It is close to the road but the rooms and the public spaces were spotless and had a nice leaf style theme on the walls. Our room had full cooking facilities, a queen size bed in a seperate room and two singles in the main living area. The bathroom had a great shower and the whole unit was roomy and bright, with a balcony.

The Motel also has a fantastic restaurant with an interesting yet classic Menu. They also had some beautifu Narkoojee wines from East Gippsland, one of our favourite wines.

All in all a great spot, which is about a 10 minute walk from the main street and is directly opposite the new marina development, that also has some interesting food and retail outlets.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonBox283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Visiting Airlie then this is a superb slice of paradise! Rooms extremely clean, A spacious shower to die for, balconies that over look enticing and relaxing water views , 2 refreshing pools joined by a stone cobble creek in between with a colonial wood bridge that enters into a naturally designed relaxing restaurant setting! Great food, professional service and most of all an extremely friendly and welcoming atmosphere! A nice slice of paradise in Airlie!!! Certainly will return!!!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kbardrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raglan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Large family gathering stayed 5 nights .The staff went out of there way. Arranging special family dinner.The setting was lovely and very good for handy caped people. The breakfast which was included was very generous and put every one ready for busy days ahead.

Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Dorothy544
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.4 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
1.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,074 reviews
0.6 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#7 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Palms Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Palms Motor Inn

Property: Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Address: 2 Hermitage Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Airlie Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Palms Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Colonial Palms Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach Best Western
Colonial Palms Motor Inn Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing