We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good choice” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Colonial Palms Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
102 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Even though we stayed only 1 night in this terrific motel, we would chose it again. The service staff was very friendly happy to share tips and recommendations. Out room was very spacious and had a cute little balcony. Even though the motel is located directly on the main road, it is fairly quiet inside the rooms. The walking distance to the CBD is a plus. The pool area is very nice and the breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aninha_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    139
    24
    8
    4
See reviews for
63
189
14
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Qld, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a rated a 3 star motel very close to the CBD of Airlie. The rooms are excellent value with a view (across a car park) to the new marina. The room was large airy and spotless. Wi-Fi is included although no pay TV.
Bonus - continental breakfast is included - this was unexpected, and double bonus up graded us for free to Bacon and eggs!!!!
Staff and service was excellent......

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joelta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We had a spacious 2 bed room and lovely large newly tiled bathroom and shower for the night. We didn't have dinner as there was a coach group staying that night. The continental breakfast was standard. There was some road noise and from neighbours but probably quieter than being right in town. Airlie Beach town is a lovely place, a short walk away but uphill on the way back. The pool looked inviting for summer time.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank RNP2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hervey Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

Originally booked into this motel for 2 nights but because of a boat trip to the Whitsunday Island we had to extend our stay for another night. Absolutely no problem whatsoever and we could even keep the same room. Breakfast is included In the room price which is a bonus. A family run hotel and we were made especially welcome by Bernie, thanks for everything.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2014

First, let me point out I give my ratings compared to the typical star rating used for hotels. This was a good 3 star hotel, with great staff, good sized rooms, a nice free form pool area and a good breakfast considering it was included in the price. The rooms are recently renovated and have new bathrooms fitted.
The pool area is a little shaded most of the day but in the summer I guess this is a blessing! The rooms were clean but could have been better, the insect screen in the bathroom was a bit grim.
Otherwise the staff were super helpful, even looked after our bags for a few days whilst we went sailing and it is a max 10 minute walk to the town, or a cheap taxi ride if you have bags.
I would stay again if I was in Airlie.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenrobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
97 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We spent 4 nights at the inn in May. The power plant is shut down in Moro rock, so the town is becoming more touristy, and the hotel prices are going up, obviously. We had a nice stay. Having a small kitchen is a plus. The walls are rather thin, so pray you do not have loud neighbors.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tatyana F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Townsville, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed for the weekend and found a Fantastic room, comfortable bed and the most wonderful service.
The restaurant was the best do yourself a favour and try the duck or the steak.
Thanks we will be back.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Warren H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
1.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.6 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
0.9 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,057 reviews
0.8 mi away
Airlie Beach Motor Lodge
Airlie Beach Motor Lodge
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Palms Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Palms Motor Inn

Property: Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Address: 2 Hermitage Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Airlie Beach
#1 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Palms Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your Colonial Palms Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach Best Western
Colonial Palms Motor Inn Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing