We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Ranked #3 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Wanting to stay in something other than a highrise or dedicated resort we chose the Colonial Palms firstly based on the ease of access. Not having to take heaps of stairs or a lift and being able to park a cat near your room. Then came the surprise extremely friendly hands on owners. The hospitality awesome. The rooms very clean and well serviced, modern and homely. This place has a nice feel. They also have a restaurant and serve excellent meals with an intimate bar to gather around for a drink. Breakfast was continental but included some hot food as well so that was a bonus. So if you are going to Airlie Beach and want to stay in a great place with the best service that is friendly and homely you cannot go past the Colonial Palms. There is also a great footpath to walk into to town which takes about 10 minutes if you stroll. Just loved it, Thanks

Room Tip: All rooms are well positioned and have a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LorraineMacG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (380)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

200 - 206 of 381 reviews

Reviewed 2 September 2014

My husband and I needed a place to stay between a island camp trip and a live aboard trip in the Whitsunday Islands. The Colonial Palms was the perfect place. The management was super helpful with local information and arranging an early morning taxi twice. They also kept extra baggage for us while we were on the live aboard trip. The hotel was within walking distance to town, updated, clean and had a nice pool and water features to enjoy. There was an insight restaurant we unfortunately didn't get a chance to try but looked good. A decent continental breakfast was included.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Niobe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2014

John and Co are really good people, only to happy to assist.
The rooms are terrific, large, clean with the most comfortable beds ever encountered in a motel.
Food was great, dining room not huge, but welcoming.
Just opposite the new Airlie Port so handy for connecting boats when it opens next month

Room Tip: Any room is fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank philh49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Airlie Beach is awesome - loved the man-made swimming lagoon, just great for kids and grownups alike. Colonial Palms Motor Inn was lovely - older style of motel but has obviously been updated to trendy standard. Breakfast was lovely, and service excellent. Thanks for a great overnight stay. Would have been two nights if sea had been kinder to take a trip out to Hamilton Island. Next time maybe.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank denlynWhitianga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

Booked this for two nights either side of a Whitsunday boat trip. Clean and comfortable rooms. Staff friendly especially Bernie and the lady who works her socks off at breakfast. They are both a credit to the hotel. Breakfast was a lovely bonus with cereal, fruit, yoghurt and toast all served in the sunny restaurant. A stroll into the main drag. We left our car and bags during our boat trip with no problems. Would definitely stay again and would recommend to anyone.

Room Tip: Two floors. Top floors have a balcony and a glimpse of the sea through the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diddlydancer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Great motel. Quiet location. Lovely friendly and very helpful staff. Has two pretty and natural looking swimming pools which sold me on the motel when booking. I was not disappointed. They look fabulous, but were a little cold to use in the winter. Will be very refreshing for a dip once the hot weather kicks in. Room very spacious. Motel close enough to town to walk - takes 10 minutes. All round excellent stay.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

This is a great option for anyone visiting this region. The hotel has been decorated beautifully, and the rooms are very comfortable and well appointed. The food is really really good, with a great menu. Everyone of the staff were really friendly and greeted us by name during our stay. They went out of their way to be helpful and make sure we had everything we needed. The hotel is up on a hill, so its not for anyone wanting to be right in the middle of the action. But if this isn't important to you its a fantastic option.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Joann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
16 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
1.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
419 reviews
9.4 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
289 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
15.9 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Colonial Palms Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Palms Motor Inn

Address: 2 Hermitage Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#3 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £74 - £94 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Palms Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Colonial Palms Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach Best Western
Colonial Palms Motor Inn Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing