We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Something a bit different” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cha'mah - CLOSED

Cha'mah
Cuisines: Moroccan, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Herts, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Something a bit different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

We enjoyed dinner overlooking the new marina.
The restaurant is short walk from the main town and therefore nice and quiet.
Food is genuine Moroccan and we enjoyed both the lamb and seafood tagine. Made a very nice change.
Wine was good if a little pricey. Not byo.
Service was excellent.
Highly recommended.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SP1200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

116 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    35
    10
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Tannum Sands, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pisco Sour Excellent”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

We ate @ this restaurant on 3/1/14 and found it by chance glad we did,very nice food and decor.First up we asked if we could have a Pisco Sour and it was no problem for them to make it and it tasted nice and was just like it was in Peru.For starters we tried the crispy-spiced meat-nut rissoles with cucumber&mint yogurt. And the Goats cheese,and sundried tomato and coriander Bri... very nice. For the main event we had the Spiced Duck & Orange Tagine topped with sesame seeds and couscous and a Lamb & Apricot Tagine very nice also. After that we were both full as the meals are a good size. The next night we called back in for dessert and coffee and I had a Sheesha which was also very nice, this was no problem for the owner who was very nice and the staff were very good also. We will be going back to this place when next in Arlie Beach.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Anthony B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
833 reviews
329 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 354 helpful votes
“Exotic, romantic and great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

Cha'mah was a great find on a rainy day. Located at the Port of Airlie with an outlook over the marina, Cha'mah is tastefully decorated and you can eat inside or just metres from the water under the wide walkway under the Outrigger accommodation. They also have an adjacent upmarket wine bar.

"Moroccan inspired" they say - as was the low table seating on cushions. We chose Moroccan turkish bread dishes for our lunch. Mine was a tasteful hot lamb with mint, slightly spiced and with yogurt and salad, with a delicious spicy honey cashew and coconut garnish.

The wine list was mainly good quality wines, with plenty of choice.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank croftonMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADELAIDE
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“What a fabulous find..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

We came across Cha'mah quite by chance and knew we would be back for dinner as soon as we saw the beautiful setting, the fabulous décor and romantic ambience inside the restaurant as well as the cute metal tables and chairs outside and the long timber bar with metal chairs overlooking the Marina. We were not disappointed, the food was excellent, nothing microwaved with our selections. The rissole entrée was tasty and perfectly cooked with slightly crispy 'skin', the signature dish of lamb and apricot tagine was delicious, the lamb was melt in the mouth tender and had been gently simmered for many hours in a spicy rich gravy. The delicate, light fluffy cous cous was a perfect foil for the spicy sauce. A quick look at the dessert menu and it was impossible to resist the Moroccan Mess, funny name but divine dessert, ice cream, berries, crushed meringue, Turkish delight and rosewater, yum can still taste it! Delicious meal, excellent service, average prices, marina views and gorgeous décor what more could you ask for. We will be back.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantil3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vic
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Dont bother”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

To say we were disappointed is an under statement. After reading the reviews of excellent we were expecting just that. All the food is pre cooked and heated in the microwave, the give away is the fact it is so hot that you have to leave it sitting till it cools down. table and chairs are wrought iron with very little padding on the cushion's, comfort it is not. The inside does look inviting but its way to hot to dine inside and the music to loud, guess it has to be loud so the dinners out side can hear it. I thought about having desert and asked it is heated in the microwave? The reply being yes I politely decided against it, the reply was Well that is your loss? This I think was the owner or her daughter. My partner asked about the hookah, she ran through all the different tobaccos they had and when we chose she then informs us they had no charcoal so wasn't avail. Why tell us about all the different tobaccos? The couscous was bland and tasted like it came out of a packet, the rest of the food was nice but would not say great. Very very disappointed. A local brought some friends for a drink and they sat inside, 30 min later they still hadn't been served, he was extremely embarrassed at the service. Only two of us eating so they were not busy perhaps it was just a bad night. We don't eat microwaved food in our own house why pay for food that is no longer nutritious?

  • Visited December 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cha'mah also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing