We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“$13 meals a bargain! ”

Down Under Bar and Grill
Ranked #55 of 104 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Price range: US$6 - US$16
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours
Description: Down Under Bar & Grill is a vibrant Bar and Bistro in the Heart of Airlie Beach. Offering great value Breakfast & Dinner plus an unrivalled night-time atmosphere. Situated at the top end of the main street with views of the Whitsunday's from our Beer Garden, it doesn't matter if you require Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch or Dinner. We have you covered.
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

I would highly recommend this place, good spot for a drink and fantastic pub lunch. Don't go past it! $13 for a meal and a drink - and you can't go wrong!! The food was delicious!

Thank Megan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimLangford, Manager at Down Under Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Hello Megan,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a positive review.
We are glad you loved the meal deal and saw it as good value.

We've been working hard recently to really up the quality of the meals going out to surpass all expectations.

Hope to see you at the DUB again!!

Cheers,

Tim Langford
Bar Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (148)
There are newer reviews for Down Under Bar and Grill
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 94 of 148 reviews

Reviewed 7 June 2014

Went out state of origin night and great food was cheap for what u got, the game was on the big screen the beer was cold what more could u wat!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Witchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimLangford, Manager at Down Under Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2014

Hey There!!

Glad you enjoyed the atmosphere for State of Origin!!

We have the same deals and set up for the next two games!!

NSW or the Maroons?

Cheers,

Tim Langford
Bar Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Went there for coffee with my family early in the morning. And the girl working didn't seem to care or want to be there.. Once we could finally order out coffees which also seemed difficult.. We could not understand her we felt very unwelcome and as if she couldn't care less about us getting our coffees while they where still warm.. Very disappointed :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrMge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimLangford, Manager at Down Under Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 June 2014

Hello There,

Firstly like like to apologise to the way one of our staff members has made you feel at our establishment.

Our staff are a very bubbly and fun bunch and I can assure you this would of been very out of character.

I have scheduled a meeting with my morning staff to ensure that our high standards in customer service are consistently maintained.

I hope you can return to see our staffa re a friendly and helpful bunch.

Cheers,

Tim Langford
Bar manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

If you are looking for inexpensive greasy food with a limited amount of flavour then this is the place for you. Have very low priced beer as well. Found the service quite slow however.

Thank Frank2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimLangford, Manager at Down Under Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hello Frank2424,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some quick feedback.

Our $13 Meal Deal is definitely aimed at tourists on the move looking for a feed.
Typically we receive positive feedback about the speed of service. Some times due to the high volume of food we put out, backlogs can occur.
The greasy side of your comment concerns me however, I will be running quality checks to ensure the meals are being sent out to our expected standards.

I'm also glad you liked the pricing of our beer ;).

Cheers,

Tim Langford
Bar Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We took my 85 year old mother to this place. We take her most times we eat out but had never been to this place which you can see as you drive past. Always full of patrons.

Very noisy on arriving and only seating was on a Form for multiple people. Hard to get your leg over.

Yes, meal was cheap and small but enough. You get what you pay for.

I would never go back and definitely would not take an elderly person.

However my husband has since been back (2014) with his group of male associates and he raved about the place.......good value and a drink to go with it.

Only for the young. The town caters to the travelling backpacker industry very well but there are other Silver Service restaurants for the more discerning public.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimLangford, Manager at Down Under Bar and Grill, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Hello Helen E,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some feedback.

As a bar that does cater for a high number of tourists and large parties our furniture does reflect this.
We do have other furniture in the property however that is more suited for smaller more personal groups.

Our food offering is a meal deal and as such is designed for those on a budget. However we do offer plenty of upgrades to make the meals more premium. Not many place would you get a plateful of food for $13. Let alone $13 and with a Complementary Drink.

I'm glad to hear that your husband returned and had a fun time.
It is another facet of our operation that after dinner, we "crank"it up. As a result a lot of people leave having fun.

Cheers,

Tim Langford
Bar Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Down Under Bar and Grill also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Down Under Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing