We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ocean View, Close to town, but private and quiet.”
Review of Coral Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Sea Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 May 2008

The Coral Sea Resort is ideally located right on the ocean. The resort is approximate a 5 minute walk into the central area of town. The best part of the walk is that you don't need to cross a single street, its entirely along the ocean-side.

Check-in was smooth and the Front Desk staff get a one of the Bell staff to haul your luggage to your room. The room we booked was an Ocean view Suite. The room has a outdoor tub on the patio, and a hammock. The room is large with a sitting area (with lounge chair and sofa/sofabed). The bathroom is in proportion to the room size and there are large doors that open completely to the patio. So you can be in the bathroom and have to sea breezes coming in. Which is very pleasant.

The unit had a small kitchenette, with a microwave and a 1/2 sized fridge, which is good enough to keep your drinks cold.

The hotel doesn't have much for grounds as it is squeezed between the road and the ocean and is perched on a rock cliff. In order to get to the beach you need to walk down the aforementioned path to the town centre.

There is guest laundry services, but the machines are coin operated.

Internet access is in the rooms, but you will have to pay for this. This is a bit disappointing considering the cost of the room, this should be provided complimentary.

The resort was fairly busy, but we didn't hear any other guests once in our room.

Overall the room was clean, and well maintained. Staff were friendly and the location of the resort was close enough to town that it was an easy walk, but far enough away as to be private and quiet.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Randy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,149)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,011 - 1,017 of 1,149 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2008

We arrived at the Coral Sea Resort for our 1 night stay after returning to Airlie Beach from a 4-day sailboat cruise through the Whitsunday Islands.

After spending 4 days on a sailboat with a tiny bedroom we were SO happy to see our room and the grounds at the Coral Sea Resort. The pool area and lounge chairs offer amazing views of Airlie Beach bay. We spent a few hours in the afternoon catching some rays in the lounge chairs which was wonderful.

They have a poolside (open-air) restaurant which had a great breakfast and lunch but we felt disappointed in the dinner. The dinner was fairly expensive and just wasn't up to par with the tastiness of the breakfast and lunch served there.

There is a dock at the resort with different watersports activities like jet ski rentals and boat rides. We were only there for a short time so we didn't get to check that out but it seemed pretty busy and popular.

Our room was fairly large and clean. The bathroom was nice as well, plenty of water pressure in the shower... just watch out for the small step up to the bathroom. We nearly tripped on this like 5 times. haha

In summary I would definitely recommend this resort to anyone, especially those who like to lay by the pool and relax like us! I included two photos I took of the pool area -- they both look like advertisements you'd see on their website. That's how beautiful it was there. I swear I took both pictures myself! ;-)

  • Stayed: April 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KWMSeattle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2008

We have just returned home from our stay at Coral Sea Resort.
The room was superb and the service was excellent. The absolute water frontage view was magnificent and well worth the money paid.
Transport to and from activities were well organised. Staff were always pleasant and willing to please.
The Clipper Restaurant served beautiful meals and the Hawaiian Fire Show was very entertaining.
After catching a large bream on a fishing day out, the chef did a wonderful job in the preparation and cooking of our fish and the meal was truly delicious.
Well done Coral Sea Resort. A great memorable holiday and we will recommend staying here to anyone.

Stayed: April 2008
3  Thank farone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

Arriving in Airlie Beach by car, we checked out a number of accommodations, several up some rather steep hillsides, and settled on the Coral Sea Resort as probably the nicest hotel in town. It appeared also to be the only property located directly at the water's edge on a headland with most rooms and the waterfront garden, pool area and restaurant offering sweeping views over the bay out toward Hamilton and Hyman Islands. Our generously sized and pleasingly furnished bayview suite left little to be desired and contained a comfortable queen size bed, couch seating group with table, desk with modem PC connection, a kitchenette with microwave oven, toaster, a stocked fridge, tea/coffee maker, and ample supplies, making in-room breakfast preparation an option. A large, modern bath with spa tub and a stall shower and a big balcony rounded out the suite. Onsite parking is in a ground level garage. The Airlie Beach shops and restaurant strip is but a 5 minute walk along the water front away. The good sized pool and garden area with ample lounge chairs and shade spending palm trees invited for a cooling swim. The garden appeared to be a locally favored wedding spot, as several were conducted during our stay. All in all, even though the walk-in room rate appeared high for what is offered, we enjoyed and extended our stay. Should we come to Airlie in the future, we will certainly stay at the Coral Sea again.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank silvergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2008

We have just returned from having our wedding at Coral Sea Resort and had an excellent time. The rooms, pool, restaurant service, wedding co ordinator and views totally exceeded our expectations. I highly recommend staying here. We will definately be back!!.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank carlygl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2008

After reading the reviews of this hotel, I was a little dubious about it - but we decided to press on and stay there.

The hotel is in a pretty good spot, with only a five minute stroll into the centre of Airlie Beach.

The room (Coral Sea Suite) was very nice and clean, with great views across the water, a hammock and jacuzzi on the balcony. However - it would've been nicer to have two hammocks maybe? Despite previous reviews - there were no ants or other infestations, however - we did have a few lizards scampering around the room and balcony.

The stuff included in the mini-bar is quite expensive, along with the other foodstuffs in the room.

The pool area was pretty good, with lots of available loungers and chairs. A good touch was a shaded area in the pool to stop kids from burning. The small kid's pool (I presume it was a kid's pool) was very dirty and the main pool didn't look especially clean, but nothing really to grumble about.

The service at the bar / restaurant was actualy really good, despite previous reviews. The beer wasn't too bad ($5.50 a bottle) and the food was fresh and quickly served.

Would I come back? Definately! I came with my mate and the hotel seemed more for couples, so I intend to come with my fiancee next time - but definately most recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank StephenJL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2008

My boyfriend and I stayed at this hotel over NYE. The hotel had a cute little party for guests of the hotel, which was very nice. However, I would not recommend staying at this hotel nor would I recommend staying on Airlie Beach. There is nothing to do on Airlie Beach and the islands of the Whitsunday's are much more beautiful. The hotel was extremely over priced for a very basic room. The view from the room was the best part. The room reminded me of a Mexican all inclusive resort, yet it was not as nice. The food at the restaurant was decent however the service was horrible. The wait staff were very rude. The pool at the hotel is very nice yet there is not much shade, which is need in the summer. I would not recommend staying at this hotel, I would recommend staying on daydream island or Hamilton Island instead.

  • Stayed: January 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CanadianGirl_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
412 reviews
10.3 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
280 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,411 reviews
16.7 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.9 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Resort

Address: 25 Oceanview Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £116 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the absolute ocean front and just a short stroll via seaside boardwalk to the enchanting Airlie Beach resort village; with its relaxed atmosphere and collection of eclectic shops and cafes; lies the Coral Sea Resort. A stroll in the opposite direction crossing a separate boardwalk with the sea below is Abel Point Marina, your direct access to the Whitsunday Islands and the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Resort Hotel
Coral Resort Sea
Coral Sea Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing