We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Didn't want to leave!”
Review of Coral Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Coral Sea Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2013

I cannot understand the negative reviews from some of the posts. These people must be really hard to please. I stayed at the Resort for a 2-day conference and whilst I did not have the luxury of a balcony, I did have a fabulous view from my window out onto the lawn and beyond to the ocean. There is nowhere in the world that can match the sheer colour of that water! The restaurant had excellent service and my meal was to die for. Have the pork - you won't be sorry. The location of the restaurant cannot be beaten - right on the waterfront. The bed made for a really good night's sleep and I noticed how quiet the room was which is unusual. The location is great with only a short walk into Airlie or to the Lagoon. I am not sure wht you would want to go to the lagoon however as the resort has its own beautiful pool with ocean views also. All in all I could not fault my stay.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you, we also find it a very interesting conundrum. We are sincerely pleased you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your comments.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

789 - 795 of 1,147 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

Had a two night stay here. The room was very nice and had great views over the ocean. Tropical breakfast in the ocean view restaurant offered a good buffet selection. Short stroll along the boardwalk into the centre of Airlie Beach

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralsearesort, Guest Relations Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you we are please you enjoyed Airlie Beach.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Wow. You can travel the world but there is no prettier place than Airlie. We stayed in one of the coral sea spa suites and you couldn't fault it. Lying on your hammock, soaking in the spa all in your own privacy looking at the magnificent view. The food was great had room service the first night and ate in the restaurant the second night. The service was good and the pitchers of Sangria the best I've had. If you are looking for a spot to reconnect with that special person this is the perfect spot!!!

Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2013

We had a 12 day stay on our honeymoon from Sydney and we will never return, Staff are rude, bar staff are not qualified,Management only look after the needs of corporate and wedding functions not regular guests,old menus in rooms,room service from Clippers is sub standard,service by bar staff at pool is not existant. Once you make a guest complaint about your stay you will get a false smile and an insincere good morning. Most staff are backpackers who dont care and you can forget about asking to speak to the Manager he is too busy drinking and socialising to worry about paying customers. Overall it was a disgrace for what we paid ! We may seem disgruntaled however even a Local resident we spoke with said Airlie Beach is over priced,over run by dirty backpackers and there is no customer care or service in this sea side town.Airlie Beach is B grade in every respect so dont expect your holiday destination to be the paradise you wished for. Daniel & Karen - Sydney 25 April 2013

Room Tip: Dont recommend you stay here for the price, look at other hotels that are rated the same 4.5 star .c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Misskazie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you, it is an interesting observation compared to many others before yours and after. I am aware that the small problem with the wrong room service menu in your room was very upsetting for you, and also aware that my staff fixed this problem immediately. I think it was a bigger problem though when you were advised that you could not bring your own drinks into our licensed pool area. This area is fully licensed and the staff need to be able to properly manage their responsibilities under the licensing regulations. We also have a dress code in our restaurant in the evening and singlets are not considered acceptable.
The staff at the hotel are not Dirty backpackers as you discribe them and Airlie beach is not full of dirty backpackers at all, rather it is a very cosmopolitan and vibrant village where you will find a very ecletic exciting mix of people from all parts of the world. If you take the time you will have many interesting conversations and expand your horizons and possibly meet some truly outstanding people.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Recently returned after three nights at the coral sea resort, wonderful staying in a coral sea spa suite and the restaurant ranks as one of the finest. The food, service, and ambiance, really needs to be experienced to appreciate. One advantage is that you can forget your car and simply walk everywhere in Airlie and not have any hills to climb.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Umberto545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We stayed 8 nights in a Coral Sea spa suite (223) and even though it rained for 6 days couldn't fault the experience.
There is no other accommodation in Airlie Beach situated so close to the waters edge where you could literally fish off the balcony.
A big thanks to Sam and staff for arranging my wife's 50th birthday celebration with our Airlie friends, everyone enjoyed the canapés and the evening.
Unfortunately our stay finished all too quickly, but we will return again next year. Thanks to Greg and all his staff.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RonLorri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2013

Thank you Ron and Lori great to see you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We had an urgent need for accommodation after our boat trip was cancelled, we were so pleased that the Coral Sea could fit us in at such last minute. The stay was not cheap by any stretch, but after a traumatic day on a sinking catamaran we felt that we needed a bit of lux!! We booked a Coral Sea jacuzzi suite - which was AMAZING!!

A private jacuzzi on a private balcony just feet from the crashing waves and unobscured ocean views was an absolute dream. The room was large and spacious and finished to a lovely standard. The high quality of the finishing could be felt throughout.

The bed was massive and so so comfortable that I wanted to take it home!

The food at the restaurant was nice, tasty and plentiful. The staff were a little frosty - not rude as such but certainly short and to the point - perhaps as if they didn't want to be there, but we didn't let that bother us.

The hotel is perfectly located between airlie centre and able point marina, a 5 min stroll from each. Our only gripe was that wifi wasn't available in the rooms - with more people using tablet devices the hotel will have to change the current Ethernet option soon.

We would certainly return to the Coral Sea, in fact we didn't want to leave and will be jealous of anyone staying in suite 206!! :)

Room Tip: A coral sea suite with balcony jacuzzi is what dreams are made of!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
411 reviews
10.3 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 1 in Long Island
279 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,409 reviews
16.7 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
0.9 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Resort

Address: 25 Oceanview Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £116 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the absolute ocean front and just a short stroll via seaside boardwalk to the enchanting Airlie Beach resort village; with its relaxed atmosphere and collection of eclectic shops and cafes; lies the Coral Sea Resort. A stroll in the opposite direction crossing a separate boardwalk with the sea below is Abel Point Marina, your direct access to the Whitsunday Islands and the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Resort Hotel
Coral Resort Sea
Coral Sea Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing