We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coral Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coral Sea Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Amazing Location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2013

Sitting out on a point overlooking the ocean, you could not ask for a better view and the resort offers a number of spots to relax and enjoy the view.
We were upgraded to a spa suite with ocean view from our booked ocean view room. the suite is slightly older in styling, but clean and comfortable.
We had an included buffet which was basic, processed white or wholemeal bread, cereals, fruits and bad coffee. I spluged and purchased barista coffee.
The restaurant had some really good meals on offer and they also (for a fee) cooked the crabs we had caught during the day. The sticky date pudding was to die for.
All the staff were friendly and attempted to meet all and any request.
The resort is also an easy stroll along the boardwalk to the main street of airlie in one direction and a 25 minute stroll along the water front past the marina, Shingley Beach and finally Canonvale. Great Location.
Downside.
When we checked in we were informed that the lift was out of order and I had to ask for someone to bring our bags to our room after we were pointed in the direction of the stairs. Only one flight up and except for moving luggage, we would never use the lift. I also had to ask on day 3 for clean sheets as my bed was made not changed even after I called to check it would be done. I would have killed for a fluffy pillow. The 4 on offer in our room were reasonably well used.
On our last night, guests moved into the room above us and we could clearly hear them moving about during the night.
I would definately stay again, but I would make sure they found me better pillows.
PS. A makeup mirror would be a nice touch as well.

Room Tip: Any ocean view is spectacular. The spa suite is down the side and away from the pool and associated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tuttsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    325
    84
    34
    34
See reviews for
190
622
38
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (277)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
78 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2013

We were recommended to this resort by a friend and got a special deal on price, although not cheap still. We were pleased that we had chosen this one though for its closeness to the beach and everything else. Others were on the hill and as we didn't have transport this would have been more of a problem.
Rooms were a little dated but still large and well decorated. Ours came with a balcony and sea view which was magnificent. We had great weather the whole time.
There is a swimming pool which was good and we walked on the jetty at night. A lot of young people but mostly people were off site for the day.
We tried the restaurant which was pleasant but i've had better food. Breakfast was poor with canned fruit and little choice and if you weren't down early there was little left as it wasn't replenished. We had an evening meal using the voucher we got with the room and, again I've had better. however, the waiting staff were particularly nice and friendly and, as it was my birthday they had arranged for my dessert to come on a bit plate with candles and sparklers and they all sang happy birthday. Full marks!
First impressions count and the guy who booked us in on arrival could have been more welcoming. In fact we found a lot of the reception staff had little social skills. Made up for with other staff.
Close enough to walk into town, to go to the great lagoon next door (especially if you have young kids) and to walk to the bus stop.

Room Tip: Pay a little extra to get ones with a balcony overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paullaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

I cannot understand the negative reviews from some of the posts. These people must be really hard to please. I stayed at the Resort for a 2-day conference and whilst I did not have the luxury of a balcony, I did have a fabulous view from my window out onto the lawn and beyond to the ocean. There is nowhere in the world that can match the sheer colour of that water! The restaurant had excellent service and my meal was to die for. Have the pork - you won't be sorry. The location of the restaurant cannot be beaten - right on the waterfront. The bed made for a really good night's sleep and I noticed how quiet the room was which is unusual. The location is great with only a short walk into Airlie or to the Lagoon. I am not sure wht you would want to go to the lagoon however as the resort has its own beautiful pool with ocean views also. All in all I could not fault my stay.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you, we also find it a very interesting conundrum. We are sincerely pleased you enjoyed your stay, and thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013

Had a two night stay here. The room was very nice and had great views over the ocean. Tropical breakfast in the ocean view restaurant offered a good buffet selection. Short stroll along the boardwalk into the centre of Airlie Beach

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MsRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralsearesort, Guest Relations Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you we are please you enjoyed Airlie Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

Wow. You can travel the world but there is no prettier place than Airlie. We stayed in one of the coral sea spa suites and you couldn't fault it. Lying on your hammock, soaking in the spa all in your own privacy looking at the magnificent view. The food was great had room service the first night and ate in the restaurant the second night. The service was good and the pitchers of Sangria the best I've had. If you are looking for a spot to reconnect with that special person this is the perfect spot!!!

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Penny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2013

We had a 12 day stay on our honeymoon from Sydney and we will never return, Staff are rude, bar staff are not qualified,Management only look after the needs of corporate and wedding functions not regular guests,old menus in rooms,room service from Clippers is sub standard,service by bar staff at pool is not existant. Once you make a guest complaint about your stay you will get a false smile and an insincere good morning. Most staff are backpackers who dont care and you can forget about asking to speak to the Manager he is too busy drinking and socialising to worry about paying customers. Overall it was a disgrace for what we paid ! We may seem disgruntaled however even a Local resident we spoke with said Airlie Beach is over priced,over run by dirty backpackers and there is no customer care or service in this sea side town.Airlie Beach is B grade in every respect so dont expect your holiday destination to be the paradise you wished for. Daniel & Karen - Sydney 25 April 2013

Room Tip: Dont recommend you stay here for the price, look at other hotels that are rated the same 4.5 star .c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you, it is an interesting observation compared to many others before yours and after. I am aware that the small problem with the wrong room service menu in your room was very upsetting for you, and also aware that my staff fixed this problem immediately. I think it was a bigger problem though when you were advised that you could not bring your own drinks into our licensed pool area. This area is fully licensed and the staff need to be able to properly manage their responsibilities under the licensing regulations. We also have a dress code in our restaurant in the evening and singlets are not considered acceptable.
The staff at the hotel are not Dirty backpackers as you discribe them and Airlie beach is not full of dirty backpackers at all, rather it is a very cosmopolitan and vibrant village where you will find a very ecletic exciting mix of people from all parts of the world. If you take the time you will have many interesting conversations and expand your horizons and possibly meet some truly outstanding people.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2013

Recently returned after three nights at the coral sea resort, wonderful staying in a coral sea spa suite and the restaurant ranks as one of the finest. The food, service, and ambiance, really needs to be experienced to appreciate. One advantage is that you can forget your car and simply walk everywhere in Airlie and not have any hills to climb.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Umberto545
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, 1 May 2013
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 387 reviews
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 234 reviews
16.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,237 reviews
16.6 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Resort

Property: Coral Sea Resort
Address: 25 Oceanview Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the absolute ocean front and just a short stroll via seaside boardwalk to the enchanting Airlie Beach resort village; with its relaxed atmosphere and collection of eclectic shops and cafes; lies the Coral Sea Resort. A stroll in the opposite direction crossing a separate boardwalk with the sea below is Abel Point Marina, your direct access to the Whitsunday Islands and the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com and TravelUp so you can book your Coral Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Resort Hotel
Coral Resort Sea
Coral Sea Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing