We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a 4.5 star hotel”
Review of Coral Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coral Sea Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Mackay
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Not a 4.5 star hotel”
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

I am at the moment on my 2 bedroom apartment and I can not be more disappointed. This apartment is a shoebox with only one small bathroom, what upset the
Must as we are 5 people and a baby, this situation makes impossible to get ready fast as you need to do a conga line to take a shower or to pee. Not without mention that there is no space for a baby-tub so you will have to shower him or use the sink. We do have a window with an ocean view but for the rest we have just walls. But it is very small view because of the trees.
This building doesn't have a lift which is very hard to go in and out with the baby pram.
This is a very basic accommodation I will not come back here because there is no value for your money. You will be better off looking for apartments or rooms in boathraven, blue horizon or even peppers. In the past we stayed at blue horizon the difference in the price was not to big but the difference in the apartments is gigantic.
I also walk in yesterday in one the double rooms and it is also small and just with a 3 star look.
The restaurant is ok, nothing too special but it is a nice setting and the decoration makes it very Cousy.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank jessijulais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, 4 November 2013
Thank you for your response. We have 15 different apartments most of them do have two bathrooms and sensational views. see the website for views from one of our 4 bedroom penthouse apartments. Gardenview apartments are smaller and less expensive.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,109 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    611
    343
    85
    35
    35
See reviews for
204
653
38
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

We recently stayed for 3 nights in a Bay View Spa Suite and were so pleased we did! The room was spacious and light and very welcoming. Our view certainly had the wow factor. The spa bath has slatted blinds so you can relax in the bubbles whilst gazing out over the bay. A tropical breakfast was included in our rate and was plentiful with a choice of cereals, continental style meats and cheeses, breads, fruit and muffins. We always left very satisfied and the staff were friendly at all times. The restaurant has equally fantastic views out over the bay and is the perfect place to start the day.
Overall, the hotel was very clean and well maintained. Tthe pool man was there every morning of our stay. Front desk staff always polite, cheerful and helpful. We were sorry to leave and would thoroughly recommend this hotel when visiting the Whitsundays.

Room Tip: I would highly recommend the Bay View Rooms and Suites. Didn't see a Garden room, but don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

The views from our balcony were 5 star. The decor in the room is nautical but very modern. We stayed in a bay view spa suite and it was a good choice for us. The spa is only big enough for 1 but the room itself is very big. It has a separate sitting area and a big balcony. The location if great. Just a few minutes walk to the Main Street of Airlie beach. There was plenty of parking and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Kate C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

Far exceeded our expectations. The ground floor room was on the edge of the sea with a spa on the balcony and 180 degree ocean views. We enjoyed the well stocked mini bar whilst relaxing in the spa and listening to our music from the docking station supplied. Breakfast the following morning met our requirements of a continental fare and the optional espresso (rather than cona) coffee was excellent. Great range of fresh fruit and pastries.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for the upgrade to the ocean front rooms well worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GENERAL_MANAGER_DB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

We did not stay at this hotel, however on a recent trip to the Whitsundays we took our entire family to breakfast in the beautiful open air restaurant overlooking the pool & gardens. It is simply divine!!

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nth Qld
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

After reading reviews on here was very sceptical about this place until I arrived.
We arrived early but this was not a issue our room was ready and the lady at the front counter advised us we had a free upgrade from Garden View Room to the Ocean View room was very happy with front counter service.
We then checked into to our room and was also not disappointed the room was clean and large lots of cupboard space and large wardrobe for our needs .Open the door to our own balcony that was overlooking the ocean and the pool area what a great view it was many boats passing by many new and many old was a great to watch The convenience must not be missed here once we parked our car we walked down along the boardwalk to the town centre for lunch such a convenience at a short distance not haven to worry about trying to find a car space in town .We headed back to the room to find a wedding party assembling and this was not a issue for us as it was away from main structure area and was in the gardens it made for a great place for a marriage I wish the new married couple a long and peaceful marriage. In the afternoon we decided head along the boardwalk in the opposite direction towards the mariner was a great easy walk very relaxing.
Would I stay at Coral Sea Resort again yes the accommodation was great the location was great the staff are great I had no issues at all Thank you for a great Resort hope to see you again soon
We also hade the complimentary continental breakfast many choices and great view while having breakfast

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nqgrunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, 21 October 2013
Thank you I appreciate your honest review. We also find many of the reviews interesting. It is a shame that Trip advisor appears to be used quite often as a threat to hoteliers that will not accept bad behaviour .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

The rooms and beds are excellent and comfortable here and the staff are very helpful! The food is very good (although very expensive - as are the drinks) and the swimming pool is fantastic looking out into the ocean but we have stayed here twice now and there are a few issues.

Firstly, if there is a wedding happening you are knackered ! The lawn area is closed off and everyone has to move around. They also take over the restaurant the night before and at breakfast. Obviously being in high spirits they can be a bit noisy too (but maybe that can be forgiven).

Secondly, at the end of the jetty is a water sports centre. I don't know if this is owned by the hotel or not but it is used for tours around the Whitsundays and trips, by hundreds and hundreds of people (mainly youths). Access to it is only via going through the hotel. As a result, in the morning there an army of mini buses bringing people to the hotel all wondering around and no of which are actually staying there. This really needs sorting out and there should be an alternative way to this water sports centre than through the hotel.

I really wanted to give it four stars because the staff, location and rooms are really good Butkus can't... if these two issues were somehow addressed it would definitely be 4 or 5 stars.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonnaandRich2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, 17 October 2013
Dear Donna, thank you for your comments, which I appreciate however I would also appreciate if you used less exaggeration of the truth. There is ample room around the hotel pool when we have a wedding. The Ocean Rafting tour which departs the hotel each morning does not have hundreds and hundreds of people as you have stated. Some days the capacity may be reached especially during the school holidays and this 98 people. They arrive at various times picked from their accommodation in 4 little minibuses at the hotel between 8.30 am and 10.00 assemble on the jetty and depart the hotel at 10.00am. They do not use the hotel facilities at all and we believe this all adds colour and life to the area for short time each day. The tour an exciting day out to Whitehaven beach is also available for hotel guests to attend
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#6 of 10 in Airlie Beach
404 reviews
10.3 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,371 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
358 reviews
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Resort

Property: Coral Sea Resort
Address: 25 Oceanview Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the absolute ocean front and just a short stroll via seaside boardwalk to the enchanting Airlie Beach resort village; with its relaxed atmosphere and collection of eclectic shops and cafes; lies the Coral Sea Resort. A stroll in the opposite direction crossing a separate boardwalk with the sea below is Abel Point Marina, your direct access to the Whitsunday Islands and the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Resort Hotel
Coral Resort Sea
Coral Sea Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing