We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“faultless”
Review of Coral Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Coral Sea Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“faultless”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying at the coral sea resort following a flight cancellation due to poor weather . Directions to the resort are easy to follow and check in was fast and efficient . My room had amazing views across Shute harbour and was well appointed with modern furnishings and spotlessly clean as you would expect from a high quality resort . My meal in the restaurant was very well prepared and enjoyable with high level service from the reception staff . Looking forward to returning again in the future

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eagles97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,085 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    335
    85
    35
    34
See reviews for
197
639
38
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

After reading some of the bad reviews on here about this hotel and after staying there I'm questioning if the people even stayed at the coral sea resort!! I can't say anything but positive things. My husband and I stayed here for 5 nights and we booked a coral sea spa suite. I must encourage everyone reading this to book that suite but ask for room 223...it is the best room for views and I mean you literally are staring at the ocean it's quite breath taking!! check in was quick and the man at reception was friendly my whole experience with the people in reception was great they were all friendly and would help me with anything I needed. This kind of service was met around the entire resort which was fantastic we even had a chat with our housekeepers! The restaurant in the resort is a must try the 220g beef fillet I ate it about three times it was unbelievable. The must try dessert is the choc tart what it describes on the menu to what comes on the plate will amaze you! The chicken was also delicious downside is that the chef won't come live with me:) there is undercover parking and a little shop in reception that had some beautiful kaftans. They do take away coffee that tastes amazing which was good it saved us a trip into town each morning and the iced coffee was the best I've had while travelling. The hotel is so close to the main town there is a beautiful boardwalk you can take that goes all the way into town and only takes around 7 minutes to get there as we were walking slow. The marina is about a two minute walk along another boardwalk. Although we went there at the worst time - jelly fish season and cyclone season we couldn't have been more happy. You can rent jet skiis off the jetty which is pretty cool and although the weather didn't really permit us to do much of what we planned I'm glad because I couldn't drag myself away from the view in our room! We love this resort we loved the service the food the room everything. I have been to Cabo San Lucas and have to say coral sea resort is the same experience as staying in Mexico so thank god I now only have to travel to Queensland to experience that now! Thanks again for everything coral sea resort we will be back!!!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bella19864
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trutnov, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Coral Sea Resort is in a perfect location a little bit away from the main street (which was a bit noisy at night) less than 10 minutes walk, and even closer to the marina, from where we went on a snorkelling trip. We had a penthouse suite which was fantastic, very clean, plenty of room and a large balcony. We didn't eat at the restaurant other than breakfast but it was a great place to sit and have a drink in the afternoon and evening. The staff were great, especially Tenille who was very helpful.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brydozcz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Finchley, North London, England
Level Contributor
168 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

We were only meant to spend a night in this hotel but ended up with four nights as an impending cyclone meant our cruise was cancelled.
We were upgraded to an ocean view room which was spacious with two large beds. It had a lovely view which would have been even lovelier if the skies had been blue and not grey with wind and rain.
The pool was a good size and there were plenty of chairs...However we didn't get much chance to use them. There were very comfortable chairs undercover...useful in the weather we experienced.
The breakfast was self service and fine...you had to pay extra to upgrade to hot breakfast which we knew about and didn't want.
The gym needed updating...especially the few weights which were iron bars which clearly were showing their age.
The Internet was free but took the form of a code which had to be collected at reception and lasted an hour, although eventually being stuck inside we were given 24 hour ones whenever we needed them.
It was not the fastest Internet I've used and kept cutting off.
The staff were helpful, friendly, full of advice at a time when the marina was shut down and all water based activities were closed. Sean at the front desk, plus other day staff at front desk and the two women who ran the shop and tour desk were very helpful.
We also had a maintenance issue and that was solved quickly on the worst weather day and as there was a mess in the bathroom from it , housekeeping came to clean immediately .
It was not a place we had wanted to be for four nights of our 19 night trip to Australia but that wasn't the hotels fault.
Would I recommend the hotel? Yes I would.It was clean, comfortable , had good helpful staff but a couple of things like the gym and Internet could do with updating.
Im sure it must have a completely different look about it if the sun is shining.Unfortunately we didn't see that side of it.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank debbiebreslaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Travelling from Perth via Brisbane to Proserpine our destination was the Coral Sea Resort at Airlie Beach. We had booked a hire car on arrival and drove to the Coral Sea Resort and instantly realised that the main street of Airlie Beach and Able point was within easy walking distance. We off hired the car the same day and walked to restaurants, shops, travel agents and the ferry to Hamilton Island.
The staff at the Coral Sea Resort were very pleasant and helpful on our arrival at 11.00 am, although the normal check in is around 2.00pm the reception staff had our room prepared an hour earlier. During this time we booked our trip to the Barrier Reef and Hamilton Island from the resident travel agent in a small shop in the Resort. The resort has a bar and Restaurant overlooking the sea, it is a wonderful place to relax and recharge the batteries and view passing ferries and yachts. The Ocean Rafting tour departs and arrives from the Resort jetty. Although I did not have time to use the Gymnasium, I did see signage showing the direction. Massage staff were also on hand.

Our room overlooked the pool and sea, it had its own reverse cycle air conditioner and a ceiling fan. There were plenty of power points to charge things and the shower was plenty strong enough. Tours and the local bus picked up and dropped off at the Resort.
Our itinerary included a 3 day catamaran cruise of the Whitsundays and a one night stay at the Coral Sea Resort on our return. The reception staff were very accommodating and held our bags in secure storage for the time we were away. On our return we re-checked in and staff delivered our bags to the room. We thoroughly enjoyed the Coral Sea Resort at Airlie Beach and look forward to staying there again.
Only one negative, the Resort passed on the bank charge of 1.5% ($4.41) for using any credit card. According the resort T&C this can be avoided by using eftpos or cash.
We noticed this trend a lot at Airlie Beach and the Gold Coast, surcharges varied.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buzz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

A very nice and exclusive hotel. We had a lovely room with sea view. Bathroom with bobble bath and separate shower. Breakfast was very good. A nice pool area with a friendly staff who offered us cold water several times during the time we spent by the pool.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Gro S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

We stayed in a Coral Sea Spa Suite. And we loved EVERYTHING about it. Amazing view. Private hot tub (big enough for two people) on the veranda. Stylish yet fun nautical décor. Being able to open the bi-fold doors and enjoy an alfresco shower in the bathroom was also great. And best of all the room had one of the most comfortable beds we have EVER slept in! So comfortable that we took a photo of the tag so we can try and source one now that we're home! We ate downstairs at Clippers Restaurant a few times and always had a good experience. Great food, great ambience by the pool. Nice cocktails. Tasty pancakes at breakfast. Dessert platter was a hit. Definitely book the gazebo for a private dinner if you can - it was a great experience, and very pretty with all the fairy lights. Friendly staff. We enjoyed being able to say hello to the resort cat too because it reminded us of our pets at home. Easy walk to Airlie Beach main strip. Would stay here again and would highly recommend it to others.

Room Tip: Couples should definitely consider upgrading to one of the fabulous spa suites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sendmail2linda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, 6 March 2014
Thank you we are all very pleased you enjoyed our hospitality. The King bed is manufactured here in Australia by AH Beard. I am able to have one exactly like it delivered to you door. Please email me directly for pricing and further details required re delivery.
Regards Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
16.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
2,318 reviews
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
249 reviews
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
447 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Resort

Property: Coral Sea Resort
Address: 25 Oceanview Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the absolute ocean front and just a short stroll via seaside boardwalk to the enchanting Airlie Beach resort village; with its relaxed atmosphere and collection of eclectic shops and cafes; lies the Coral Sea Resort. A stroll in the opposite direction crossing a separate boardwalk with the sea below is Abel Point Marina, your direct access to the Whitsunday Islands and the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LateRooms, Priceline, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Coral Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Resort Hotel
Coral Resort Sea
Coral Sea Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing