We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location - Unfortunate Problem”
Review of Coral Sea Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Coral Sea Resort
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Bundaberg, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Location - Unfortunate Problem”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Great location as you can see from pictures. My partner and I arrived for a wedding in April. Ordered room service, the stand out dish was the wedges!!! Highly recommend.

My problem was the air-conditioner was broken. Called reception numerous times to get it fixed. It would blow air, not cold at all. Staff would tell us that it would eventually get cooler. With temps well above 35*C it was quite unbearable. Was not offered a change of room or discount as compensation to having to sleep in our own sweat. If I hadn't had computer related works that needed to be doing, I would've probably just marinated in alcohol and enjoyed the heat outside.

Paid over $200 per night for the place, just disappoint that there wasn't a nice cold room to stay in.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John_Choclut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,074 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    588
    333
    84
    35
    34
See reviews for
194
632
38
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
111 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

As usual, i researched Tripadvisor and other travel websites looking for the ideal place to stay in Airlie Beach. I finally chose the Coral Sea Resort and am so glad we did!

We arrived in Airlie Beach after spending about 16 hours of travel (including connections) and was not expecting very much. "Be prepared for a motel" is what I told my family. What a delight it was to arrive at the Coral Sea Resort. The furnishings were very well appointed - nice seaside colors, nice sized rooms and a great view of the ocean and pool.

We also loved the location. Turn right when you leave the hotel and you are about 5 minutes from Abel Point marina, which was great for us as that was where we would set off on a 2 day 2 night catamaran sail in the Whitsundays. Turn left and you head into the main Airlie Beach town, where restaurants, souvenir shops and a supermarket coexists.

Would definitely return to the Coral Sea if we ever make it back to Airlie Beach, and would definitely recommend that you do too!

Room Tip: Pay for ocean views - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JellyBug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Rated the best hotel in Airlie Beach. Stayed in the penthouse had everything needed for the weekend.Close to town, perfect sea views over looking the pool. I have stayed here quite a few times and it never disappoints. Have tried other hotels but Coral Sea resort will never let my expectations down. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Ask for sea views with a jacuzzi. Fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NZTrekKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

We came up for the airlie running festival for 2 nights. My friend and I shared a bay view room which had two queen beds. Our stay was amazing. We got a buffet breakie included in our price and we walked away with a full tummy. We strolled down the boardwalk for 400m and got to the lagoon. No roads to cross, we had tea at the resort and indulged in sticky date pudding for dessert (yummy). Went back to our room and tried out 4 different pillows. Overall we didn't want to leave. Awesome views.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Qingdao
Level Contributor
121 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

This place is really a great location for the Great Barrier Reef if you don't want to travel to far north. We were a group of 4, and stayed in a 3 bedroom apartment, with all the mod-cons of a fully fitted serviced apartment. We even had a jacuzzi on the terrace (ask for room 413). For the price, this was truly amazing value. The rooms themselves were implacably clean and well furnished. The resort itself is not too far from the town centre, and perfectly located on the coast.
I have to say that the staff really do go out of there way to make you happy. On the day we left, I accidentally forgot something. I contacted the hotel, and the staff there packaged this up and sent it via express delivery to my next destination. Thank you Teneille and Caroline.

Room Tip: The best place to stay in Airlie Beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dale S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Loved our trip to the Coral Sea Resort. Nice little restaurant downstairs with the prefect pool area. Rooms are nice and big and the view was amazing. This is a prefect Resort in a perfect part of the world!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Beautiful! Stayed one night, and treated ourselves to the spa suite. First floor room, hot tub, hammock, sea view ... Just beautiful! Amazing place to relax and enjoy the weather. The pool was amazing, service straight to you on the sun bed. The place definitely worth the money! Can't saying amazing enough times!

Room Tip: Go for the spa suite if you really want to indulge on holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
Helpful?
Thank 1littlejess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.4 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#1 of 2 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
16.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
16.6 mi away
Beach Club
Beach Club
#1 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,069 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Resort

Property: Coral Sea Resort
Address: 25 Oceanview Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Airlie Beach
#1 Luxury Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Airlie Beach
#2 Romantic Hotel in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the absolute ocean front and just a short stroll via seaside boardwalk to the enchanting Airlie Beach resort village; with its relaxed atmosphere and collection of eclectic shops and cafes; lies the Coral Sea Resort. A stroll in the opposite direction crossing a separate boardwalk with the sea below is Abel Point Marina, your direct access to the Whitsunday Islands and the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Coral Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Resort Hotel
Coral Resort Sea
Coral Sea Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing