We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Place to Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Whitsunday Terraces Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Whitsunday Terraces Resort
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic Place to Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2011

We had originally booked in to stay here for one night because we were going to do some diving in the area. Our first room was really nice and spacious, good aircon with a balcony which had a great view over the sea. We decided we were going to book in a bit longer but unfortunately the room

we were currently staying in had been specifically requested so we had to change rooms. In the morning before our dive we only had time to throw our bags into the next room, which was enough time for us to realise that the second room was no where near as good as the first and had a terribly old aircon system which did not keep the room cool at all.

On returning to the apartments and speaking with reception we were (after some discussion) moved to one of the top floor apartments. This was fantastic!!! It had a separate kitchen and bedroom, hude lounge area and two balconies offering different views over the sea! So glad we decided not to settle!

We ended up staying here for a week!! Lovely and clean and a great self catering base for us to spend some time chilling out and doing some diving.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Scotrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    77
    68
    38
    32
See reviews for
30
118
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2011

My sister and I stayed at Whitsunday Terraces while sightseeing in Airlie Beach, and while the hotel has a great location, the room left something to be desired. There were ants in the kitchen and our room had a resident gecko (lizard) living behind the air conditioner. I just didn't get that overall impression of, "Wow, this place feels clean." This could be because the decor is fairly old. The view from the balcony was breathtaking, though, which was a major plus-- we really enjoyed coming back to the hotel after a long day of ocean rafting and having a beer on the balcony looking out at the water. We were lucky that it didn't seem the other rooms on our level were in use, though, because the balconies all connect & there are no dividers. We also really enjoyed the hot tub and pool which also overlook the great view of the water. The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful throughout our stay and very friendly, too. Overall, if I was visiting Airlie Beach again I would probably look to stay elsewhere, but the hotel did serve its purpose for our trip. Note this hotel is on a terraced hillside and it is quite the uphill hike to get to the upper rooms, so if you have any mobility issues, this may not be the most convenient place to stay.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean-View room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2011

Stay at Whitsunday Terraces in early Jan 2011. The room was clean, wasn't too noisy and had teriffic view of Airlie Harbour. Very friendly staff and also very close to centre or Airlie so very convenient.
I would recommend anyone to stay... and im already planning my next Airle escape... what an awesome place!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank quiksilver23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunshine Coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2010

This resort has great views. Staff was not rude to us (as I see in other reviews) and were actually pleasant.
Rooms .. plenty of size, but they've not had even the most basic maintenance, old TV's with no functional remotes, we had connecting rooms with only 1 controller for 3 old A/C units.

The telephone yellowed (used to be white) as so old, the lighting fixtures very 70's and just not standing up well. Microwave with all manner of rust and corrosion - not replaced, with one of the old dials that you turn (must be late 70's or early 80's manufacture).

Their poolside bar was never open during the 2 days we stayed at peak season.

The beds and furniture superficially look okay, but they are very old, very worn out. Bottom line, these folks could invest $1500-2000/room to tidy stuff up and have a 3.5 to 4 star facility -- I'm being generous giving them 2 stars.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grant_Fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

junee
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2010

extremely rude & unhelpful staff. no orientation to facilities & therfore got lost many times. had to phone reception and enlist help to find my room after initial instrucitons got me lost - it's like a maze. no screens on windows or balcony doors - thought i had a possum in mu room one night but when i turned the light on discovered large cockroaches++ scurrying for cover. room not very clean - cutlery drawer dirty, balcony furniture dirty - they wer expecting me weren't they? grounds littered with cigarette butts - staff might do well to try to clean some of them up though they appeared to spend a lot of time sitting around smoking themselves. my towels smelled of sigarete smoke as well. extremely dissapointed as this was my first time to the whitsundays and it's left a poor impression. will return however will definately do more research on my accommodation. difficult to access with baggage as well - stairs++ and no assistance offered.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifur_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2010

Lovely place, really nice accomodation but we were rudly awaken by the manager of Whitsunday Terraces for being a half an hour late for check out. He barged into the room of three girls shouting and screaming " get up, get up, get up , you're half an hour late for check out, Im charging you if yu're not out ion 5 mins! " Totally inapprpriate and unprofessional! Receptionists were very friendly and helpful but would not stay in a hotel that he was in charge of or worked in again!!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 255069Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heanor
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2010

We stayed here during our travels up the East Coast and it was our base for the Whitsundays boat trip, we had one night before and one after. The place is set back from the main road but is access via some sprial stairs up an alley way at the side of Domino's pizza. It you have cases then you will have to walk round the road way which is a bit of a trek.

It was nice to have a hotel style room for a change on our trip with en-suite bathroom, TV and balcony. Both the rooms we stayed in had lovely views over Airlie Beach and when you not lugging bags around the location is ideal. The rooms are a little dated but all have cooking facilities and irons, extra blankets etc. The pool area is nice, my only complaint would be the staff, they were a little rude a couple of times, I our fridge had frozen the milk cartons so I went to see if they could give us a couple to replace ours, the receptionist didn't look and said that they didn't have any, which was clearly not true as they are provided in all the rooms for the tea / coffee facilities and also they charge $5 each to store bags while you are away on the boat.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeanorRed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#2 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#7 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach Apartments
Airlie Beach Apartments
#33 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
at Boathaven Spa Resort
at Boathaven Spa Resort
#28 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Resorts
Mediterranean Resorts
#19 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday Terraces Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Terraces Resort

Property: Whitsunday Terraces Resort
Address: 5 Golden Orchid Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitsunday Terraces Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the heart of Airlie Beach, Whitsunday Terraces Resort offers great value holiday apartments ideal for anyone who wants to soak up the beauty of the Whitsunday Coast.Each of our self contained holiday accommodation Whitsundays have been designed with the perfect seaside break in mind, and feature private balconies with stunning ocean views, kitchenettes and air conditioning. With two outdoor swimming pools overlooking the sea, and a heated spa, all set within tropical gardens, our Airlie Beach holiday apartments features everything you need to relax and recharge.The resort is just two minutes from the centre of town and close to the popular Airlie Beach Lagoon and the beach.Book online now and start planning your tropical seaside getaway today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Whitsunday Terraces Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Terraces Hotel Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Terraces Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Terraces Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing