We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cobwebs in the bedroom--enough said”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whitsunday Terraces Resort
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This place must have been nice when it opened many, many years ago. However, time has really taken a tole on this place. The room we slept in was huge but we really didn't need this space. I would have preferred a cleaner room. There were hairs in the bathroom and two cobwebs in the corner. The balcony did have a great view of the ocean but again that was unnecessary because when you are in the Whitsundays you spend most of your time on the ocean. One last note...this was also a party hotel despite their policy about not tolerating noise.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dimpleNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 11 July 2011

We had originally booked in to stay here for one night because we were going to do some diving in the area. Our first room was really nice and spacious, good aircon with a balcony which had a great view over the sea. We decided we were going to book in a bit longer but unfortunately the room

we were currently staying in had been specifically requested so we had to change rooms. In the morning before our dive we only had time to throw our bags into the next room, which was enough time for us to realise that the second room was no where near as good as the first and had a terribly old aircon system which did not keep the room cool at all.

On returning to the apartments and speaking with reception we were (after some discussion) moved to one of the top floor apartments. This was fantastic!!! It had a separate kitchen and bedroom, hude lounge area and two balconies offering different views over the sea! So glad we decided not to settle!

We ended up staying here for a week!! Lovely and clean and a great self catering base for us to spend some time chilling out and doing some diving.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scotrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

My sister and I stayed at Whitsunday Terraces while sightseeing in Airlie Beach, and while the hotel has a great location, the room left something to be desired. There were ants in the kitchen and our room had a resident gecko (lizard) living behind the air conditioner. I just didn't get that overall impression of, "Wow, this place feels clean." This could be because the decor is fairly old. The view from the balcony was breathtaking, though, which was a major plus-- we really enjoyed coming back to the hotel after a long day of ocean rafting and having a beer on the balcony looking out at the water. We were lucky that it didn't seem the other rooms on our level were in use, though, because the balconies all connect & there are no dividers. We also really enjoyed the hot tub and pool which also overlook the great view of the water. The staff at the front desk were extremely helpful throughout our stay and very friendly, too. Overall, if I was visiting Airlie Beach again I would probably look to stay elsewhere, but the hotel did serve its purpose for our trip. Note this hotel is on a terraced hillside and it is quite the uphill hike to get to the upper rooms, so if you have any mobility issues, this may not be the most convenient place to stay.

Room Tip: Get an Ocean-View room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenswee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2011

Stay at Whitsunday Terraces in early Jan 2011. The room was clean, wasn't too noisy and had teriffic view of Airlie Harbour. Very friendly staff and also very close to centre or Airlie so very convenient.
I would recommend anyone to stay... and im already planning my next Airle escape... what an awesome place!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank quiksilver23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2010

This resort has great views. Staff was not rude to us (as I see in other reviews) and were actually pleasant.
Rooms .. plenty of size, but they've not had even the most basic maintenance, old TV's with no functional remotes, we had connecting rooms with only 1 controller for 3 old A/C units.

The telephone yellowed (used to be white) as so old, the lighting fixtures very 70's and just not standing up well. Microwave with all manner of rust and corrosion - not replaced, with one of the old dials that you turn (must be late 70's or early 80's manufacture).

Their poolside bar was never open during the 2 days we stayed at peak season.

The beds and furniture superficially look okay, but they are very old, very worn out. Bottom line, these folks could invest $1500-2000/room to tidy stuff up and have a 3.5 to 4 star facility -- I'm being generous giving them 2 stars.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Grant_Fr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2010

extremely rude & unhelpful staff. no orientation to facilities & therfore got lost many times. had to phone reception and enlist help to find my room after initial instrucitons got me lost - it's like a maze. no screens on windows or balcony doors - thought i had a possum in mu room one night but when i turned the light on discovered large cockroaches++ scurrying for cover. room not very clean - cutlery drawer dirty, balcony furniture dirty - they wer expecting me weren't they? grounds littered with cigarette butts - staff might do well to try to clean some of them up though they appeared to spend a lot of time sitting around smoking themselves. my towels smelled of sigarete smoke as well. extremely dissapointed as this was my first time to the whitsundays and it's left a poor impression. will return however will definately do more research on my accommodation. difficult to access with baggage as well - stairs++ and no assistance offered.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jennifur_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2010

Lovely place, really nice accomodation but we were rudly awaken by the manager of Whitsunday Terraces for being a half an hour late for check out. He barged into the room of three girls shouting and screaming " get up, get up, get up , you're half an hour late for check out, Im charging you if yu're not out ion 5 mins! " Totally inapprpriate and unprofessional! Receptionists were very friendly and helpful but would not stay in a hotel that he was in charge of or worked in again!!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Service
Thank 255069Lisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
427 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#4 of 10 in Airlie Beach
449 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#8 of 10 in Airlie Beach
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Mantra Club Croc
Mantra Club Croc
#1 of 1 in Cannonvale
403 reviews
0.1 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#26 of 57 in Airlie Beach
626 reviews
1.1 mi away
Best Western Mango House Resort
Best Western Mango House Resort
#1 of 2 in Jubilee Pocket
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday Terraces Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Terraces Resort

Address: 5 Golden Orchid Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £68 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitsunday Terraces Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the heart of Airlie Beach, Whitsunday Terraces Resort offers great value holiday apartments ideal for anyone who wants to soak up the beauty of the Whitsunday Coast.Each of our self contained holiday accommodation Whitsundays have been designed with the perfect seaside break in mind, and feature private balconies with stunning ocean views, kitchenettes and air conditioning. With two outdoor swimming pools overlooking the sea, and a heated spa, all set within tropical gardens, our Airlie Beach holiday apartments features everything you need to relax and recharge.The resort is just two minutes from the centre of town and close to the popular Airlie Beach Lagoon and the beach.Book online now and start planning your tropical seaside getaway today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Whitsunday Terraces Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Terraces Hotel Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Terraces Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Terraces Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing