We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good room with no service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Whitsunday Terraces Resort
Reviewed 30 December 2013

good point:
the room was very big and nice, great view to the ocean
hotel location is very good, close to the town,(2 mins walk to the town)
free wi-fi at the pool and reception area
poor point:
no room service, for three nights , we had no one to clean the room, and all the dishes and rubbish was clean by ourself.
the bedroom was way to bright, can not get good sleep
A/C did not work well during the night, woke up many times because it was too hot
no breakfast service, the bar near the pool open only at night.
receptionist was only from 8am to 5, sunday: 8am to 2pm, so not very helpful
not good not bad: the pool is not big but nice since there was never a lot people in it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Yunqi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 294 reviews

Reviewed 18 December 2013

wre stayed here for 6 nights and this place was great. the room were clean, the pool area good and great view and the staff were great. had a one bedroom , very spacious nice furniture and so cklose to town. iread the other reports but dont know seemed like a different place to what they said. we will be back

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anton c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The outdoor areas and stairs very filthy, as were the rooms. The parking was not adequate.
The air conditioner did not work properly, and was very noisy. The pool and resturant were closed,
and the photos on the Internet were not a true representation of the facilities and condition of the place. I would not call it a resort. The remote control would not work.
I would not stay there again under any circumstances.

Room Tip: Don't stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitsundayterraces, Manager at Whitsunday Terraces Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Pat

Thank you for taking the time to writ a review.I am sorry that you did not enjoy you stay. All our apartments are individually owned and individually furnished. We are always here to assist with any issues you may have during your stay. Unfortunately if your concerns are not reported to reception we are unable to rectify them.

We do apologise for the bottom pool was closed for 2 days as we were installing a new sign but there is another pool in the complex that was open.

The restaurant and Bar are run and owned by another individual company, unfortunately this is something we have no control over.

We are currently in the process of assessing all units to ensure any necessary upgrades and refurbishments are carried out. I would appreciate if you could contact me directly with the surname on the booking or the apartment number so I can ensure this assessment is pushed to the top of the list.

I can be contacted directly on 0749466788 or info@whitsundayterraces.com.au if you wish to discuss further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Do not recommend at all - should have known when we pulled up and their was human faeces in the car park (and this was late in the afternoon) right where we parked (there is very little parking) if we hadn't paid in advance we would have left immediatley - the room was dated and dirty and noisey - the aircon which was right over the door was flat out cooling down the room - the only thing this place has going for it is the location but for the price we paid we could have got something a lot better

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitsundayterraces, Manager at Whitsunday Terraces Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologise for the faeces in the car park. As soon as you bought it to your attention we hosed and disinfected the area. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, please contact me and let me know which apartment you were staying in so I can address the issues. You can contact me personally on 0749466788 or info@whitsundayterraces.com.au

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

This hotel website was definitely false advertising. It was a horrible experience staying there.
We booked in for 10 nights but by the 3rd night we found a new hotel to stay at. First of all its advertised with a swim up bar and restuarant at the hotel, when we got there it was closed for renovations (none of which was communicated to us upon booking) The spa was also closed due to the reno's. The pool was NOTa peaceful relaxing spot as there were tradies hammering and banging from about 6am every morning. The room was a disgrace. There were powerpoints hanging out of the wall, lucky we had no kids staying with us. And when we asked for a refund we are told thy had a no refund policy, which I still cannot find on any receipts, emails or on the website. I am bitterly dissapointed as it wasnt cheap for us to stay there. I will never recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kath695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

I was a little disappointed in the rooms when I arrived.

The website advertised parking available, however there are not enough carparks for each room to have their own, and we were forced to park on the street.

We were put into a room near the pool pump, which was very noisy all night. We didn't purchase a last minute deal or anything so this was disappointing.

The view is lovely, and the location is nice and close to town.

Reading some of the reviews on trip adviser is had expected better though.

And for the price per night, I thought it was very over-priced. You could stay in many other places for $70 cheaper a night and have basically the same facilities.

Room Tip: Don't get a room next to the pool pump.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aimee-2612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013 via mobile

The hotel is pretty dated in its decor but you hardly notice due to the spectacular views. The location is great with the only downside is that it a steep walk up the road to get to the hotel from town. A Woolworths and Cinemas are being built right at the bottom so the location us even more perfect! Lighting in the rooms is very substandard and if one light is blown (like our room) you are in the dark! The price is pretty good considering the below par decor but the views more than make up for it! Staff are very friendly too!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank SJLandsberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#5 of 10 in Airlie Beach
424 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#3 of 10 in Airlie Beach
388 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#8 of 10 in Airlie Beach
159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#26 of 56 in Airlie Beach
625 reviews
0.4 mi away
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
#48 of 56 in Airlie Beach
300 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mantra Club Croc
Mantra Club Croc
#1 of 1 in Cannonvale
368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday Terraces Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Terraces Resort

Address: 5 Golden Orchid Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £68 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitsunday Terraces Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the heart of Airlie Beach, Whitsunday Terraces Resort offers great value holiday apartments ideal for anyone who wants to soak up the beauty of the Whitsunday Coast.Each of our self contained holiday accommodation Whitsundays have been designed with the perfect seaside break in mind, and feature private balconies with stunning ocean views, kitchenettes and air conditioning. With two outdoor swimming pools overlooking the sea, and a heated spa, all set within tropical gardens, our Airlie Beach holiday apartments features everything you need to relax and recharge.The resort is just two minutes from the centre of town and close to the popular Airlie Beach Lagoon and the beach.Book online now and start planning your tropical seaside getaway today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Whitsunday Terraces Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Terraces Hotel Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Terraces Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Terraces Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing