We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dungeon of hell”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Whitsunday Terraces Resort
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Dungeon of hell”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Picture this - smelly, torn carpet, large burn marks in the carpet, tired and worn bathroom, so many marks on the walls that it resembled a crime scene. All it needed was the chalk outline of the body and an upturned chair to complete the scene.
I booked this room and paid $200.00 via check-in.com and it was severely misrepresented. Not even worth a 2 star rating let alone a 3.5 star rating. Spend a little more and stay anywhere else. Huge thumbs down....

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Michelle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    80
    72
    39
    33
See reviews for
35
126
25
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

we, a family of 4 adults, stayed here for new year and were very disappointed, the 1 bed appartment was very badly equipped, ie no knives, one wine glass, two cups, two forks one of which was bent every which way ! The 2 ring cooker didnt work. the airconditioning was very poor and loud. The beds were extremely uncomportable, the outdoor areas were dirty.
We are touring around Australia and this was the worst place we have stayed.

Room Tip: Very bad value for money, It is also situated on a very steep hill, parking is not adequate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnIreland2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed here after our yacht charter, great uninterrupted view of the ocean. The rooms are basic, the place is a little old, but the price is very affordable and as I said, the view is unbeatable. There is a new supermarket opening soon at the end of the street which will only make this place better.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank WWQPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level 5 Contributor
48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

good point:
the room was very big and nice, great view to the ocean
hotel location is very good, close to the town,(2 mins walk to the town)
free wi-fi at the pool and reception area
poor point:
no room service, for three nights , we had no one to clean the room, and all the dishes and rubbish was clean by ourself.
the bedroom was way to bright, can not get good sleep
A/C did not work well during the night, woke up many times because it was too hot
no breakfast service, the bar near the pool open only at night.
receptionist was only from 8am to 5, sunday: 8am to 2pm, so not very helpful
not good not bad: the pool is not big but nice since there was never a lot people in it.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yunqi C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 December 2013

wre stayed here for 6 nights and this place was great. the room were clean, the pool area good and great view and the staff were great. had a one bedroom , very spacious nice furniture and so cklose to town. iread the other reports but dont know seemed like a different place to what they said. we will be back

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anton c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wee Waa, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

The outdoor areas and stairs very filthy, as were the rooms. The parking was not adequate.
The air conditioner did not work properly, and was very noisy. The pool and resturant were closed,
and the photos on the Internet were not a true representation of the facilities and condition of the place. I would not call it a resort. The remote control would not work.
I would not stay there again under any circumstances.

Room Tip: Don't stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pat K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitsundayterraces, Manager at Whitsunday Terraces Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Dear Pat

Thank you for taking the time to writ a review.I am sorry that you did not enjoy you stay. All our apartments are individually owned and individually furnished. We are always here to assist with any issues you may have during your stay. Unfortunately if your concerns are not reported to reception we are unable to rectify them.

We do apologise for the bottom pool was closed for 2 days as we were installing a new sign but there is another pool in the complex that was open.

The restaurant and Bar are run and owned by another individual company, unfortunately this is something we have no control over.

We are currently in the process of assessing all units to ensure any necessary upgrades and refurbishments are carried out. I would appreciate if you could contact me directly with the surname on the booking or the apartment number so I can ensure this assessment is pushed to the top of the list.

I can be contacted directly on 0749466788 or info@whitsundayterraces.com.au if you wish to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Do not recommend at all - should have known when we pulled up and their was human faeces in the car park (and this was late in the afternoon) right where we parked (there is very little parking) if we hadn't paid in advance we would have left immediatley - the room was dated and dirty and noisey - the aircon which was right over the door was flat out cooling down the room - the only thing this place has going for it is the location but for the price we paid we could have got something a lot better

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitsundayterraces, Manager at Whitsunday Terraces Resort, responded to this review, 9 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I apologise for the faeces in the car park. As soon as you bought it to your attention we hosed and disinfected the area. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your stay, please contact me and let me know which apartment you were staying in so I can address the issues. You can contact me personally on 0749466788 or info@whitsundayterraces.com.au
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach Apartments
Airlie Beach Apartments
#39 of 54 in Airlie Beach
177 reviews
0.4 mi away
Airlie Central Apartments
Airlie Central Apartments
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
#8 of 54 in Airlie Beach
153 reviews
0.3 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#8 of 10 in Airlie Beach
152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mediterranean Resorts
Mediterranean Resorts
#23 of 54 in Airlie Beach
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitsunday Terraces Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Terraces Resort

Property: Whitsunday Terraces Resort
Address: 5 Golden Orchid Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitsunday Terraces Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the heart of Airlie Beach, Whitsunday Terraces Resort offers great value holiday apartments ideal for anyone who wants to soak up the beauty of the Whitsunday Coast.Each of our self contained holiday accommodation Whitsundays have been designed with the perfect seaside break in mind, and feature private balconies with stunning ocean views, kitchenettes and air conditioning. With two outdoor swimming pools overlooking the sea, and a heated spa, all set within tropical gardens, our Airlie Beach holiday apartments features everything you need to relax and recharge.The resort is just two minutes from the centre of town and close to the popular Airlie Beach Lagoon and the beach.Book online now and start planning your tropical seaside getaway today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Whitsunday Terraces Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Terraces Hotel Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Terraces Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Terraces Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing