We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good hostel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Magnums Backpackers
Rio
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Very good hostel.”
Reviewed 4 September 2008

This was among the best hostels I stayed at on Australia's East coast. The setting is terrific and the dorms are clean and comfortable. The bar is lively and the on-site restaurant serves a variety of food at fair prices. This is just as well, because the only drawback of this hostel is the poor kitchen facilities. The hostel makes no apologies for this and clearly states that the kitchen is actually a 'breakfast bar'. If you're prepared for this in advance then you'll have a happy stay. Airlie beach has plenty of other places to eat anyway, many at 'backpacker friendly' prices so you won't starve.

Some people moaned at having to pay $2.50 for bedding for the duration of their stay, but it's not exactly a fortune so shouldn't reflect badly on an excellent hostel with helpful and friendly staff.

While you're in Airlie Beach don't even consider not going on a boat trip to the Whitsundays. Steer clear of the party boats as the racing yacht experience is far better and you can party all you like in the bars when you reach dry land again.

  • Liked — Great setting.
  • Disliked — Poor kitchen.
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Leono
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    98
    148
    111
    43
    78
See reviews for
3
164
107
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2008

Noisey, dirty, smelly.....the list goes on and on. Although very cheap would have definitely paid more for a good nights sleep! We eventually ended up moving to Kowalas further up the road which was much better with at least a functioning kitchen!

  • Liked — The exit!
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed September 2005, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duffcam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

CeskeK
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2008

I don't think there is all that much choice in Airlie Beach, but I would avoid Magnums at all costs. Magnums is typical of the get them in, take their money and provide them with jack hostels you find on the east coast. Firstly, you have to pay for your bedding which creates two problems in that either you spend more money than the advertised room price or you use a sleeping bag (potentially infested with bed bugs) which is a common problem here. Secondly, there is only a "breakfast" kitchen in Magnums which means two microwaves, two toasters and two weird rice cooker type hot plates to service four hundred people, consequently you can't cook there and have to spend money in town or in magnum's overpriced restaurants. Thirdly, same deal with alcohol. Magnums has a bar so bringing your own alcohol is officially banned. Therefore, you are left to smuggle it in or pay expensive bar prices. Well, that's about it. The rooms are pretty average as well.

  • Stayed March 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CeskeK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
leeds
1 review
Reviewed 5 February 2008

wELL ALL I CAN SAY IS DO NOT STAY HERE! Unless you want to be covered in hundreds of bites from Bed Bugs steer clear- the staff were no help merely gave me 3 dollars to wash all my clothes - being a girl with a huge backpack this did not cover costs at all! I am now left with horrid itchy red bites and they are not leaving!

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank linzi_kelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2008

Stayed here as part of my Whitsundays Trip in Sept 2004.

Loved the place, turned up in Airlie on the 8am bus from Hervey Bay and was able to check into my room straight away without a problem,

Decent Sized Dorms in decent enough condition, considering my room cost £7 for the night and can't really be faulted. Clean as any other hostel I've stayed in and what you would expect on the East Coast.

Facilties are open to all in the site, including a massive open air bar area, with plenty of food option, plenty of cheap drinks offers and an on site night club with various themed nights, decent sized laundry on site which is very important if you have just been to Frasier Island and again decently priced.

If I had another night in Airlie after my whitsundays trip (which I wish I had) I would have definatly stayed here again!

  • Liked — Hostel and One of the towns best bar/club in one!
  • Disliked — Leaving so soon
  • Stayed September 2004, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 13 December 2007

This hostel was fantastic. We stayed in a twin room which had a bunk bed (a little creaky), air conditioning and a fridge in it! We had to share a bathroom with 2 other cabins but that was fine, I don't think I ever had to wait, and we were there for 10 nights! The hostel is set in a rainforest and is very comfortable. The bar is out the front and we couldn't hear it from our room. The bar is a really good place to sit down, day or night and they have live music at night time and sometimes during the day. Fabulous hostel for a great price! $52 a night!!

  • Liked — Air Conditioning!
  • Disliked — Kitchen or lack of.
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank rowy85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2007

we stayed in airlie beach for 3 weeks trying to get work but couldn't get any ,stayed in a few hostels in airlie and magnums was the BEST HOSTEL, we had a 8 bed dorm and met great people it was a total party hostel especially our room so if you like to party and get no sleep magnums is the place to be!!! ou roomies was wicked!! i would recommend to any backpacker that likes partying!!!

  • Liked — the party atmosphere
  • Disliked — 6ft pythons
  • Stayed May 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkc_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
512 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#34 of 54 in Airlie Beach
185 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#42 of 54 in Airlie Beach
529 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#26 of 54 in Airlie Beach
41 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnums Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Property: Magnums Backpackers
Address: 366 Shute Harbour Rd | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnums Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing