We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Ant Infested Hostel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Magnums Airlie Beach
Reviewed 3 April 2014

My partner and I stayed at Magnums for two nights, before and after our Whitsundays sailing trip. Both nights were terrible.

On both nights we had booked private rooms. The rooms are really dated, unclean and infested with ants.

Also, the front desk staff were rude and unhelpful.

Please avoid.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Greig K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2014

Thank you for your review - we genuinely appreciate all feedback.
We, like all properties in the tropics, have the odd insect and certainly ants are some of our visitors! I would disagree in relation to your comment of ‘infested’ but fully understand that insects are ‘new’ to a lot of travellers. We have a dedicated page on our website to educate and assist our guests in relation to the wildlife that can be found in the tropics - it really is a good read! If you found one of our team members unhelpful PLEASE let the management know who this was as we take customer service and guest satisfaction very seriously.
We wish you safe and happy onward travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (496)
There are newer reviews for Magnums Airlie Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

283 - 289 of 496 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014 via mobile

Wow! Backpacking in style or just a weekend away (as we did) this place is in best location of town and surrounded by rainforest. A very cheap price too. The girls in reception were very helpful and the crowd they attract are happy open minded backpackers. We'll be coming back!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ronniedog87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Thank you “beautiful’ reviewer”!
So glad you enjoyed our little piece of paradise - we look forward to hosting you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Friendly staff, ensure bathrooms in the 8 person cabins. Relatively clean, a little old - a little noisy in the evening. Close to everything, beach walk is just on the other side of the road, about 10 minutes walk to the coach terminal and close to the supermarket, free wifi but only in a very small area between the rooms. Kitchen and tv-room could be bigger, you feel a bit like you have to squeeze in between the others - nice bar with live music at night. They have a rainforest-like environment around the dorms, which is nice, but this also means that a lot of cicadas and birds are hanging around - which can be pretty noisy sometimes. There is not much to do, though, you can take a walk on the beach or browse in the shops, else wise thereis pretty much only the bar area which has an arcade and some pool tables. All in all a decent place.

Stayed: March 2014
Thank Cecilie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2014

Thank you reviewer!
We agree we are “a pretty decent place”. We are pretty proud of our tropical surrounds - we reckon that’s what people should experience when they visit the tropics. One thing I can tell you, there is plenty to do!! Please feel free to check out the website - it is really comprehensive and covers all the free stuff too. I have never heard anyone say there is not much to do in Airlie. We hope you can come back soon and experience ALL we have to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Magnums is in a great location, central in Airlie Beach.
We checked in after booking a Whitsundays Tour with Wicked Travel who are the worst people i have ever dealt with! Unfortunately for us, Wicked Travel failed to tell us about the cyclone and booked out trip anyway! Luckily the reception staff were really nice and advised us to leave Airlie Beach the next day as we wouldnt be able to leave otherwise due to the Cyclone and the roads would be closed. Our room wasnt great, 8 people in a dorm and when we arrived mid morning, the room was humid and smelt of hungover girls who happened to be hanging out of their beds groaning with hangovers. The bathroom was tiny and not overly clean!
The open bar is quite big and has live music most nights of the week which is great!
Safe to say we left the next day after having paid for 2 nights however the wouldnt refund us due to their 'no refund' policy! The virgin australia flight was cancelled due to the weather, luckily our Jetstar flight was still able to leave and we flew out in the morning!

I would recommend other hostels before i recommend this one but everyone is different and it depends what your after.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunlover117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review.
Sorry your experience was not great - we would love things to have been better for you. In relation to the refund policy I think you may have misunderstood - we always have and always will refund in the event of an official cyclone warning as guest comfort and safety are our absolute priority. We invite you to get in touch with us via our website if you would like to communicate further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed at magnums in a twin room for 5 nights. The hostel is very central and well located, everything you could need is in a 5-10 minute walk.

The room was small (but to be expected for the price you pay) we were located quite far back from the bar so didn't hear any noise etc during the night. However we did stay during the week - our last night was a Thursday and it was very noisy due to the party animals arriving for the weekend. The hostel has a strict no byo alcohol policy (or so the posters say) but there were groups of people sitting drinking outside their rooms all night with no hassle from security staff who apparently patrol the area and confiscate any booze.

The free wifi area was right outside our door which was a bonus!

Air con worked well, toilets and showers were a bit grubby at times but certainly not the worst I've seen.

The hostel blocks are surrounded by plenty or greenery so expect mosquito bites when you leave - we were covered!!

All in all you get what you pay for, the hostel is centrally located and a very reasonable price!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank JMW1002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are glad you found our resort value for money.
We have 24/7 security that can be contacted any time you have an issue with noise or "partying" after reception is closed to ensure all our guests enjoy their stay.
We are constantly working closely with our security team to help educate our guests on our "party in the bar - sleep in our beds" policy.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

The Backpakers Hostel is cool, stayed there 3 nights. Good facilities, clean, great WiFi area, that lets you meet with fellow travellers, BUT beware of the bar! We saw one of the security guards (bald headed guy with dark beard) slip something in some girls drink! Seriously, would not drink anything at that bar anymore!

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Idealizer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Thank you for your review.
Magnums Backpackers is glad we lived up to your expectations and you enjoyed the great facilities. Magnums Backpackers and Magnums Hotel are owned and operated by two separate companies (totally unrelated) - we have copied your concern about the Bar Security on to both Magnums Hotel and their Security company. We advise you to follow up via their official website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Though the location is good, the cleanliness of Magnums leaves a lot to be desired. There were bed bugs in all beds in my room and staff were unwilling to help and unpleasant when asked. I do not recommend staying here unless you want to spend the next day hot washing all your clothes to get the bugs out!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenny A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Airlie Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your review.
You did not mention the date of your stay or your room number and we believe you may have heard of this but possibly not experienced this problem? We can assure you that bed bugs have nothing to do with cleanliness - in fact they love a good clean bed! We are of course saddened to receive this negative review as we are very serious about ensuring our guests enjoy their stay in the Whitsundays and we really work very hard to get it right. We would value your time if you could let us know which room and which staff member you dealt with - we spend a lot of time and resources on training for both our housekeeping and reception teams so we would like to be able to investigate your claim further. Magnums website can offer guests all the information they may need on all issues related with staying at Magnums - please let us know if you would like to correspond further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 57 in Airlie Beach
430 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 57 in Airlie Beach
530 reviews
0.2 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#43 of 57 in Airlie Beach
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#31 of 57 in Airlie Beach
189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#25 of 57 in Airlie Beach
43 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnums Airlie Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnums Airlie Beach

Address: 366 Shute Harbour Rd | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia (Formerly Magnums Backpackers)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £27 - £33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Magnums Airlie Beach 2*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Magnums Airlie Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing