We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good, too easy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers by the Bay
Bangkok
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“All good, too easy”
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Place is welcoming and the people are really nice. I checked in at 7.00am and was out with a staff member and several guests by 8am for the entire day. Really relaxed slightly more mature atmosphere. Spent 2 nights and would recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andyvio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    132
    63
    17
    24
See reviews for
3
106
160
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Truro, uk
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

We arrived in Airlie beach and we were met by the lovely Chloe and taken directly to backpackers by the bay. We had only planned to spend a couple of days there to do a sailing trip to the Whitsunday islands. After our boat trip we settled in and met some of the most amazing people we've met in our entire travels! The backpackers offered amazing value for money and a community atmosphere that ensured everybody felt at home. Quiz nights, card games and more keeping everyone entertained, even though the main town area was 2 minutes walk away we found ourselves at the hostel every night!!!
Highly reccommended backpackers...... THE BEST IN AUSTRALIA!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andres I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

After travelling Australia for over 14 months and staying in many Hostels, I can Safely say that 'The Backpackers by the Bay' Is the best Backpackers I have ever stayed at!!!! The Location is perfect, the staff are awesome and the general vibe of this backpackers overshone any that I have been to! Pete the owner is very welcoming, helpful and friendly, giving this hostel a real home from home atmosphere. The staff are fantastic, they get everyone invoved in the hostel playing nightly quizes and Chloe Is the best entertainer with here hilarious card games! all of these things creates the unique vibe of Backpackers by the Bay! It's perfect for if your travelling on your own, as a group or as a couple. My husband an I planned to stay here for 1 night and ended up staying for 3 weeks and!!!! We were sad to leave but have made friends and memories that will last a lifetime, due to our stay at 'Backpackers by the bay'!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicki J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2013

Great hostel with clean rooms. Located only 5 minutes walk from the main street. Very friendly and helpful staff (special thanks to Peter for his patience and his advise). I particularly enoyed the quiz organised by the staff, good opportunity to meet new people. I definitly recommand this place!

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank 00Alice-000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2013

So I hopped off the bus and was greeted by one of the guys from the hostel who took me there in the bus even though it wouldn't be that far to walk. I checked in and met Peter who was very friendly and told me about the quiz they do in the evenings to win a free bottle of champagne. None of the rooms have more than 4 people in which is nice and the rooms were nice although under the beds wasn't cleaned very well. The kitchen was nice and clean although it was a bit on the small side I thought if there were a lot of people wanting to cook at the same time, not that this was a problem for me. It is about a 5 minute walk to town which I liked as it means you are away from the night life (I'm not a party person) but it's easy to get into town as well. Overall a great place to stay :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elliot J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oldenburg, Germany
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2013

I really want to recommend this hostel, because it is really one of the nicest and friendliest hostels I´ve stayed in during my time in Australia. The staff is really nice and helpful and the owner makes the place really a home for travellers in caring and with his positive, nice attitude. I felt welcome and comfortable straight away. The staff gives you help with booking of tours and hostels. In the evenings there´s a quiz - if enough people wanna take part - which is a good chance to get to know other travellers, but that´s not very hard in that hostel anyways, because it is quite small and the atmosphere really great. The Wifi is a bit dear, but that might also be a good thing, because like that nobodody is staring at his computer the whole time. The bathroom smelled a bit and was a bit hairy, but that was basicly the only minus I would point out. If you wanna stay in a nice, laid-back, quiet (not a party place) hostel in Airlie, this is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyyyiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 June 2013

Great staff, friendly atmosphere, brilliant evening quiz for a bottle of champagne. Pete at the desk has loads of knowledge on the local boats and will book your forward travels as well. Booked a last minute boat through the desk for a knock down price - a brilliant trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nathan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#32 of 54 in Airlie Beach
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#43 of 54 in Airlie Beach
531 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
1.2 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers by the Bay

Property: Backpackers by the Bay
Address: 12 Hermitage Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 400 metres from the main street, on the top of a small hill, Backpackers By The Bay has awesome ocean views and offers a very social, warm and relaxed atmosphere. Accommodation is available in four share rooms, one 8 share and doubles. Linen is provided and all rooms are serviced daily. Airconditioning is included during the warmer months (mid Sept to mid May) The hostel has a saltwater swimming pool which is surrounded by hammocks, sun-lounges and palm trees as well as a huge sunbaking deck. A fully equipped kitchen with crockery, cutlery and utensils is provided, as is a laundry. The games room has internet access and pool table. Each night, during 'happy hour' the staff hold social activities to help guests meet each other - these include: *Team trivia competitions with the winners receiving a bottle of champagne. * Wii Sports competitions including Bowling, Tennis, Golf, Baseball and Boxing * Killer Pool comps After all the fun and games, relax and watch a movie on the ONLY outdoor cinema in Airlie Beach (Sunday and Tuesday nights) With the best local knowledge of all the tours in the Whitsundays we can help you choose the best trip for your needs. By the Bay is not affiliated with any tour opperators so we don't force any boat on you. We give you all the info and let YOU pick. We also offer a free nights accommodation and free luggage storage with every overnight sailing tour booked with us The friendly and helpful staff look forward to meeting you! *FREE Courtesy bus service meeting all coaches(between 7am-7:30pm). *FREE Tea and Coffee *FREE Wii Sports game *FREE quiz for a bottle of champagne every night! *FREE hammocks, sunlounges and BBQ use *FREE accommodation and storage (with every overnight trip booked) *FREE linen supplied to all beds *FREE unbiased tour advice- often at standby or discounted prices *FREE Fully equipped kitchen - all cutlery, crockery, pots and pans provided at no charge!!! *FREE Off street parking *FREE WiFi available, two hours on arrival ($4 per 24 hour login logout) *Laundry room with washers, dryer, ironing board and iron *Lounge/TV room with wet weather movie days organized *All rooms serviced daily *Lending library *Safe and secure 24 hour access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Backpackers by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers By The Bay Hotel Airlie Beach
Backpackers By The Bay Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing