We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2nd home-this place is great!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Backpackers by the Bay
Barcelona, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“2nd home-this place is great!”
Reviewed 9 July 2010

I am saddened to see some bad reviews- this place made my stay in Australia one of the best ones!
For a budget hostel, you couldn't ask for friendlier staff and a warm welcome. We were picked up from the coach station (daily shuttles) and every night there is a movie night or pub quiz. We were really made to feel at home and were taken out by the staff for the evening.

I ended up staying much longer than I was meant to and it was nicely quieter than many of the more rowdy hostels I had stayed in.

Definately would reccomend, wish I could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mischiefmanaged78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    188
    132
    63
    17
    24
See reviews for
3
106
160
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2010

I stayed here 10 years ago and either I didn't notice many flaws to this hostel back then or it has gone downhill in the intervening decade. In serious need of a lick of paint and a proper cleaning, nowhere was particularly dirty but there was an accumulated dustiness under the sinks in the bathroom etc. I stayed in a double room, linen should have been washed at a higher temperature or replaced as a couple of stains showed up which wouldn't have been there if washed properly.
Didn't use the kitchen facilities, used the laundry, which was good.
Walk into town is short, was quite dark on way back at night cos of street light that was out, didn't feel very comfortable walking in these circumstances.
Staff were friendly, not the worst place I've stayed in but needs some work to make it attractive

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jules7706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2010

We arrived at 7am, got a free pickup from the Greyhound stop and were able to check-in straight away. After an awful night on the Greyhound we were glad to be able to get a room straight away and go to bed. Other people we spoke to had to wait until 2pm until they got their rooms in other hostels. We had a 4 dorm all to ourselves luckily. The hostel seemed quiet but friendly nonetheless. The room was clean, the bathroom was so-so but the kitchen had a really awful smell lingering about it. It wasn't the cleanest kitchen but the smell was really off putting, with loads of moths (big ones too) flying around the place at night. So many even the resident Gecko's couldn't eat them quick enough. Free films at night although they were hard to watch on the bedsheet screen and other gobby guests/staff drowning out the sound. We wouldn't recommend this place solely on the kitchen smell.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BarryMip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2010

Anyone who reviews this hostel favourably in the last few years is either daft or the management. My girlfirend and I read these reviews for a laugh, but were rather shocked to see people score 5 stars with favourable reviews of one "Nick the manager" just after many had scored only 1 star. We stayed there in 2007 and Backpackers by the Bay resembled more "Backpackers by the Construction Site" in the harbour. Aside from the early morning machinery starting their work at 7am, we were greeted in our 70 dollar double room with someone else's pubic hair in the bed, a broken lock on the sliding glass door, a room by a terribly ugly pool (which surely needed to be tested for urine), mouldy wooden backpack racks, and a delapidated side drawer. The mens toilet and shower facility was a shambles, however the ladies toilet and shower took the cake, as the door to was lacking a doorknob let alone a lock, which required my girlfriend to undertake the uneviable task of putting her finger into the slimy hole (where supposed doorknob should be) to pull open the door. The grounds and landscaping were in such shape as to suspect that a cyclone had recently hit. The kitchen, dated and not exactly pristine, lacked enough drying towels in order to dry anyone's recently washed cutlery, yet that didn't satisfy the cleaning lady who thought it necessary to make it known that the state of the kitchen was the guests fault. In fact this place was so poor, that the only thing going for it was that it is far from Airlie (no) Beach.

  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrgelatosandesu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
1 review
Reviewed 26 February 2010

great place to stay...super nice staff...very helpful with planning trips and places to go...pretty much like a big family when you stay there

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluejaysToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed 23 February 2010

Me and my friend stayed the last winter and we had the most amazing time and had my best birthday ever there! It was the best hostel we had in Australia. We'd planned to only stay for 2 nights, but in the end we stayed a week.. The staff was really nice, the rooms were great, clean, the people there were awesome! Just everything.
I miss it every day.. i miss the quiz, the movie nights, everything

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anna2607
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
england
1 review
Reviewed 20 February 2010

what can i say about this place, it was amazeing the best place in oz ive stayed. me and my mate mike were traveing up the east coast and got to brisbarne and heard about the hostel and and phoned it up , we helped out straight away on the phone and told the best way to get there and places to stay on the way up. when we got there we were met with big smiles and helped us relax straight away, with in 10 min of geting there we were out at the bar playing the quiz and talking to loads of people we prob would not of spoken to, what a place to stay i will be back and with more friends.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monkey41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#22 of 54 in Airlie Beach
488 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
520 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#32 of 54 in Airlie Beach
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#43 of 54 in Airlie Beach
531 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
1.2 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Backpackers by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers by the Bay

Property: Backpackers by the Bay
Address: 12 Hermitage Dr, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 400 metres from the main street, on the top of a small hill, Backpackers By The Bay has awesome ocean views and offers a very social, warm and relaxed atmosphere. Accommodation is available in four share rooms, one 8 share and doubles. Linen is provided and all rooms are serviced daily. Airconditioning is included during the warmer months (mid Sept to mid May) The hostel has a saltwater swimming pool which is surrounded by hammocks, sun-lounges and palm trees as well as a huge sunbaking deck. A fully equipped kitchen with crockery, cutlery and utensils is provided, as is a laundry. The games room has internet access and pool table. Each night, during 'happy hour' the staff hold social activities to help guests meet each other - these include: *Team trivia competitions with the winners receiving a bottle of champagne. * Wii Sports competitions including Bowling, Tennis, Golf, Baseball and Boxing * Killer Pool comps After all the fun and games, relax and watch a movie on the ONLY outdoor cinema in Airlie Beach (Sunday and Tuesday nights) With the best local knowledge of all the tours in the Whitsundays we can help you choose the best trip for your needs. By the Bay is not affiliated with any tour opperators so we don't force any boat on you. We give you all the info and let YOU pick. We also offer a free nights accommodation and free luggage storage with every overnight sailing tour booked with us The friendly and helpful staff look forward to meeting you! *FREE Courtesy bus service meeting all coaches(between 7am-7:30pm). *FREE Tea and Coffee *FREE Wii Sports game *FREE quiz for a bottle of champagne every night! *FREE hammocks, sunlounges and BBQ use *FREE accommodation and storage (with every overnight trip booked) *FREE linen supplied to all beds *FREE unbiased tour advice- often at standby or discounted prices *FREE Fully equipped kitchen - all cutlery, crockery, pots and pans provided at no charge!!! *FREE Off street parking *FREE WiFi available, two hours on arrival ($4 per 24 hour login logout) *Laundry room with washers, dryer, ironing board and iron *Lounge/TV room with wet weather movie days organized *All rooms serviced daily *Lending library *Safe and secure 24 hour access ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Backpackers by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers By The Bay Hotel Airlie Beach
Backpackers By The Bay Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing