We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airlie Waterfront Backpackers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Staying in a 4 bed room with a private bathroom, our own TV and fridge. Such a fantastic first impression. Lovely staff especially Fiona.For $22.50 a night, you can't go wrong. Excellent location and free Internet. Almost like a hotel and for a backpacker that's luxury!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mur345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    48
    38
    14
    19
See reviews for
4
44
37
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Kilda, Victoria, Australia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2013

i believe the prices to be reasonable for the area, and unless you end up in "the loft", the rooms are relatively spacious. well located without being in the centre of the strip, the kitchen is truly disgusting and nothing much in it works except for the stinking and mould fridges filled with ancient food. actually, that's a lie, their fridge was broken during my stay, according to the sign. lots and lots of stairs, which really is something i feel all backpackers (places, not people) ought to, and don't, consider.

Room Tip: depending on how much you want to spend, you may end up staying with a lot more people than expected...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kittentravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2013

My mates and I stayed at Airlie Beach Waterfront backpackers on Australia day the room had 10 beds in it which was what we needed for our large group! the location was really central to the clubs, bars, restaurants and lagoon and there was also private parking down stairs. The room was large with two showers and one toilet ( not communal ) it was very tidy with a balcony of our room and a good aircon the main down fall was there was no bar fridge in the room for us to put our drinks and food in so we had to cart our eskies up three flights of stairs. We only stayed there one night which personally was long enough for me as I like a more luxurious accommodation but for a quick trip on a budget this place is idea pretty ideal

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

Airlie Waterfront Backpackers is in on the beachfront. We stayed in one of the double rooms and it did not feel like we were even in a hostel. The rooms are basic but clean with good air con, a fridge, a balcony and en suite. The reception are very helpful and you can book all trips via them (there is a company in the same reception area that book trips too). We booked an airport transfer via the hostel which again was very easy, we were picked up from outside of the hostel. I would recommend this hostel if a couple are looking to save money and not stay in a hostel that has a big bar open all hours which therefore is quite noisy!

Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Gwebbecca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2013

After reading comments on this i was worried about staying here.Was much better than expected.Stayed in the 18 dorm and air con was great etc. Some of the staff on the reception were lovely and so helpful.It is part of a shopping centre in the middle but its great and has fantastic food!Especially the indian restaurant!I'd definitely stay here again if i go back.Brilliant location as well and views of the beach from the balcony's.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Janeybabe7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012 via mobile

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 8 nights, really nice views, the room was a 15 bed dorm, quiet enough and air con is very good, only down fall is the deposits, 80 dollars in all (two keys and cutlery sets)

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Shane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bremen, Germany
Level Contributor
102 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 November 2012

We stayed at Airlie Waterfront Backpackers for two nights during a Whitsunday tour. I was not impressed by this hostel. It is part of a rundown shopping center. Downstairs are a couple of restaurants, a laundry ands take away places, upstairs are more restaurtants, a large open space (the hostel common area) and the dorms open from that open space. It does not feel closed off from the public. Our room was a four bed dorm and was really small for four people with luggage. It had an ensuite bathroom, but no windows which made it seem even more crammed. To get air you needed to use the A/C - naturally people were either too hot or too cold with that. The hostel had no character whatsoever, price was ok, location excellent - close to the bus station, loads of shops and restaurants, yet a 25 minute walk to the harbour.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dulin38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#36 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#22 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Airlie Beach Resort
Base Airlie Beach Resort
#39 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Waterfront Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Waterfront Backpackers

Property: Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
Address: 6 Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Hotel Class:2 star — Airlie Waterfront Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza with its high cathedral peaked roofs, open plan mezzanine style architecture and being uniquely positioned right on the beach off the esplanade with dramatic views of the Whitsunday Island's makes it the perfect place to visit in our beautiful Airlie Beach. We are an iconic multilevel shopping centre, filled with a variety of excellent restaurants, conference centre, business centre, en-suite hotel rooms, shops and a small upmarket backpackers hostel. We are the ideal venue to visit for all day dining as we have an array of food establishment's with great views of Airlie Beach. Airlie Waterfront Backpackers is Airlie Beach's FLASHPACKERS. Refurbished in September 2008, our hostel boasts a fantastic central location 500 meters easy walk from the bus station and only minutes away from the swimming lagoon. Located on The Esplanade, our hostel is directly opposite the beach with million dollar sea views out to Whitsunday Islands and offers a great range of budget accommodation to suit all types of backpackers and travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Airlie Waterfront Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing