We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation
Reviewed 28 October 2013

We stayed there 2 nights before our trip and I night after. A private room and balcony. Very clean, free wifi. Staff also arranged 3 day trip on Kiana. Good value & opposite beach with car park for our hire car. Staff were so helpful, one phone call and in ten minutes had arranged our accommodation & sailing trip.

Room Tip: Room with balcony was lovely.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blueygwyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (162)
There are newer reviews for Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 162 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2013

Stayed here recently before we did the Whitsunday's Tour. Stayed in a 14bed dorm which was very tight for room but at 17 dollars a night you can't complain. The location is perfect as it's right in the middle of the town. We dealt with Kelly found her lovely-very helpful and accommodating! They also allowed us to storage baggage with them for 5dollars which was so handy!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HereandThere1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2013 via mobile

Lovely room. Got upgraded to a double with private bathroom. Just what we needed after 3 days on a boat trip! Nice and clean and room serviced every day. Room in middle of a mall which was a bit strange but kinda nice. Opposite side of road from beach. Definately recommend as other people told us that the other hostels in airlie arent very nice.
This is the second time we have stayed here!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2Welshtravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2013

Stayed in an en-suite air-conditioned double room (with a balcony) with my mum during our travels around Australia, we were here for 1 night and were very impressed. There was free wifi - which was easily accessible from the communal area. The hostel was very clean and tidy and the staff were extremely friendly & helpful. The hostel is perfectly situated right opposite the beach and a 5 minute walk to the lagoon, it is also very close to the shops/nightclubs, and is part of an amazing plaza of restaurants to feast your eyes on! Overall a great experience. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SurferDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013 via mobile

I have no idea what the nicer balcony private rooms were like, as we stayed in the cheapest only available room - a $70 unadvertised "internal" no window room for 3 nights. Clean room.

The location of the backpackers is great. They had undercover free parking for our car. I didn't use the facilities that most backpackers use ie kitchen or bag storage.

I did utilize the reception staff when we booked over the phone. A lady whose name started with "a" (can't remeber) was very helpful in suggesting we book the day trip we were interested in due to it being Easter and not much being left. We luckily booked a 3 island tour (cheaper than others on same tour). Very good tour.

When booking in we didn't have the same super helpful staff member and a couple infront were taking forever with onward bookings. The staff member didn't acknowledge us for at least 20mins whilst she dealt with them / waited on phone (no ill be with you in a min!). The couple however did apologize!

Major negatives - bed had springs I could feel and was quite uncomfortable. Aircon was so shaky it could be left on then had to be turned off to sleep - not great in a room with no windows.

Major major negatives - Vacuuming of areas outside room at 4.30am!!!!! And restaurant / bar noise till midnight (room opened up onto restaurant / bar / food court) So not too many hours of undisturbed sleep there.

Shower / toilet good!

I'm sure there are much better private rooms - however we WERE looking for budget so you must weigh these things up.

No nighttime security. Heard a backpacker sleeping in the stairwell ...it was however peak Easter holiday time - possibly the place at its busiest...

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruatraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013 via mobile

Staying in a 4 bed room with a private bathroom, our own TV and fridge. Such a fantastic first impression. Lovely staff especially Fiona.For $22.50 a night, you can't go wrong. Excellent location and free Internet. Almost like a hotel and for a backpacker that's luxury!

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mur345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

i believe the prices to be reasonable for the area, and unless you end up in "the loft", the rooms are relatively spacious. well located without being in the centre of the strip, the kitchen is truly disgusting and nothing much in it works except for the stinking and mould fridges filled with ancient food. actually, that's a lie, their fridge was broken during my stay, according to the sign. lots and lots of stairs, which really is something i feel all backpackers (places, not people) ought to, and don't, consider.

Room Tip: depending on how much you want to spend, you may end up staying with a lot more people than expected...
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kittentravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#25 of 57 in Airlie Beach
42 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#43 of 57 in Airlie Beach
534 reviews
0.4 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 57 in Airlie Beach
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#31 of 57 in Airlie Beach
190 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
176 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#20 of 57 in Airlie Beach
495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation

Address: 6 Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £64 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 7 double balcony ensuite rooms7 standard ensuite rooms 1 four share balcony ensuite 1 four share standard room and 2 twin ensuite balcony rooms and 2 standard twin share rooms we are right in the heart of airlie beach on site is a huge kitchen with everything you need and balconys around the building with beautiful ocean views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and HostelWorld so you can book your Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing