We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation
Reviewed 26 April 2014 via mobile

Thought it was very decent for the cost per night! Great location, walking distance to everything! Located just above some great restaurants. Bunks were comfy, rooms and bathrooms were pretty clean overall! Plenty of information available for things to do. Great stay!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Zippyzam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

73 - 79 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night during Easter before an expedition to the islands. Kelly and Cheryl were friendly, upbeat and went above and beyond to help us out. Nice view from balcony, Rooms and bathrooms were clean. We thought it was great! Thanks heaps guys.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Craig S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Location of the hostel is very good, 8 dorm with bathroom was clean and cool, beds ok. The 17 dorm is too crowded and hot though (only 2 fans). Staff was very friendly and helpfull booking a Whitsundays trip.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marianne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We stayed here for Xmas. The rooms were ok but very small, we had a four bed dorm which had its own bathroom. The worst bit was ... It's so unsociable! Its difficult to explain but the rooms/ hostel is not attached to the reception . You have to leave reception , walk through a food court to get to your room and your room will be No where near any other rooms. There is no communal area apart from th kitchen which no one would use. Wouldn't reccomended if your a solo traveller it's just odd and the cleaners would knock on our door, peep in and not clean anything or change our bins :/

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mccanna2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We had a great time at this hostel, the receptionists were incredibly nice and informative of the hotel layout and amenities.

We stayed in the 17 room dorm and initially we were taken a back and slightly apprehensive with the set up, it was just one long corridor with beds right down each side. As it turned out, this was a brilliant set up, much better than I had anticipated. Everyone had enough room that people didn't make noise to get access to their belongings when they came in late at night, it wasn't a very private set up but that really didn't bother me at all. As a whole, the people we shared the room with were incredibly polite and aware of each other which mean't we were very rarely disturbed.

As you can imagine from the name of this hostel, it has a prime location on the waterfront of Airlie Beach. Airlie Beach isn't a big place so it is a short walk from the main street and less than a 5 minute walk to the lagoon which is perfect on a nice day. It is a 40 minute walk to Coles which is well worth it for larger shops as the supermarkets in the heart of Airlie Beach are expensive.

The kitchen wasn't the biggest, but we didn't really have any trouble using any of the facilities and it was always kept clean. The are multiple areas to sit around and socialise with some of the other guests. My one and only criticism was the WiFi barely worked, they blamed the weather the first night we were there which we actually believed, but the next 4 days were beautiful and the internet was still not working. We might have been unlucky.

All in all, I thoroughly enjoyed our time at this hostel and would have no hesitation staying here again if we ever visit Airlie Beach again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oliverwaddington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Some of the staff were absolutely great and helped loads but others were rude and didnt want anything to do with us!
Really nice kitchen which is never busy but its a shame you have to pay a 20 dollar deposit every time you want to use kitchen utensils. I was with 2 friends and some of the staff trusted us to bring it back so we didnt need the deposit, others made us go to the cashpoint to get 60 dollars out just to borrow some plates for breakfast.
Other than that it was a good location, especially if you're doing a whitsunday sailing trip (They also let you leave bags with them for 5 dollars whilst you are on your trip which is helpful)
4 bed dorm was well equipped with good bathroom facilities

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JoshDeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013 via mobile

Before going on a three day sailing trip in the Whitsundays, we were looking for a cheap room for one night in Airlie Beach. We chose a private double room at the Waterfront Backpackers.
The room was small, just big enough to fit a double bed in it, and had no windows.
Air was provided through vents to the hallway, hence we heard every step of other guests.
But the hostel in general was very quiet, so this was no big issue.
As we had breakfast at a shop in Airlie, we cannot rate the kitchen. We'd recommend the waterfront backpackers for travelers on a tight budget, that don't want one of those "party hostels".

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Puschelgang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Heart Hotel and Gallery Whitsundays
1.1 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
179 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#18 of 56 in Airlie Beach
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#30 of 56 in Airlie Beach
192 reviews
0.3 mi away
Colonial Court Holiday Apartments
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#23 of 56 in Airlie Beach
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation

Address: 6 Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £62 - £83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We have 7 double balcony ensuite rooms7 standard ensuite rooms 1 four share balcony ensuite 1 four share standard room and 2 twin ensuite balcony rooms and 2 standard twin share rooms we are right in the heart of airlie beach on site is a huge kitchen with everything you need and balconys around the building with beautiful ocean views ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing