We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY AT THIS DIRTHOLE!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaches Backpackers
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY AT THIS DIRTHOLE!!!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Notes:
-Dirty room (stayed in a 10 bed female dorm...room was never ever cleaned for the 3 days we were there; see picture below...that grub was in the room sink for 3 days!)
-Dirty bathroom (bathroom was never cleaned either...shower drain clogged, so you were wading in everyone's filth)
-Dirty dirty kitchen ("cleaned" every morning, but a terrible job)
-Staff didn't really seem to care about the hygiene of the place
-Dirty pool (didn't set foot in it, looked discusting)
-Very run down
-We checked out a day early because we couldn't stand to stay any longer (checked into X-Base down the road which was AMAZING!)

The bar at Beaches is fun, but stay somewhere else (highly recommend X-Base!), and go to Beaches for a drink.
Thank you for reading :)

Room Tip: Don't stay here! Stay at X-Base down the road!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

185 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    39
    47
    37
    40
See reviews for
1
37
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

I have stayed at hostels and hotels around the world and have to say this is by far the worst I have ever seen. It is dirty and really hot and the staff are extremely rude.
Check-in was slow and we were asked to come back later as our room was not yet prepared. Also after check out they flat out refused to give our key deposit money back even though we returnded the key as they had no record of us staying there. I kept saying look we paid and we stayed and I am handing you the key and they still refused to give us our key deposit money back.
Just dont stay here there are plenty of better backpackers in town that have nicer rooms and nicer staff

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank towner29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Backpacking as a couple we stayed at Beaches Backpackers for one night in early Feb 2012. We paid $22 p/n each for an eight bed a/c dorm bed. The dorm had a small balcony and en suite bathroom and the price included free breakfast. We would not recommend staying here, it was one of the worst places we've stayed in Australia and there has to be better in Airlie (we've heard good things about Nomads).

We arrived and were given 2 sets of keys to our dorm, neither of which worked properly (they must have been copies of copies) which meant we spent the first 15mins of our stay just trying to get into the room with the people inside wondering what the hell was going on. Out wasn't a big deal but it wasn't a great start - we mentioned it to the lady on the desk and she didn't seem bothered.

The room itself was clean and spacious, with reading lights on the wall between each bunk bed meaning that if one person wanted to read, the while room didn't need to be lit up. However, the a/c wasn't strong enough to cool the whole room which meant everybody was roasting, and the bar downstairs played live music until gone midnight which meant no sleep - all everyone in the dorm wanted was a good night's sleep before going off on their respective boat trips in the morning! As for the bathroom, the en suite door didn't close properly and the tap in there dripped all night.

The kitchen was the worst we've seen anywhere in Australia. It was filthy. There were dirty dishes lying around, the work surfaces were uncleaned, the sink was full of dishes, food and dirty water and was presumably blocked. Trying to cook in there was pretty grim. Whilst we know that the staff don't make the place dirty, they have to come up with a system that ensures that the guests who want to cook food in a clean and hygienic environment actually can.

As the free breakfast was based out of the kitchen it was a predictably chaotic affair with cereal everywhere and only one working toaster to provide toast for all of the guests - ridiculous.

Have a look elsewhere in Airlie as this place isn't worth the money that you pay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank willomanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
291 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed at Magnums for my first few nights, but after my Whitsundays trip made some friends who had stayed at beaches so decided to stay there on my return. The room was of average quality, but the size of the room was pretty good. The best thing about this hostel is its location and bar. its located on the main strip and is good walking distance to most things. The bar at night is one of the best places to be and was packed everynight we went there, and the price was ok for drinks. Would stay again if i returned.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jayda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
215 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is a review for the bar at Beaches and not the hostel as I stayed elsewhere.

The bar looks onto the main street in Airlie. It's big and loud with plenty of seating in a few different areas. They offer drinks promotions and a long list of menu items to suit all tastes.

Sadly what I ordered didn't suit my taste. I opted for the steak burger with chips for AUD$12.90 and was very disappointed with the quality.

The food took ages to arrive, at least 30 minutes from ordering. When it did arrive my fries were overcooked and a bit cold. I should have really complained at the tijme, but I didn't fancy waiting another 30 minutes to get replacement food.

The burger wasn't great either. The bap had been a frozen one which I guess had been defrosted in the microwave. The meat was ok, but cold, and the other slad and dressing were not the most delicious I had encountered to date.

Overall the food here wasn't worth the money or the wait.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thejournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
450 reviews
0.1 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#40 of 54 in Airlie Beach
514 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#22 of 54 in Airlie Beach
417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
476 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#31 of 54 in Airlie Beach
182 reviews
0.1 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#7 of 10 in Airlie Beach
149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Backpackers

Property: Beaches Backpackers
Address: 356 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaches Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, affordable accommodation, friendly staff and an in-house bar with nightly entertainment makes Beaches the best place to stay in Airlie. Free wi-fi is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Beaches Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Airlie Beach Hotel Airlie Beach
South Beach Beaches
Beaches Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing