We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, GREAT location, inexpensive, and they have their own bar and restaurant!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaches Backpackers
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Clean, GREAT location, inexpensive, and they have their own bar and restaurant!!!!”
Reviewed 13 January 2013 via mobile

I stayed in Beaches for a total of eight days in Airlie while I waited for my whitsundays sailing trip. My favorite thing was the fact that I got to work for accommodation so I worked 2 hours a day housekeeping and cleaning then I didn't have to pay rent. Also the restaurant has really good food and EVERY day you get a voucher to have a meal that regularly costs $12 for $6 and that included a drink!!!! Not just rice and noodles fellow backpackers!!!! Steaks, chicken parmagiana, fish and chips, salads, anything you want!!!! The kitchen was small and very cramped during the day and didn't have that many pots and pans that had handles on them. The only inconvenience is having to take your room key to get plates, bowls and cutlery every time you want to cook and eat. Other than the kitchen, there really wasn't much else that I didn't enjoy!!! Enjoy your stay in Airlie!!!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadianTraveler158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    40
    47
    37
    40
See reviews for
2
37
45
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2013

Beaches is right next door to Nomads which apparently has nicer rooms but the rooms in Beaches are perfectly fine and clean so what more do you need, plus its about $10 cheaper than Nomads. The bar at Beaches is also great. Really cheap drink deals, lively, and you get a $6 meal deal which is excellent value for money. Great location right opposite the lagoon.

Room Tip: When I came back from the Whitsundays I was put in a room right over the bar which was obviously noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sophpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2012 via mobile

Room looked like a prison with 4 old beds in it. The beds were so old, they creaked loudly with the slightest movement! Sink was leaking and the place just looked like it needed updating. Positives I would say are the location and the $6.50 meal deal in the bar. The kitchen was also tiny and I didn't like the fact you had to hire a box of cutlery, most times with only a couple of things in it! Didn't use the pool but looked ok. I would not recommend this hostel if you are staying in airline beach.....

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Gem_Fallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

Moved here from the Nomads up the road to save some money but we wouldn't make the move again. It is a very basic hostel that is a bit dirty and not a great deal of character. It is however in an ideal location, very cheap and has a great bar that offers discounted food to guests (probably it's only reedeming feature). It's not a great place to stay if you're not a party goer as you will get woken up by other people coming in the early hours.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed here for one night in a Double room which was very spacious and had its bathroom/shower. The room we stayed in was away from the bar area so it was quite but we noticed all the dorm rooms were overlooking the bar, not a good idea if it is sleep you are after. The girl at the travel desk was very good to us and booked our Whitsundays tour at short notice and even sorted out Greyhound bus ticket to Cairns. When we got back from our Whitsundays tour 2 days later we were able to return to the hostel and have a shower before catching our bus! The only thing I didn't like about this place was they charged $6 to store our bags overnight, this service doesn't cost them anything and should be free to the customer like so many other hostels. All in all it was a perfect place to stay before a Whitsundays tour.

Room Tip: If you want a goods nights sleep you will have to book a double room away from the bar area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liam-in-Oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
179 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012 via mobile

If you're after the parties you're in for a treat. Beaches is one huge party hostel. Music is veeery loud and you can hear it clearly in the rooms. So if you're looking for peace and quite or need to sleep choose somewhere else. Beaches has a great meal deals and is located in a perfect spot, just opposite the lagoon.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Delicjaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 October 2012 via mobile

This is the sort of place you party NO SLEEP. Have to admit that the bar is cool and food is ok Go there for a drink & feed but dont book a bed
Rooms are pretty poor and need improvement (a lot) to make it up for their customers. Double glaze or ear plugs to keep it cheap

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bacpacpro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
466 reviews
0.1 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#42 of 54 in Airlie Beach
523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#25 of 54 in Airlie Beach
40 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#35 of 54 in Airlie Beach
185 reviews
0.2 mi away
Waterview Airlie Beach
Waterview Airlie Beach
#7 of 54 in Airlie Beach
174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Backpackers

Property: Beaches Backpackers
Address: 356 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaches Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, affordable accommodation, friendly staff and an in-house bar with nightly entertainment makes Beaches the best place to stay in Airlie. Free wi-fi is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Beaches Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Airlie Beach Hotel Airlie Beach
South Beach Beaches
Beaches Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing