We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't let the bed bugs bite :(”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Beaches Backpackers
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Cheap hostel per night. Was in a 10 bed dorm which is fine (I've been in a 16 bed dorm twice before). One bathroom between us all, with toilet, sink and shower all in one room. Cleanliness was the major issue for me, bathroom was disgusting - bugs crawling around. Then I get into bed after making it at 10pm - bugs all over me. I can take one or two, but after 30mins of squashing bugs, I had had enough. I was close to tears as reception closes at 8pm so I felt there was literally nothing I could do. My skin crawled all night so had a terrible nights sleep and was out of there at 7am when reception opened. Told reception about it and an apology was given but nothing more. I know it wasn't expensive to stay there but I did expect a clean bed bug free. I won't be going back there. Oh, and as you may see from other reviews, it has a loud public bar - not ideal if you do want to sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harijoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (190)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

117 - 123 of 190 reviews

Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

I stayed 3 nights in the hostel and I paid $30 per night. In comparison with other hostels where I also payed $30, beaches was from average to poor.

+big rooms
quite comfy beds
good deals in the bar
great location

-not that I wanted to go swimming but the pool wasn't accessible
just too expensive for what you get, e.g. the bathroom was in poor condition


But I don't know how the other hostels in Airlie Beach are.

Beaches was ok, I mean I slept well but in my opinion it was too expensive.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank G F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Stayed here for 1 night in a dorm. Lots of space and the bar was decent but smelt of damp and seemed a bit dirty. The pool was closed when we were there however you are really close to the lagoon so wasn't a problem

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrTravelPants86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed for 2 nights in a 8bed dorm$20/night each, with private bathroom. ..which at first sounds great ...its not! Busting for a pee when someones taking forever in the shower isnt fun! The room we was in was clean and had a sink ..looked like a old holiday rental no fridge but the air con worked and the room was cool thank god as we were above the kitchen of the bar so the floor was hot!
No lock on the balcony doors and no lockers! Very noisy and above thr bar
Beds were uncomfy but most hostels are! I didn't see bed bugs or get bitten must be certain rooms also this had lino flooring which is better too!
Reception was very helpful cant fault them
Kitchen was basic but clean one of the cleaner kitchen s iv been in!
No pool its been covered over with straw now!
Overall a cheap place to stay thats not horrific plud does $6.50 meals plus a drink which is excellent value

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stacey8484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

The cheap meals (which are huge and give you a drink) are the best part about beaches. Its in a good location right in the middle of the main street and we found the staff friendly.

Otherwise it isn't the nicest place. They do not meet you at the greyhound drop off like the other hostels, the rooms are basic but fine and with a small balcony and little kitchen sink area. The rooms are fairly big, but we didn't really go to the kitchen as it was dirty and smelly and the $6.50 meals were a better bet.

Stay here for a night before and after your Whitsunday's trip and its fine, any longer then you might want to find somewhere else. They will keep your bags whilst you are out on the boat for $5 in a locked storage room and there is a free day storage for before you check in/after you check out.

Location wise it is right by the lagoon which is where you will spend any time in the day as you can't go into the ocean in stinger season.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here after staying at Scottie's beach house @ mission beach and YHA @ cairns.
The room was pretty good comparing (def better than Scottie's - geez).
Felt pretty clean, looks like a very happy and vibrant place, a lot of young crowd.
The staff was really really nice and accommodating and helpful!
Central location.

All in all, it's a good place to stay at.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank chibban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 November 2013

If you're looking for a place to stay in airlie beach, I would advise never to stay in beaches. It's the dirtiest place I've stayed in while travelling trough Australia. Bedbugs, mold everywhere, dirty showers, completely disgusting kitchen and the pool is not even worth mentioning.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Elien L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#38 of 56 in Airlie Beach
618 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#23 of 56 in Airlie Beach
436 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#13 of 56 in Airlie Beach
577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#29 of 56 in Airlie Beach
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#46 of 56 in Airlie Beach
572 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaches Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaches Backpackers

Address: 356 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #45 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £14 - £45 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Beaches Backpackers 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A perfect location, affordable accommodation, friendly staff and an in-house bar with nightly entertainment makes Beaches the best place to stay in Airlie. Free wi-fi is available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Beaches Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaches Airlie Beach Hotel Airlie Beach
South Beach Beaches
Beaches Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing