We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Staff were lovley!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Airlie Beach YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airlie Beach YHA
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff were lovley!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights and didnt have any problems. The common area is a little unsociable but other than that the staff do all they can to help you meet other travellers (if you are by yourself) and they offer food deals every other day as well as movies nights on the days where there is no food deals. The kitchen facilites are cleaned daily and you cant fault them at all!
I stayed in a 6 share room and we had a private bathroom in our room which mean to really having to wait around to shower etc. The rooms were extremelly spacious and we had a nice big balcony as well that we could use to sit and relax on as well as dry our wet clothes (clothes horse provided)
The location is perfect too as Airlie isnt a big place but you are far enough away from the big party places to actually get some sleep which is always a bonus!
Overall I cant fault it!

Room Tip: I stayed in room 23 (6 share female) and it was beautiful and had air con!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    68
    50
    17
    12
See reviews for
11
61
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
melbourne
Level Contributor
57 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2011

If you travel by train up the Queensland coast the nearest stop is a short bus ride from Airlie Beach. The good thing is the bus goes down main street & stops almost outside the YHA.

Some of the reviews I read before visiting were not great but when I was there they were doing lots of improvements - all the little jobs that sometimes get left.

The staff were friendly & helpful & had lots of good advice on things to do. The room was an 8 bed dorm with 3 sets of bunks a bit to close together for me. The room had a shower & toilet which were cleaned each day. I mentioned to the front desk that the that the light was busted & they fixed it within an hour.

The kitchen & dinning area were clean & tidy & there is a great area for a BBQ just outside.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank timthetraveller_com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2011

We stayed in a private room and it was very clean and comfortable. We only had to share our bathroom with one other couple too! Towels were also provided. Dont stay here if you want a party atmosphere but you can easily walk down the road and make use of the other hostels bars in the evening

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah_5000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2011

I stayed for 4 nights in May 2010. I did a lot of research and read a lot of TA comments before deciding on this hostel. Not many hostels in Airlie Beach had good comments if one is not looking for a party place. It seems Airlie Beach Hostels don´t need to use a lot of efforts to get clients due to its popularity.
My friend and I wanted a twin room but nothing was available so we ended up in a 6bed dorm. It was actually ok though, quite spacious with ensuite bathroom. It was clean too. We were at teh back side of the building so it was actually quiet at night.
Location is a block from the beach and a bus stop is just outside.
There is an outside sitting area, large kitchen and a common room with TV.
Reception staff is very friendly and helpful and will also help in booking daytrips etc.
Would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holidaytravelfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berry, NSW
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 December 2010

My husband and I stayed here for one night with an overseas visitor. The place was dirty and smelled. The pub next door was very noisy and continued so until the small hours. The whole place could do with a good scrub, and the bedding a good airing. The rooms were very small, just enough to sidle around the foot of the bed and the side nearest the wall. The reception staff were pleasant.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChloeBerry_NSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Scotland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2010

Good kitchen area, but rooms are like prison cells. Great location on the strip but not too noisy. We stayed here for three nights, Magnums for one, both times in a double room. I think Magnums is better.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JT1985
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2010

The YHA is directly behind a nighclub that is very loud until 3am. Fine if your at the nightclub, a very sound sleeper or a party animal.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#22 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 418 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#25 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#41 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 514 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#7 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Beach YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Beach YHA

Property: Airlie Beach YHA
Address: 394 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Airlie Beach YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie Beach YHA backpackers hostel is located in the centre of Airlie Beach close to the swimming lagoon, restaurants, cafes and nightlife that Airlie has to offer. The hostel offers multi-share, double and twin rooms with private balconies. All hostel rooms are air-conditioned and the twin and double rooms have shared bathroom facilities with only one other room. Backpackers facilities include swimming pool, tour desk, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), kitchen, laundry, dining and TV room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Booking.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Airlie Beach YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Yha Hotel Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach YHA Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing