We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay”
Review of Airlie Beach YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airlie Beach YHA
Reviewed 6 March 2013

Nice place to stay, good facilities and well located in the city. 5 minutes walk from the greyhound stop.
Shower and toilets are available for guests if you need to take a shower even after check out.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jojomillenium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (201)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

111 - 117 of 201 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2013

The girl on reception was one of the friendliest, most helpful people we have met in Australia - and that's a high standard. We took a twin room and were very comfortable. There's a good, well appointed kitchen, good fridge space, nice TV room with sofas, and the staff are incredibly helpful. Both our Whitsunday tours were booked in a flash. After our second day on a boat we decided to stay a further night rather than get on the road, and we were put in an empty 6 dorm. Really, really good of them. Would highly recommend if you are looking for comfortable, budget accommodation in Airlie but don't want the noise etc that comes with the on site bar at Magnum's.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2013

YHA is away from all the other hostels attached to pubs and clubs and features a nice pool, serviceable kitchen and TV room, and the staff there are willing to help pick out tours. Based on the price I felt that sharing a double room was the best idea, as the dorms had limited showers to share and it gets VERY humid at Airlie Beach. There were others that told dreadful stories about roomies that fought over the air conditioning at night, so save the hassle and get a normal two-bed room and share it, that was you get your own cooling and you share a bathroom with one other room.
The bedrooms are typical hostel rooms with plastic coverings, so be prepared for some uncomfortable nights if you've never tried this type of accomodation before.
All that aside, it is good value for money and they give everyone here vouchers to eat at Beaches for lunch and dinner which allow travellers on a budget a good, large meal and drink for $6.50 (normally $13).
Value for money, definately worth staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Impydevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

We spent 1 night in the family room at the YHA before a Whitsunday sailing trip. We chose this room as it was the only private room available despite it only being the 2 of us. The room was basic but functional and met all our requirements and had a/c. It was clean and bedding/towels were included. A laundry is available at $3 per wash and dry and there is a small pool, TV room and shared kitchen. Wifi was also available at a charge. The staff were friendly and helpful.
If you want a cheap stay this might be an option. For us it was a little over priced but we were staying peak season and a late booking. This is particularly when you expected to strip your own bed, ok for a YHA but not at hotel prices.

Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank longhaullovers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I have stayed here before and it was not great but ok. This time I had a bed in a dorm room, there was no fan, only one unscreened window/door and the air con was not working so it was EXTREMELY hot all night! When I told reception about the air con she said 'you need to use a remote from another room'. I explained it was on but not cooling at all, and she said they were waiting on parts. Not very apologetic, I think we should have had a discount because we expected the room to have air con (middle of summer). Also when we checked in there were 4 people in queue and only one receptionist so it took ages. We were going to stay another night but couldn't wait to leave.

Room Tip: Double check the air con is working
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Airlie Beach YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Airlie Beach YHA. We take all customer feedback very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to write to us.

At outset, I would like to apologise for the inconvenience caused by the problem you had with the air con in your room. Since your response I have spoken to the hostel manager, who has attended to this issue as a priority to ensure this situation doesn't occur again.

Thank you again for your feedback, as it is a valuable tool, which assists us to monitor our performance.

Kind Regards,


Anouk
Operations Assistant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2013

After just spending 2 nights at the above hostel, I found the staff here extremely helpful & friendly. Anna on the front desk helped us book our day trip over to the Whitsundays and gave us a great recommendation for the boat to go with! Anna you are a star! :)
The hostel was great, very well kept, the room I stayed in was a 6 bed shared dorm, with it's own bathroom, & balcony. Very impressed with the hostel here, would definitely stay here again.
Situated right near the all the local shops, restaurants and bars, and a few minutes from the main beach and the Lagoon. And also very close to the Port if you are thinking of daytripping to the Whitsunday Islands.
If you want value for money and helpful friendly people, then I would recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kwm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

before and after sailing in the withe sunday's we stayed in this hostel, with a cosy courtyard, well equiped kitchen en ok clean rooms. We stayed in a double with shared facility's, very well orginazed and helpfull staff!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sandra_in_zweden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#13 of 57 in Airlie Beach
577 reviews
0.3 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#23 of 57 in Airlie Beach
436 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#38 of 57 in Airlie Beach
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#46 of 57 in Airlie Beach
573 reviews
1.1 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#4 of 8 in Cannonvale
183 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kipara Tropical Rainforest Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Beach YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Beach YHA

Address: 394 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 57 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £33 - £54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airlie Beach YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie Beach YHA backpackers hostel is located in the centre of Airlie Beach close to the swimming lagoon, restaurants, cafes and nightlife that Airlie has to offer. The hostel offers multi-share, double and twin rooms with private balconies. All hostel rooms are air-conditioned and the twin and double rooms have shared bathroom facilities with only one other room. Backpackers facilities include swimming pool, tour desk, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), kitchen, laundry, dining and TV room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, HostelWorld, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Ebookers so you can book your Airlie Beach YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Yha Hotel Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach YHA Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing