We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and decent value”
Review of Airlie Beach YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Airlie Beach YHA
Reviewed 15 September 2013

A friend and I rented a double room on two different occasions. The first time we were given two single beds and the second stay we were given a bunk bed. The front desk staff were good when it came to matching Agoda's rates and were good with short term notice with extending our stay. The rooms are pretty average and the bathrooms are clean for a hostel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rutty6699
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

91 - 97 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

We got into Airlie Beach on a Wednesday morning, saw the YHA, having not booked a hostel and went in to book a boat tour and accomodation. The staff were friendly and really helpful and got us sorted on a boat and a nights stay either side of the trip. We were provided with a 50% off food voucher for a bar on the main road and free storage of our backpacks and valuables in a safe while on the trip.

We had a 6 bed mixed dorm which had only my friend and me staying in it both nights. The room had a balcony and a bathroom/ shower. The accomodation was basic, but then what do you expect from a hostel. It was clean and after a heavy night on our last night they even allowed us to sleep off the hangovers in our room past check out time.

We were very pleased with the service and help the staff provided us as they made our trip to the Whitsundays so easy.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sls639
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

We booked a private twin room and even if the room was really small that was enough for 2 nights.
We shared the bathroom with the other private room but it was clean and it worked out well!
We could hear people partying in the room next to us but since they stopped before midnight we can't complain!! It's a youth hostel so we didn't expect a quiet place anyway but when we saw the other hostel with bar inside, I think we picked the good one for the quietness!
Otherwise, the hostel is conveniently located.
The lady at the reception was really nice and advised us to take the scenic flight for our transfer to Hamilton island which was the best idea ever!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank estrella3513
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

We booked a private double at the Airlie Beach YHA because it was close to the bus link to the railway station in Prosperpine and we had an early train to catch. Having stayed in hostels worldwide I don't think we had unreasonable expectations - we wanted something cheap and cheerful and expected it to be clean, comfortable but fairly basic. We booked through booking.com and both their website, our booking confirmation and the YHA website said that the private doubles had a balcony, which was a bonus.

Sadly our room was absolutely grim - it felt like a prison cell, but it was clearly a disused commercial kitchen with a bed stuck in (it had dark tiled floors with gap along one wall where the appliances would have been, two harsh fluorescent strip lights with no alternative light, and electrical sockets were all at worktop height which meant that to plug in your mobile phone you had to leave it dangling from the socket). The room did not have balcony, in fact it didn't even have a proper window. The windows were small, frosted and high in the wall but only three quarters of their length was covered by a blind. I have stayed in hostels all over Europe and America and this room was by far the worst accommodation I've come across.

The hostel was noisy, which we expected because it is on Airlie Beach's main strip. There was noise from live music being played in a bar nearby. What was unacceptable was the noise created by the cleaner servicing the communal bathroom next to our room after 11.30pm which woke us both. My husband complained about the loud banging outside our door so late at night, but the cleaner didn't seem to know there was a bedroom behind the door!

The bed was uncomfortable - squeaky metal frame with a thin mattress that sagged in the middle. It added to the impression of being in a prison cell.

We didn't complain at the time because we arrived shortly before reception closed and had to leave before it reopened in the morning. I emailed the youth hostel, the YHA and booking.com weeks ago to complain about the standard of the room and how it was advertised, and have yet to receive a response. I'm particularly annoyed because the room wasn't very cheap and I'm sure we could have gotten something better for the money if the YHA had been honest about what they were offering.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MhoMho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Airlie Beach YHA, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2013

Dear Mhoraig,

First of all I would like to apologize again for the experience you had during your stay at Airlie Beach YHA. Hopefully you will have received our initial response sent directly to your email address, outlining the issues you raised?

In the initial correspondence we received from you, we were not made aware of the problems you had regarding the noise made by a cleaner late at night. The hostel manager has since been notified about this and has discussed this with his housekeeping staff to ensure this situation doesn't reoccur.

If you have any further questions or concerns please feel free to contact us directly.

Kind Regards,

Anouk

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Booked a double room with private bath and was satisfied with the cleanliness of the place. First time to stay at a YHA and glad we have chosen this. The bed is OK, linens and towels are provided free and are clean. Staff arefriendly and accommodating - they let us store our luggage for free. The hostel was very accessible to bus stops, bars and restaurants. Will stay again.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Chic_chef81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

Stayed a night with my 15 yr old daughter prior to going on a scuba adventure. We stayed in a private twin room on the street side for $78; the room was clean but small with a twin over queen bunkbed but had a balcony and A/C and was adequate space for us. Shared bathroom with the next room but was clean and worked out fine. Common areas were excellent for backpackers/hostellers with a nice kitchen and a terrific tv room/lounge, although one of the laundry room dryers was out of order. Even a small swimming pool (but it was a bit too cold for us to use). The staff were very friendly and helpful. Only minor complaint was a bit of street noise in the middle of the night due to on-going construction. Definitely the best of the YHA hostels we stayed in.

Room Tip: For a more quiet sleep try to get a room in the back not overlooking the main street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Walter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Great location, Surprisingly quiet considering its central location. Friendly staff and a comfortable place to stay. The hostel was kept nice and clean however It's a little dated and our room was a little cramped but all together it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#20 of 56 in Airlie Beach
431 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnums Airlie Beach
Magnums Airlie Beach
#19 of 56 in Airlie Beach
504 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 56 in Airlie Beach
538 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#45 of 56 in Airlie Beach
537 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Waterfront Motel & Budget Accommodation
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#25 of 56 in Airlie Beach
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Beach YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Beach YHA

Address: 394 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 56 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range: £17 - £58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Airlie Beach YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie Beach YHA backpackers hostel is located in the centre of Airlie Beach close to the swimming lagoon, restaurants, cafes and nightlife that Airlie has to offer. The hostel offers multi-share, double and twin rooms with private balconies. All hostel rooms are air-conditioned and the twin and double rooms have shared bathroom facilities with only one other room. Backpackers facilities include swimming pool, tour desk, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), kitchen, laundry, dining and TV room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia and Ebookers so you can book your Airlie Beach YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Yha Hotel Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach YHA Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing