We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location, nice hostel.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airlie Beach YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Airlie Beach YHA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic location, nice hostel.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights here and the hostel is very well located, it is right on the main street but just far enough from the noisy bars. The rooms have balconies and the rooms and bathrooms are very clean. There is free parking in the hostel too. The kitchen was well equipped and kept clean too. The staff were very friendly and very helpful and knowledgeable with tourist information. We really enjoyed our stay here and would certainly go back to the YHA.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    31
    68
    49
    17
    12
See reviews for
10
61
47
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

May not look like much on first glance, a little bit run down and the place could do with a bit of TLC, but for budget accommodation this place has everything you need and is clean. Good sized kitchen, dorm rooms were well air-conditioned, each had its own bathroom and lockers. I just wish they would provide soap!! Backpackers need soap! Very friendly staff.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank emkay33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
202 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for four nights in room 8 private double facing the restaurants. Small but clean room. Had good size balcony. Great location right on the high street. Brilliant kitchen- very well equipped and plenty of space and utensils. Lounge area was good if you wanted to watch a film or watch some tv. We were luckily came across English Channel so made a nice change! For the money this hostel is good if you want a calm-non party good located and clean place to stay.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank ANNIEWILKS100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 April 2014

This is hostel is alright... but nothing more. It was not particularly clean, there was also a distinct lack of sockets in my room. Whilst in a good location, staff were not particularly helpful, and actually quite surly. I stayed in Backpackers by the Bay the following night, and although the accommodation was actually worse, I had a better experience..

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bjcox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnoukVDV, Operations Assistant at Airlie Beach YHA, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear Bjcox,

Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Airlie Beach YHA. We take all customer feedback very seriously and appreciate you taking the time to write to us.

First of all I am disappointed to hear about the expereince you had while staying at Airlie Beach YHA, as it is not the usual feedback we receive. Since your feedback I have spoken to the hostel manager who has addressed your feedback with the staff, to ensure we deliver an exceptional level of customer service and maintain a high standard of cleanliness at all times.

Thanks again for your feedback , it is a valuable tool which assists us to monitor our performance.

Kind Regards,


Anouk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

Stayed at Airlie for 3 nights in March in a private room. We had a ground floor room and our balcony wasn't usable as it looked out onto lots of trees and bushes to shield it from the road. It didn't get any sun at all. The room was very basic, literally just a double bed which is annoying, a bedside table would have been useful. Also the only plug socket was right at the top of the wall, practically next to the ceiling which made it very hard to charge our phones. Bathroom was good as we only shared with one other room so lovely and clean. Great location, literally the closest to the greyhound stop (10 min walk with luggage). Lots of places to eat around. An annoying fact is there isn't a Coles/Woolworths nearby so if you want groceries you'll pay an extortionate amount for awful choice either in the Night Owl or local independent supermarket. Rubbish. Kitchen facilities in hostel were very good, new hobs and even a toasted sandwich maker.

Overall, decent accommodation. Bit pricey but very clean and quiet.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chloe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

We stayed here for two nights in a private room with a shared bathroom. Room was small, but had a double/single bunk bed. We had a small balcony area to the front of the street which made the room feel a little more spacious!

Only came across staff when we were checking in/out, but they were polite and friendly. The complex itself was a little run down and could do with a few quid being invested into it - but was very clean and the aircon in the room really good. Its pretty central and good value. We were out all day/night so it was just a place to lay our heads.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nootalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2014 via mobile

Great specious room with individual plug sockets for each bed. Nice bathroom with shower. Very good aircon. Good size communal areas with a nice pool. Extremely central. Very happy with this place after some bad experiences. Only downfall is the extremely poor staircase at the back of the building. How they get away with that is beyond me. Take it easy on the stairs.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank AMB8410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#22 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#30 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 471 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#28 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Airlie Beach Resort
Base Airlie Beach Resort
#39 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beaches Backpackers
Beaches Backpackers
#49 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Beach YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Beach YHA

Property: Airlie Beach YHA
Address: 394 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Airlie Beach YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie Beach YHA backpackers hostel is located in the centre of Airlie Beach close to the swimming lagoon, restaurants, cafes and nightlife that Airlie has to offer. The hostel offers multi-share, double and twin rooms with private balconies. All hostel rooms are air-conditioned and the twin and double rooms have shared bathroom facilities with only one other room. Backpackers facilities include swimming pool, tour desk, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), kitchen, laundry, dining and TV room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Airlie Beach YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Yha Hotel Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach YHA Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing