We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An OK place to stay”
Review of Airlie Beach YHA

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Airlie Beach YHA
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
530 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“An OK place to stay”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This is clean and tidy accommodation. It's just off the beachfront on the main street. There is only room for three cars though, but there is free parking round the corner if you have a car and don't find a space. It's an OK place to stay if you're at Airlie Beach.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BT3rd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    68
    50
    17
    13
See reviews for
11
62
48
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gavleborg County, Sweden
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2014

we got there in the evening, checked into our private rooms. we shared a toilet with the room next door. parking places are limited, because YHA only have 3 parking spaces .. the night was quiet and comfortable and we dident heard any noise from outside.
restaurant across the street that also had sports betting had excellent pasta. really good food.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Airlie Beach YHA sits at the end of the main street of the small tiny town. It's next to domino pizza restaurant and 'The Phoenix bar & nightclub', 2 minutes' walk from the supermarket' woolworth'. The staff there are very attentive and they will help you plan and advise your trips. The kitchen is clean and well-equipped and I could even find chopsticks there, which is very suprising to many people like me who only use chopsticks to eat. :) There is a small tiny swimming pool inside the yard but at night the water could be very cold. One interesting thing about this YHA is that all the luggages are stored in a garage. You need to borrow a 'penguin key' from the reception counter, use it to unlock the padlock and store all the luggages by yourself. As this is off-peak seaon, the hostel is under-occupied. So I could stay in a six-bedded dorm alone for two nights!

Room Tip: I will recommend you to stay on the top floor to have a better view of the yard from your own balcon...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dearmeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Great hostel. Nice and chilled. Near the nightlife but not in the thick of it.
Staff great that helped me book my YHA in Mission Beach, Greyhound and a sailing trip.
Cheap too!
I really enjoyed my stay here.
I'll be back.

Room Tip: Dorms are great. They all have balconies which was a nice surprise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_all_the_way1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed here for one night prior to heading out to Hook island to camp. We were not expected much.. just a place to sleep and organise ourselves - but i did not even want to sleep in the room due to the amount of mould on the ceiling (we stayed in a private double room). I know hostels aren't always the nicest place but i could not stand being in that room without worrying about my health. God knows how much mould etc was in the aircon too!

The only highlight was the location. Maybe the other rooms are better but it was disgusting - definitely do not stay their if you have any respiratory problems or if you are staying for an extended period of time!

Room Tip: Do NOT stay in a double room! We were in room 1 (i think)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sydneyannak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YHA_Hostels, Public Relations Manager at Airlie Beach YHA, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Sydneyannak3,

We are really sorry that you didn't enjoy your recent stay with Airlie Beach YHA. We take all comments, good and bad, very seriously and I have passed your feedback onto the hostel manager so that we can take action.

Since your stay this room has been de-moulded thoroughly. Airlie Beach is sometimes humid during summer months, which can cause mould, however our housekeeping staff do inspect rooms daily and we do have procedures in place should mould occur. Our hostel manager has discussed these procedures again with housekeeping and maintenance staff at our recent team meeting.

Next time you visit please make sure you let someone know during your stay if there are any issues, so we have a chance to try and fix the issue to make your stay more enjoyable. One of our staff members would have tried to move you to another room that was more suitable.

We hope you enjoyed your visit to Airlie Bach. Thank you once again for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Airlie Beach hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights here and the hostel is very well located, it is right on the main street but just far enough from the noisy bars. The rooms have balconies and the rooms and bathrooms are very clean. There is free parking in the hostel too. The kitchen was well equipped and kept clean too. The staff were very friendly and very helpful and knowledgeable with tourist information. We really enjoyed our stay here and would certainly go back to the YHA.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014 via mobile

May not look like much on first glance, a little bit run down and the place could do with a bit of TLC, but for budget accommodation this place has everything you need and is clean. Good sized kitchen, dorm rooms were well air-conditioned, each had its own bathroom and lockers. I just wish they would provide soap!! Backpackers need soap! Very friendly staff.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank emkay33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.3 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#21 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#29 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#27 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Airlie Court Holiday Units
Airlie Court Holiday Units
#25 of 54 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.3 mi away
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
Base Backpackers Airlie Beach
#41 of 54 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 520 reviews
0.2 mi away
Whitsunday on the Beach
Whitsunday on the Beach
#7 of 10 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airlie Beach YHA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Beach YHA

Property: Airlie Beach YHA
Address: 394 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Region: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 54 Speciality Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Airlie Beach YHA 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Airlie Beach YHA backpackers hostel is located in the centre of Airlie Beach close to the swimming lagoon, restaurants, cafes and nightlife that Airlie has to offer. The hostel offers multi-share, double and twin rooms with private balconies. All hostel rooms are air-conditioned and the twin and double rooms have shared bathroom facilities with only one other room. Backpackers facilities include swimming pool, tour desk, free Wi-Fi Hot Spot (Wi-Fi Plus also available), kitchen, laundry, dining and TV room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Airlie Beach YHA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Yha Hotel Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach YHA Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing