We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“best restaurant in Airlie” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Tabella Trattoria

La Tabella Trattoria
Ranked #9 of 102 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$61
Cuisines: Italian, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, View, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Open 7 days All day dining Full Table Service Outdoor seating Views Private air conditioned function room Cocktail Bar Homemade pastas Fresh locally caught seafood Morning and afternoon Tea
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“best restaurant in Airlie”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We ate here a few times on our trip to Airlie beach. We thought it was the best restaurant in Airlie by far. The food was beautiful and the staff & service was fantastic.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jenni-graps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,036 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    562
    265
    107
    49
    53
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Poor service an ok meal. ”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

What a beautiful spot for a restaurant. Nice view.
But service not so good. Lunch time, "table for three"; sat at a table and were finally given a menu by 'Gene', must have been a bad day for her as she was very abrupt and service with NO smile.
Rebecca took our order WITH a smile, thank you Rebecca.
Eventually our lunch came, no big deal....... Gene brought it out handed them to us so that we could place them on the table!!!!
Don't believe I would go there again.

Helpful?
1 Thank Chenille12961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very expensive with slow service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

The food tasted great but it was extremely expensive. 2 bowls of pasta and 2 kids meals was over $100. In part because a non-alcoholic glass of tea was $7! No salad, no bread, simply bowls of pasta.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank NJbeachgirl07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Not a good first impression of dining in Airlie Beach..”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

This is the first restaurant my family and I dined at upon arriving at Airlie Beach. The outside seating area is beautiful and great, seats are spacious. The problems begin with our waitress: she was rather rude, unattentive, and sarcastic. After taking longer than usual to explain the dishes to my family due to their limited english comprehension, she repeated our orders to us and then rolls her eyes.
The food is decent and tasty, prices are too high for the small portion sizes (although this is expected and understandable in a tourist area). Our orders arrived with an extra pasta dish we did not order (I'm positive because we had a long conversation deciding what dishes to get). I inform the waitress, and she denied she made any mistake and we simply have to take the dish and pay for it.
Throughout service, she was extremely rude and her attitude pretty much ruins the whole experience.
Unacceptable especially for such prices and location. I would highly recommend touists not to dine here.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ExplorerDora2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
107 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Best of Airlie Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

We ate here during our stop at Airlie Beach and had a wondefull meal. We couldn't stand the smell of fried calamari anymore and here we got exactly what we dreamt of. Tastefull, pure food, just like we love it.
We had the tasmanian lobster, baramundi and scaloppini. Price may be slightly higher compared to other restaurants around but absolutely worth it.
We will go back for a second dinner.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jordaanwy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Tabella Trattoria also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to La Tabella Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing