We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lovely India

Lovely India
Ranked #36 of 102 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Coolum Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We really enjoyed our meal and service at Lovely India. It was the second time we've eaten here and both times the food has been yummy. We love how clean the restaurant is and if you need to visit the loo's they are really clean and well presented. Thanks Lovely India.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    62
    26
    12
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Average food on this visit. ”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

We had the goat curry and lamb sagwalla. Both were expectable as jar shop bought curries but lacked flavour and spice. Good service but I do not wish to see waitresses bum cheeks from low shorts. Maybe a uniform would suit. Recommend but don't expect too much. Chef pick your game up.

Helpful?
Thank Johnyno5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Airlie Beach, Australia
2 reviews
“Expensive”
Reviewed 8 December 2013

On a quiet Sunday night my wife and I decided we would try Indian from this new restaurant in town. We ordered a Starter ($18.50). The onion rings were inedible. They were just rounds of batter with no onion flavour. A serve of 6 chicken wings were just the big end of the wing which were small and terribly expensive. ($12.50 for 6 small portions of a product that costs $3.80 a kilo to buy) For mains we ordered the Chicken Tikka. This was all sauce with 7 small pieces of chicken. The Lamb Korma was the same . 6 small pieces of lamb in a lot of sauce. All in all there was just enough to fill us both after we ate the Naan and Roti. 1 piece of each. This all came to $93.50 delivered which was $40.00 dearer that another Indian Restaurant in town. As locals we will not be recommending it due to the small servings and the high price of the food.
In saying that,, the flavour was good and a great pity there was so little to enjoy.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rossco33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level Contributor
90 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A nice change from fish n chips in Australia”
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

We we waiting to hop on a ship for a 3 day(not hour) cruise, and we decided to stop here. What a great choice! My daughters mango chicken had her rolling her eyes in delight, and my lamb sagwalla was probably the best I've had in a long life of eating lamb sag. We split naan and basmati rice, and it was marvelous. We sat out on the balcony, lovely breeze, and if I were spending more time here, is definitely be coming back.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gardengoddess54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service”
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

The food and wine were great,its just a shame the staff let it down. They were over staffed, with 5 standing around the bar, appearing to do everything but serve/greet the 4 tables they had. When I asked the waitress what the dips on the starter was she replied "i don't know I haven't tried them before".
Having said that, the food was delicious and the ambience was nice & relaxed

Helpful?
Thank fiona_w3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lovely India also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Lovely India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing